“The sky has a huge heart open for all clouds even on the gloomiest of days.”

The air is so thick with moisture everything is still, nothing can move. Rain is expected. I’m thinking about changing movie night to tomorrow because, even if it doesn’t rain, the dampness will make the night chilly. Gracie and I have already been out twice. As I sat on the steps waiting for her, I watched the birds fly in and out of the feeders. When Gracie was done, we sat outside for a bit.

The sky is gray, different degrees of gray. I have a light on but only in this room. I’m keeping the darkness at bay.

We are a house of old creatures. Maddie, the cat, will be 17 and Gracie 12. I will be 70. I accommodate all their needs and give them the best food and tons of love hoping to keep them happy and healthy. Gracie actually eats more vegetables than I do. Her can this morning had green beans and corn. Both of them are nap takers, several naps a day, yet they still sleep all night. Life is good for all of us.

I have a list of chores to do around the house today. The laundry is first on that list. It still sits by the cellar door and is growing day by day. The rest of the chores are far less daunting.

The movie night is officially switched to tomorrow night because of the weather, and all my guests can be there. The menu is set. We’re having meatball, sausage or bratwurst sub sandwiches in marinara sauce. I’m also making a salad with all sort of goodies like dried cranberries, candied walnuts and cherry tomatoes. The sub rolls are from the pasta shop, the sausage from the butcher’s. I bought shrimp and cocktail sauce from the seafood store for one of our appetizers. I was all over the place shopping.

I’m surprised at how quiet it is today. Where are the mowers? Where are the kids? Why aren’t the dogs barking? Where is anybody?

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

20 Comments on ““The sky has a huge heart open for all clouds even on the gloomiest of days.””

  1. Bob Says:

    Summers have been getting progressively hotter over the last several decades despite the claims of Republican law makers that global warming is a hoax. Warmer air can hold more moisture in the form of water vapor making the heat even more intolerable by raising the relative humidity. Yesterday we hit a record temperature of 102 for the year. Today should be cooler due to the passage of a cold front dropping the temperature to a forecasted 97.

    You are lucky that your pets have lived into very old age. Hopefully, you will out live them and have an opportunity to love some younger pets. 🙂

    My wife hates putting fruits or nuts in a salad of any kind. The cafeteria at work serves a mean chicken salad with fruit and nuts.I can eat almost anything as long as it’s not of a dozen or so food types I dislike beginning with Indian, Southeast Asian, among other specific foods like cilantro. To me cilantro tastes like soap. I think it’s hereditary because both my sister and my cousin also think cilantro tastes like either Ivory or Dove soap. 🙂

    Yesterday I took my car to the dealer for a safety recall and they washed it. On my way home there was a water leak flooding the street with muddy water. I slowed down to avoid splashing the water while some nut case speed past me splashing muddy water all over the left side of the car. Some people are either stupid or just inconsiderate behind the wheel. I’m going to the car wash to clean off the car. 😦

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We’re getting down to the high 60’s tonight. We have had a few hot days but mostly it has been in the 70’s. Boston, though, has had a hotter summer. The coolness of this summer is also climate change. I can’t remember \when anywhere in the state last reached 100K.

      I have been quite lucky with how old my cats have gotten, but my boxers only made it to 8, the low end of their life expectancy. Gracie is my oldest dog. Every vet always mentions her age.

      I love salads with all sorts of goodies. I also love foreign food including Indian. I haven’t had any Southeast Asia. There aren’t any restaurants serving it around here. It is true about cilantro. Some people just hate the taste.

      My driving peeve is when drivers chose not to use their blinkers. There I am waiting for a car to pass and it turns down the street where I’m waiting. Then there are the drivers who turn on their blinkers seconds before they turn. The blockers are supposed to warn of a turn.

  2. Hedley Says:

    Seeing Dunkirk this afternoon, and once again family stories are inconsistent. We were lead to believe that our Uncle Arthur, captained one of the little ships. When I asked the legend that is Uncle Paulie this morning he said that Arthur talked about going but didn’t. He served in Air Sea Rescue.

    So once again 70 years have gone and we don’t know the truth. Oh well, I shall wear all my British stuff to the movie and lay claim to this memorable event.

    Zoomed into Target this morning and picked up the new Arcade Fire album. First play now having walked 10,000 steps, trimmed trees, taken Maggie to the vet. I am hungry

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Dunkirk is also on my list to see. The saving of the British army by so many small boats is miraculous. I think every family has lore which may or may not be true.

