“Life is more fun if you play games.”

The rain fell most of the day yesterday. Sometimes it was heavy and other times just misty. When I first woke up this morning, it was cloudy. When I woke up a second time, it was still cloudy but the sun poked through a couple of times giving me some hope for a nice day. It will be warm, low 80’s, but less humid.

Gracie and I did a couple of errands yesterday. We took 6A, but it too was filled with traffic, tourists looking to while away the rainy day.I learned in Ghana to see the bugs as protein I stopped at the candy store to get some peanut butter cups and chocolate peppermints for movie night. That shop was filled with more people than I’ve ever seen in there. I guess there is no better cure for a rainy day than chocolate. Actually, chocolates are a panacea for whatever ails us.

The other evening I was having a bowl of cereal, Rice Krispies, when I noticed a small bug swimming on top of the cereal. I flicked it out of the bowl and kept eating. I learned in Ghana to see bugs in my food, especially flour, as added protein. It is one of the strange things I learned.

I like Life Savers, but my favorites are made by Reed’s, root beer closely followed by cinnamon. Wintergreen is my favorite flavor of Life Savers. In a package I got in Ghana from my mother were a few rolls of Life Saver’s tropical fruits. I guess she figured they were a fun choice.Β The colors were the same as the fruit colors, even that green of honeydew melons and the light orange of cantaloup. The coconut was my favorite. We sat one night guessing all the fruits. It was our evening’s entertainment. It didn’t take much to amuse us.

My friends and I play games once a week. In the winter it is on Sunday night then we watch The Amazing Race which was DVR’d on Friday. We didn’t like it on Friday so we continued with Sunday. Creatures of habit I guess. Now it is Saturday night, movie night. We have some appetizers then play Phase 10 before the movie. If we have time, mostly in the winter, we also play Sorry. We never seem to tire of either game. We even keep a list of winners from each week. There is usually a bit of gloating. I was the gloater last week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on ““Life is more fun if you play games.””

  1. flyboybob Says:

    My dentists probably enjoyed my love of all things sweet more than I did. πŸ™‚ Life Savers fruit flavors were ok when I was a kid, but in high school I became addicted to Regal Crown hard candies especially the sour cherry flavor.

    Bugs may be a good source of protein in third world countries, but here in the US if a bug gets in my food, my food goes into the trash.

    “Waiter, what’s that fly doing in my soup?” The waiter replies, “Looks like the back stroke”. “Waiter, there’s a fly in my soup!” The waiter replies, “So how much soup can a fly eat?” πŸ™‚

    It poured last night with from a line of thunderstorms. This is probably going to go down as one of the wettest summers on record.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I had cavities when I was a kid but not in a long while. I think it has more to do with proper brushing.

      The Life Savers were tropical fruits, not the roll of regular fruit. I don’t even thing they are sold anymore.

      They are no longer, and haven’t been for a long time, called third world countries. They are emerging countries. The protein was a joke among Peace Corps volunteers, not from Ghanaians. The only bug they ate was locust which has been eaten for centuries. We couldn’t throw food away, especially flour as we had to travel 200 miles round trip to buy any. We’d just sift as many bugs out of it as we could. That’s how the protein joke came about.

      I miss thunder!

      • Bob Says:

        Ah, you are being politically correct. To me many countries have been emerging since the end of colonialism after WWII. I know that we are a first world country and places like Ghana were considered third world countries, but which ones were second world countries? Why not any fourth world ones? πŸ™‚

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        There is little third world about Ghana except maybe the small villages in the very north. When I was there, it was definitely emerging. Now it is quite modern in the large cities. On most blocks you can find an Internet cafe. Education is mandatory. There are several universities. The capital has restaurants serving food from all over the world. There are malls. Calling it third world has nothing to do with politically correct. It describes countries which are still emerging. Ghana is no longer one of them.

      • flyboybob Says:

        Correct me if I’m mistaken, then Ghana is now a second world country? I wonder if we are still a first world country after electing Trump? πŸ™‚

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I think there are just third world countries. I have never heard of first or second world countries. We just assume we are a first world country though Trump is trying his hardest to lower that rating.

