“Don’t Trust Blindly If in shark infested waters, don’t assume the fin coming toward you is a dolphin.”

The morning is lovely. It is sunny and warm with a cloudless blue sky. I was surprised when I took Gracie out at how warm it is. My house is still nighttime chilly especially here in the den which the sun won’t reach until the late afternoon.

The new renters next door were laughing and talking until at least 2:30. I kept my window closed which muffled most of the noise. When I woke up, at 7:30, I was tempted to wake them, but I couldn’t figure out how without annoying my neighbors. Even now they still haven’t stirred.

My yesterday’s list is now my today’s list as movie night was postponed until tonight. My laundry is growing moss, maybe even legs of its own. I have to go down the cellar anyway so it’ll get it done.

I bought a Venus flytrap. It’s a small one so we’re all safe. Okay, that last sentence is from my B science fiction movie fascination. I’m imagining the plant growing and growing to man eating height, sort of a Little Shop of Horrors Audrey without the pictures. I don’t know why I bought it, but it amused me. Maybe that’s enough.

It is shark week on the syfy channel. The new movie tonight is 5-Headed Shark Attack surpassing by two heads the old 3-Headed Shark attack of last year. The new shark is shaped like a starfish and invades the beaches of Puerto Rico. I can’t even, with my wild imagination, visualize a shark looking like a star fish. I wonder if it has any attributes of star fish like regenerating its arms. If so, stay out of the ocean.

I find myself getting more sentimental as I get older. Puppy videos kill me. My eyes get a bit teary. Happy or sad movie scenes do the same thing to me. Even The Star Spangled Banner touches me. By the time I’m eighty, I’ll be a blubbering old lady tearing up at commercials. All the drug side-effects will have me weeping uncontrollably.

I watched the Red Sox last night. They won in 11 innings in exciting circumstances. Sandy Leon, one of their catchers, slid into home and managed, somehow, to escape the tag. The problem, though, is staying awake until the ends of these games which last so long they seem interminable. Sox games are averaging 3 hours, 11 minutes, and 34 seconds, the longest of any team in baseball, not an enviable record.

During last night Sox’s game, Jonny Gomes, who was on the 2013 World Series champ team, was the NESN color commentator. He said the Sox batters were nipping at the bit. I love a good mixed metaphor.

It is time to face the dreaded laundry.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Don’t Trust Blindly If in shark infested waters, don’t assume the fin coming toward you is a dolphin.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    Survive shark and laundry attacks and have fun tonight!

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Birgit

      I just survived The Atomic Shark and now I’m hoping to survive The zombie Shark. In between I do chores. The laundry is in the washer.

  2. olof1 Says:

    We had quite anice morning here too and later on the rains arrived. One heavy shower and after that nice summer rain. More will come tonight and they warn for thgunder too, I don’t mind because I usually sleep as best when it comes 🙂

    I have some problems seeing a five headed shark as dangerous 🙂 It can’t be very fast to be honest and I guess each head would compete with the other ones to get to the food and any victime would have an easy time to flee 🙂

    I’m not sure I’m getting softer but dog rescuing videos can hit me hard 🙂 Too many to see on the net so I do try to avoid them 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The day has stayed lovely so I’m glad I postponed movie night. Last night would have been horrible.

      We didn’t get the rain they predicted yesterday.

      The Syfy shark movies don’t seem to pit one shark head with the others. They seem to work as a team. I figure they have only one stomach so if one eats they all get full.

      I like Hope for Paws rescues as they all seem to end happily. The team rescues strays. The dogs are first taken to the vets, bathed and examined. They spend time in a foster home then get their forever homes. I can’t watch the videos about animals abused. I think abusers should suffer the same fate.

      Have a good Sunday evening!

  3. flyboybob Says:

    Steven Spielberg tried to manufacture a mechanical shark for the movie Jaws but couldn’t make it work. Instead he only used the head and used other cinematic effects to hint at the size of the beast. It made for a better movie.

    The baseball owners are also concerned at how long it’s taking for the average game to be played. After all, there’s only so many commercials to sell. And, the public’s attention span is not as long as it used be. This year they did away with the intentional walk and they are planning big changes to the game for 2018. It’s also the year of the most home runs which makes the owners happy. I’m still not a fan of the designated hitter in the AL but it may come to the NL along with such ideas as a designated replacement player or a pitch clock. Baseball is no longer the national pastime so the way to make it better is to copy football. That’s American football and not soccer which is one step above golf in watching grass grow.

    Today is a relief from the oppressive heat of the last couple of days. It’s only 90 degrees right now and more importantly the cold front reduced the humidity.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      He had a few sharks he used in the movie based on the scene. The picture today is a scene which was deleted from Jaws. It shows the missing boy, Alex,in the shark’s mouth. They decided it was too much for people.

      I know baseball pretty well and keep up with all the rule changes. I like the signal a walk rule. The stands stay pretty filled for a regular game but people don’t stay for the marathon games. What were filled seats are now people less.

      I think soccer games can be dramatic and interesting. We are behind the rest of the world in the love for soccer, but it is still growing here. The Olympics and the medals for the women’s soccer team help.

      Cold front at 90˚?

      • flyboybob Says:

        The signal a walk rule should only be allowed when there are no men on base. If there’s a man on base, then a wild pitch or a passed ball could affect the outcome of the game. Yet another strategy that is being taken away from the manager.

        The rest of the world loves soccer because it’s an excuse to get crazy and drunk during the 88 minutes of boredom in the 90 minutes of mostly running up and down the field. And when the game ends in a tie, which is frequently naught to naught, they go to an exciting shoot out. Hockey has the same issues except people go to hockey games to see the fights. At least in baseball there is always the battle between the pitcher and the batter.

        When the temperature is in the triple digits you will take what ever cooling front comes your way.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        It backfired a few games ago when Pedroia was intentionally walked to load the bases. The next batter hit a double. The Sox won.

        I don’t agree that it an excuse to get crazy. It does happen but not everywhere, not here. I went to a hockey college and saw most homes games, but I never liked hockey.

        Baseball was the first game I totally understood including a Texas leaguer, infield fly rule and all sorts of other rules.

  4. Hedley Says:

    Dunkirk – don’t miss it, and try to see it in IMAX. Lives up to all the hype and then some. My daughter and I are now hung up on whether or not Uncle Arthur captained one of the Little Ships.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I don’t think there is a close imax theater, maybe Hyannis, but I’ll have to check.

      I’d give Uncle Arthur the benefit of the doubt.


Comments are closed.