      You definitely should lay claim. England held off by itself for so very long against the Germans. It was a feat for the ages.

      You have been quite busy, I, on the other hand, have done almost nothing except to put my groceries away. Now I have can even delay most chores as they were related to the postponed movie.

      • Hedley Says:

        I zapped a marmite sandwich, it was nice

        I am on the second play of “Everything Now”. Arcade Fire are on my “fab-gear” list, so I like it…a lot

      • Bob Says:

        Here’s a good article from the NY Times about what might have happened if Hitler had conquered England.

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        I never liked marmite, but then I only tried it a couple of times.

        It’s a good thing when an album needs to be played over and over. I have a few of those.

      • Hedley Says:

        The BBC recently serialized Len Deighton’s SS-GB, worth catching or even better, read the book.

  3. katry Says:

    Bob,
    The article was interesting but didn’t give too many what might have happened.

    Read The Plot Against America by Philip Roth. It tells what would have happened had Roosevelt lost to Lindberg.

  4. olof1 Says:

    I have done half of the laundry and after that I visited a garden, it was actually a plant swapping day there but I had no plants to swap and it started to rain too so I drove to the supermarket and bought liver pate for Nova and some other things I might need, To be honest I can’t remember what it was 🙂 🙂 🙂

    It’s very windy here right now and the humidity is sky high. The flies we still have around behaves insane so I think we might get thunder later today, they have warned that we might.

    I do like that menue 🙂 Too bad I live on the other side of the ocean 🙂 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I have done nothing and applaud your industry! You can buy liver pate for me anytime.

      It still hasn’t rained here yet, but it is really chilly and damp. The wind has started up making it even worse. When I took Gracie outside, I was cold. I’m wearing a sweatshirt next time.

      If you were here, I’d invite you!!

      Enjoy your evening!

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I was slightly industrious today. I took one load out of the dryer and put a load into the washer. It’s still in the washer.

    Mine is a house of old human. Rocky is probably considered to be old at age 8 but he moves and acts like he’s 3. Piki Dog is in his prime at age 4 but acts more like 4 months. I am the rickety one with the bad knees, feet and lower back. I snap, crackle and pop when I move. When I stand up after sitting for awhile, I have to wait until my knees agree that I am, in fact, standing before I can walk away.

    It was cold and damp and a bit windy up here. Late in the day, the sun dropped below the cloud deck and shone brightly for awhile. Now it’s cloudy again.

    Hope the rain holds off and movie night is a success.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I didn’t do my laundry, but I did work on dinner for tomorrow night. I washed some serving dishes and cooked the sausage and bratwurst.

      My two spend a lot of time sleeping. I take Gracie out every few hours to pee though she doesn’t usually need to go for hours at night. Like you, I am rickety with my bad back and right leg. Twice this week my knee buckled but I was near something to grab.

      We never saw the sun at all today, but it didn’t rain though it was predicted. It is still cold.

      I postponed movie night until tomorrow as it is only about 66˚. I didn’t think we’d enjoy sitting there either totally bundled or cold. It was the right decision as we’d still be out there watching. Last week my friend Tony had his sweatshirt on and the hood on his head. He said he was cold, and it was in the mid-70’s. I can’t imagine what he would have been like tonight.

      Have a great evening!

  6. Birgit Says:

    It was warm and cloudy today but fortunately we didn’t have much rain so live open air summer music in the evening was a given, this time South and Central American music. Additionally an open stage café series started today at our nearby cultural center (an old school) to bring together local and newly immigrated people. It was quite nice with music, poems, stories and more and I will certainly attend it again next time if possible.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      The next town over has a cultural center. It used to be a bank and was where my parents had their mortgage. They also have music evenings, but I haven’t been there. I did go for a wonderful show of costumes from famous movies, and my class reunion was there.

      I am envious of how much and the types of music you get to hear live. There are venues here, but most are expensive. Its has been a while since I last went to one.

      • Birgit Says:

        Kat, just an advantage of a metropolitan area consisting of about 50 competing towns, on the downside I miss quiet undestroyed nature and especially the ocean…

      • katry Says:

        Birgit,
        I love living near the ocean, but if I were wealthy, I’d own a condo in Boston as I do like the city and what it offers.

        Given a choice between the two, though, I’d chose the cape.


Comments are closed.


