“Sunday is the golden clasp that binds together the volume of the week.”

Today is an absolute delight. The humidity is gone, the sun is squint your eyes bright and there is a cool breeze. I even had to shut the window behind me as I found the breeze cold on my back. I opened the other window in here and both doors to let all that wonderful fresh air into the house. It is a deck day, a wonderful deck day.

Tonight is movie night. I think I’ll have a sweatshirt at the ready as it will be in the low 60’s. Even though it is early August, the weather hints at fall.

My neighbor barbecues chicken wings every Sunday. He doesn’t use any sauce. He never has any sides. His wife sits on the deck and keeps him company. If he sees me, he shouts for me to join him and his wife. I did one Sunday, the Sunday he barbecued Brazilian kielbasa especially for me. His wife made caipirinhas, a Brazilian drink I love. They call me Miss Kath.

I was taught Hausa during my Peace Corps training. It is a language indigenous to Niger but is also a Sub-Saharan trade language. There are even Hausa traders. I used to shop at their stalls on High Street. When I used Hausa, I got better deals. The man who oversaw the Peace Corps hostel spoke Hausa. He loved that I spoke his language. On the first floor of the hostel there were two sleeping rooms for women: one had a bathroom while the other was much smaller and didn’t. I was there once when very few volunteers were. He gave me a key to the big room and put everyone else in the small room. He hated what he called Yama Yama women who left powder all over the bathroom floor. Yama Yama women are street walkers so that was quite an insult. The other day Grace Awae, the former student I have spent so much time with, send hello from Facebook. I wrote back in Hausa: Ina kwana? Yaya kake? Good morning and how are you. She wrote Ina lafiya, I am fine.

I have a few deck clean-ups before tonight, mostly bird poop. I also have to clean the table. I’m making muhammara, a dish I learned to make in Marrakech. The original dish I had planned, shredded chicken phyllo rolls, has to be postponed as I don’t have the right ingredients. I thought I did. I have cheese and crackers and meatballs from last week which are now defrosting. We’ll have plenty.

If I were ten again, I’d be at the beach with my family. I’d be eating grainy sandwiches, probably bologna, and eating watermelon and some Oreos. I’d walk the beach to find shells and I’d swim in the warm tidal pools. I loved the summer Sundays of my childhood.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

11 Comments on ““Sunday is the golden clasp that binds together the volume of the week.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Windy, cool and cloudy here today, quite nice actually even if it had been nice with some sunshine. WE met a calf on the gravel road when we were out walking earlier today, it had escaped from the huge pasture and looked just as surprised as I did. It schouldn’t really since it broke in to a padock yesterday and met lots of people who chased it out again 🙂

    I think that if one knows one will live in another country for a year or more one should learn the language. My brother lived in Paris for several years and refused until they stopped helping him by trying to speak English 🙂 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Nothing like encountering a wandering calf. Gracie would either have been a bit spooked or would have chased it.I hope its owner found it.

      In Ghana, English is the national language for a couple of reasons. First, it was a former British colony and second, there are so many tribal languages that they couldn’t chose one to be the national language.

      It got a bit humid tonight and then it felt damp. I did wear a sweatshirt on movie night.

      Enjoy the day!!

      • olof1 Says:

        Swedish is our national language but we have also five minority languages. So anyone speaking these languages have the right to get all documentation from authorities in their language. The five monority languages are Jiddish, Finnish, Meänkieli (a language spoken around the border to Finland and it’s a sort of mix from both languages but still not really close to any), Sami (the language spoken by our native people the Sami and Romani chib, the language spoken by Romanies (or gypsies as we used to call them. Here’s a link to Wikipedia : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Official_minority_languages_of_Sweden

      • katry Says:

        Christer,
        I never thought about Sweden having multiple official languages. I just gifted the language is Swedish.

        When I was in Finland, a really difficult language to me, the second language was Swedish. Road signs were in both languages. That didn’t help me at all. I did have a Finnish-Enbglish dictionary so that did give me a place to point at the word I was trying to convey.

        English is it here.

  2. flyboybob Says:

    Hot and humid until the cold front arrives tonight. We should have a couple of days of rain and cool temperatures for the beginning of the week. Cool meaning in the 80s. This is very unusual for August but the large upper high pressure has moved to the west giving California a taste of Texas heat. We are under the influence of the jet stream moving from the Northwest allowing cold fronts along with disturbances to give us an early view of fall weather.

    I am not a fan of the beach. My spouse loves the ocean but I can take it or leave it.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      You and I have a different definition of a cold front. It is supposed to rain tomorrow. My sister in Colorado is having unusually cool weather for them. Usually everything is all brown from the heat but not this year.

      Parts of the West Coast are burning up from temperatures over 100˚. It is the same in parts of Europe. Italy and Greece have had over 100˚. Few go their houses have AC.

      I don’t like salt water, but I do like the beach, walking on the sand, finding sea glass and driftwood.

  3. Birgit Says:

    Happy movie night!
    I’ve enjoyed another free Sunday concert today, Moravian folk songs, and the moon was beautiful on our way back home by bike. I hope you have a wonderful moon too when you watch the Werewolf movie 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Birgit

      It was a fun night. We watched The Atomic Brain instead of the werewolf, and it wasn’t half bad. It was the choice of my friends, and I was just fine with that. We had meatballs in marinara which I had frozen from last week and a salad. It was delicious.

      The night got damp and a bit chilly so we had to wear our sweatshirts. We’re now resting from the festivities.

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Gorgeous day up here as well. All the windows were open. We sat outside in the warm sun and cool breezes. It was great. Then we went inside and napped by the open windows. Great. 🙂

    Enjoy your movie night. I had to google muhammara. Sounds yummy.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I didn’t have time for a nap, and I would have loved one. We’re all inside and Gracie is napping. I figure it will be an early night for me.

      Muhammara is delicious. It is an asked for dish by my friends.

      Have a great day!!


Comments are closed.


