“It takes a long time to grow an old friend.”

My friends have left, and my house is ever so quiet. As always we had the best time together. On Tuesday we had a ride along the ocean, and I took them to my favorite spots. The sun was glinting off the water. It was so warm people sat on beach chairs in the sand sunning themselves. It was a summer day in fall.

We ate appetizers on the deck. The birds had found the filled feeders, and they flew back and forth from feeders to branches. Most of them were chickadees.

Peg had brought dinner, shrimp pesto. She had also brought vegetables, a cheese log dip, crackers, some fruit and dessert. The brownies had chocolate chips, and there was a thick fudge sauce to put on them adding to the chocolate overload though I would contend there is really no such thing as a chocolate overload. I am just using the term to give a vivid picture of how wonderful dessert was. Gracie was restless that night. At 1:30 she wanted food so I fed her and I had a brownie. Afterwards, we were both quite content.

Bill is a talented furniture maker and handyman. He did some repairs in the house, a few of which have been driving me crazy. Some of the fixes include the toilet upstairs which now flushes, the toilet holder downstairs again secure on the wall, my old curio cabinet repaired and my front storm shutting automatically.

Bill and Peg brought gifts. One was a wooden Red Sox peg board. Another was a framed silhouette of a boxer. There was homemade grape jelly and African coffee. The dip was in a pottery bowl and the bowl was also a gift. I can’t think there are better guests than Bill and Peg.

Last night we had dinner at Karoo’s, a South African restaurant. It is one of my favorite places. Bill and Peg had been there before and requested it for this trip. I had monkey ribs and beef samosas for appetizers. The drink I ordered, the speciality of the night, was amazingly refreshing with vodka, grapefruit juice and a simple syrup. My dinner was bobotie beef, a curried meatloaf served with turmeric rice and chutney. Bill and Peg both had West African peanut soup with pumpkin added though in Ghana it would have been groundnut soup. Peg had a falafel sandwich. All of us had come to love Lebanese food in Ghana, and we ate many felafel sandwiches, all wrapped in foil.

This morning was leisurely. Sadly, at close to eleven, Peg and Bill started loading up to go home. Gracie and I went outside to say goodbye. My house feels empty without them.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on ““It takes a long time to grow an old friend.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    I’m still sulking in Detroit, the US national team is not going to the World Cup following the debacle on Tuesday night in Trinidad and Tobago.
    FIFA announced that there have been 300,000 requests for the World Cup Final in Moscow next year, I am one of them. I don’t expect to come out of the lottery but you never know it has happened before. I only applied for the Final, so I will not travel unless I am allocated that match.
    So now I wait to see if Sweden will join Birgit’s Germany and my England in Russia. Likely Team Christer will be in the second group and have to face Italy or Switzerland or Denmark or Croatia. The draw is next Tuesday.
    Gulati and noArena should resign, Fox spent a fortune to televise the tournament in the USA never dreaming that the US would not qualify. I’m as mad as a hornet, but hey Tottenham play Bournemouth on Saturday morning and I will be watching. Lions on Sunday and go Navy

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      May I offer the suggestion that you now transfer your allegiance to the women’s team. They still have a chance to make the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France.

      It seems the women are often overlooked though they are the team who went undefeated in 2015 and finished their season by beating Japan 5-2 in the Women’s World Cup. And the men? they who are best left out of the discussion of winning teams!

  2. Hedley Says:

    Here you go Kat, this rather wonderful Bob has snuck out from the forthcoming Bootleg Series 13

    • katry Says:

      My Dear hedley,
      You are so right to say wonderful Bob. This is the Bob I remember the best, the one I liked the most. Now I’m thinking I may have to start saving my pennies to buy this.

  3. Birgit Says:

    Congratulations, the most delicious blog post ever!
    Sounds like you’ve had a great time.
    I’m hungry now. Oh, I had to look up monkey ribs.
    “does not involve monkeys in any way” 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Birgit

      I was thinking that this was the most food I’d ever written about on KTCC. Those ribs were so tender and delicious, monkeys or no monkeys!

  4. Bob Says:

    Did I read correctly, “monkey ribs”? What kind of monkey did the ribs come from? Were they ‘Prime’ monkey ribs? What do they taste like? I love Falafel and consider it Israelie food even though it’s served all over the Middle East. I had it once in Toronto and didn’t like them because they were made with fava beans instead of chick peas.

    Today the temperature topped out in the upper 80s. On Saturday the big Red River rivalry, University of Texas vs. University of Oklahoma, will be played in the Cotton Bowl and it should be clear but temperature in the mid nineties. Friday night is the traditional rally between the fans on the streets of downtown. The sound of people yelling “Hookum Horns” and “Boomer Sooner” will fill the air.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The menu says, “No monkeys were involved in the production.” I’m not sure I’d order real monkey. Few of them look as if they have much meat. Because I first had falafel in Lebanese restaurants, I always think of it as Lebanese.

      It just doesn’t seem right for football to be played in temperatures in the mid-nineties.It always seems a cold weather sport.

      We had a nice day today, but it will be cold tonight, the 40’s. In the western part of the state, they may get frost. Sunday will be uncharacteristically hot again.

      • Bob Says:

        Glad to hear that no monkeys were involved. What does monkey ribs taste like? I find that both frog legs and alligator taste like chicken. Or, maybe it’s the other way around. 🙂

        You mentioned that your dad was a NY Giant football fan. They’re former quarterback, Y.A. Tittle, who took them to three NFL Championship games in the 1960’s died yesterday at 90.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Even I remember Y.A. Tittle from when my dad watched the Giants. I haven’t given a thought about him in a long while.

        The ribs are pork ribs covered in a wonderful barbecue sauce made from spices and fruit. They were delicious and had plenty of meat on them.

  5. Bill S. Says:

    How can I forward this to Kev and Lisa?


Leave a Reply