  2. olof1 Says:

    Lovely morning here, dismal day and then rather nice evening. Tomorrow I’ll go back to work again, four weeks pass just too fast!

    They sold those Life savers here too back in the days, can’t for my life remember the name they had here though. I remember that I liked them but I guess since we are rather conservative when it comes to candy and that we had similar candy here already they just didn’t sell that well.
    Hard candy is hard to find now days, mostly it’s either chocolate (which always is right), chocolate covered toffee or things like wine gums and all kinds of licorice of course. I do miss those old hard candies.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The day is sunny then cloudy as if Mother Nature can’t make up her mind.

      I thought the tropical tastes were wonderful, and I was having tropical fruit every day. I’ll have to hunt down to see if they are still sold anywhere.

      I still buy hard candies at Christmas time. They come in a metal tin. They were the only Christmas candy we had as kids so I buy it for nostalgia, ribbon candy too.

      Have a great evening!

  3. Hedley Says:

    The good guys went up to Newcastle and opened the season with a solid 2-0 win. So here we go with another season. I watched the match standing about 2 feet away from the screen. August 24 brings the Champions League draw and more consideration to travel.

    I settled quite happily after the match for a few rounds of Words with Friends and The Sensational Alex Harvey Band. My daughter and her husband are on the way over, and I have their “new season” Tottenham Hotspur gifts ready for them. We are a Spurs family, there is no other choice. The new sponsor is Nike and the quality is very good

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      It is the best of all ways to open a season, by a win. It forebodes well for our boys!

      I understand a family team. We are a Red Sox family. I send Kids’ Nation membership with all the gifts which go with it to my older grandnephews in Colorado. They were each wearing their Sox caps in recent pictures.

      My brother-in-law pays for the sports channel which carries the sox.

      Enjoy the family!

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Sometimes it is good to gloat. πŸ™‚

    Like Bob, up thread, I was addicted to Regal Crown candies in high school. They were sour. Very sour. I remember giving one to a friend and he spat it out almost immediately saying something about being poisoned. I had to give them up, though, because I was getting sores in my mouth from them. I don’t miss them.

    Bugs in my food are generally not a cause for alarm for me. Except for wasps on the tonic cans, of course. I used to make miso soup now and then. One time I used some dried mushrooms I had gotten from a friend. As I was eating the soup, I noticed a small spider floating in it. I put the poor dried thing on the side of my plate and continued to eat. But I kept eyeing it, thinking it didn’t look like any spider I was familiar with. It had been dried like the mushrooms which had come from Japan. After another spoonful, I decided better safe than sorry and tossed the soup and the dried spider in the garbage.

    Today was sunny and warm and a bit sticky. We did nothing. Yesterday was a long excursion with friends to Pickity Place in NH. It’s a restaurant and herb farm. The cottage was the inspiration for the illustrations of Grandmother’s House in the Little Red Riding Hood books. Food was great. Drive was lovely and mostly scenic. Traffic back was fine until 495 and then it was mostly awful. I’d do it again.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn.
      Tonight I could gloat again. I won all three games we played: one phase 10 and two Sorry. I told my friends I wanted to see the L’s on their foreheads.

      I don’t remember ever seeing those candies, but I’m not so sure I;d like anything so sour.

      Ghana is a country of insects. The heat is to blame. I saw my first centipede there and was amazed. When I first got there, I wouldn’t eat anything in which an insect resided. After a while, I didn’t care; however, a dried spider from Japan would have had me thinking twice.

      I love Pickity Place. My sister, my mother and I went once or twice a year, and we always had lunch. My friends in New Hampshire live close to it so Peg and I stopped there the last time I visited. I was reminded me of mother. I love that Red Riding room. I used to buy ornaments, herbs and stocking stuffers.It is a lovely place.

      Have a great evening!

      • Caryn Says:

        I did not escape the gift shop unscathed. I bought some herbs and a bag of dog biscuits. Got to bring something back for the kids, right? πŸ™‚

      • katry Says:

        When I come home with bags, Gracie sits in the kitchen expecting a treat. I usually have one!


Leave a Reply

