The Guests: Leonard Cohen

It has been a long while since my last Lennie. This one is for you, my dear Hedley!

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

4 Comments on “The Guests: Leonard Cohen”

  1. Hedley Says:

    I bought “The Songs of Leonard Cohen” in a small record store somewhere in Basel. I knew that it wouldn’t rock but possessing it would surely indicate my sensitivity. On reflection it didn’t help that I found it virtually unplayable and I cared so little for Suzanne or The Sisters of Mercy or the droning that went on for just over 40 minutes.

    Of course Lennie became my target on KTCC and my appalling rudeness to all things LC continued for many years until “You want it darker” which I actually played and realized that it was his “Black Star”

    I don’t think that I will ever separate Lennie and KTCC, and that is quite ok. The video is dreadful, the rambling come hither nonsense unbearable but it is after all………LENNIE !!!!!

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      You just destroyed two of my favorite songs: Suzanne and Sisters of Mercy. Here I was being nice enough to play a Lennie for you after a long gap between Lennie songs on KTCC.

      I will remain a Lennie fan and turn the other cheek at these baseless negatives. KTCC is happy to have an association with Mr. Cohen!

  2. Hedley Says:

    While Cohen was going on and on in 67 about that was no way to say goodbye, our music was still driven by the pirates, especially London and Caroline. Glued to our transistors we was and thrilling to …Little Stevie Marriott and the Small Faces. I am sure I didn’t get it but straight out of the east end, I loved it

    • katry Says:

      MDH,
      I had never heard of this group until you posted a while back another video or a comment. I don’t remember which. I admit I like them.


Comments are closed.


