“I’m the nap champion.”

The deck is now perfect for summer. The rug is down. The umbrella lights up. The fountain gurgles. The grill is clean, its metal shiny. New white and multicolored lights along the rails brighten the night, but I wonder for how long. When will the spawns of Satan notice and chew off bulbs? I did buy a backup set.

My outdoor shower is all set. The rotten wood plank has been replaced and the inside is clean again. Nothing is better than an outside shower on a warm, star lit summer’s night.

The drip pan under the grill top held a surprise, a squirrel’s nest. It was filled with the fluff I had put out for the birds building nests and fir branches from I have no idea where. It’s gone now, but the fluff is available.

The morning glories are in bloom. They are in a huge blue pot at the end of the deck. Their tendrils are woven around the slats and the top of the rail. One plant is pink and the other blue. In the front garden the hollyhocks are filled with buds. Other flowers, their names unknown to me, have bloomed. Some look like baby Black-eyed Susans. They have spread all over the garden. When I get the papers, I always check the front garden.

I couldn’t get to sleep last night. I turned off the light around 12:30 then turned it back on at 1:30. I decided to watch Star Trek back in time episodes so I went hunting to find when, in each series, they were broadcast. The first, one of my all time favorites, is from Deep Space Nine. It is Trials and Tribble-ations when the DS9 bridge crew goes back to the original Star Trek and interact with Kirk and his crew and save the ship from a bomb hidden in a tribble. I next watched The City on The Edge of Forever from the original Star Trek. McCoy, temporarily insane fro hypospray, goes back in time and changes time. Kirk and Spock follow to restore history. Kirk has to let a woman he has come to love be killed. The last one was The Little Green Men from DS9. Quark, his brother Rom and nephew Nog on their way to Earth go through a temporal anomaly and end up in 1947 near Roswell, New Mexico. Odo, the shapeshifter, had hidden away on their ship. Quark wants to stay and sell technology, but Odo insists, and they escape through an atomic blast which propels them back to the future.

By the time, Quark, Rom and Nog get back to their to-ime, it was almost 4:30, my time, and was beginning to get light. I took Gracie outside so she wouldn’t have to wake me in a few hours so she could go out. I woke up at 9:30. I’m tired. It’s nap time.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

21 Comments on ““I’m the nap champion.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Nothing much flowers here now because of the draught but I did see that a perennial sunflower opened its first flowers today. We got some rain during the night so now at least no leafs are hanging down any more but that won’t last for long unless more rain falls tomorrow as they’ve predicted.

    I have never seen deep space 9 but I do remember that episode when McCoy goes insane 🙂

    I went up at round 4:30 this morning and I did take a nap later on but I’m still tired 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We have been lucky with the amount of rain we’ve had, and we’re due for more tomorrow morning. My garden though does get watered as I have an in-ground irrigation system.

      The DS9 tribbles episode is wonderful, and The Little Green Men made me laugh.

      I had about a half hour nap but it wasn’t enough.

      Have a great evening!

      • olof1 Says:

        It is strictly forbidden to water the gardens here right now. People here aren’t used to draughts so we tend to use way more than we need. Well I guess we’ll learn after this one.

      • katry Says:

        Cjhrister,
        We have had years when we had to ration garden water, but that was a long time ago. We had drought conditions a year ago but not extreme. One part off this stage, in the heat, is th only area with drought conditions.

  2. Bob Says:

    My father used to tell me that a good soldier can sleep anywhere anytime. He was a master at the short nap. I could be talking to him and he would drift off to a nap sitting up.

    My favorite Start Trek episodes are from the original series. The one entitled “The Trouble with Tribbles” and the one about the two planets who have been at war for so long that a computer determines who lost the battle and the victims go to a chamber to be vaporized.

    Another very hot day with more clouds.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I do love naps, but I have to be careful that I have them early or they cause problems with me falling asleep. My dfad used to fall asleep watching TV.

      The Deep Space 9 tribbles episode was perfectly worked into the original one which is your favorite. You’d think it was filmed that way.

      It was humid here today so I put on my air. It is nice and comfortable

      • Bob Says:

        Here there’s no such thing as turing on the AC because it’s humid. It runs continuously from May through late September.

        How can I find that particular episode of Deep Space 9?

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        We often get a strong southern breeze so often I don’t need the AC. Yesterday was just getting ugly so I figured I’d get ahead of the humidity.

        I don’t know if you have Netflix, but if you do, it has all the Star Trek programs. I looked up the episode then went to Netflix and scrolled down to year 5, episode 6.

      • Bob Says:

        Yes, we have Netflix. Thanks.

      • katry Says:

        You are welcome. Enjoy!

  3. Morpfy Says:

    ave a Happy and merry Day today. Great tunes by the way

  4. Hedley Says:

    Just didn’t relate to Star Trek, was good with Dr Who and a bunch of badly behaved Daleks, but there you go.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I first got into Dr. Who when it appeared on Boston’s WGBH, the PBS station. That was in the 60’s. I have followed it since.

      I wonder how the first woman doctor will be received.

  5. Morpfy Says:

    Red Velvet Cheesecake
    Serves 12
    Red Velvet Cake
    ½ cup granulated sugar
    ¾ cup all-purpose flour, plus 1 tablespoon to coat pan
    1½ teaspoons cocoa powder
    1 teaspoon baking powder
    Small pinch coarse salt
    1 large egg
    ¼ cup sunflower oil
    ¼ cup coconut oil
    ⅓ cup buttermilk
    ¼ teaspoon vanilla paste
    ¼ teaspoon red gel food coloring
    1 teaspoon butter to coat pan
    Cheesecake
    3 cups cream cheese (24 ounces)
    1 cup granulated sugar
    ¾ cup heavy cream
    ¼ teaspoon coarse salt
    3 large eggs, lightly beaten
    1½ teaspoons lemon juice (about ½ lemon)

    Cream Cheese Frosting
    ½ cup cream cheese (4 ounces)
    4 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
    ½ cup powdered sugar
    ¼ teaspoon vanilla paste
    ½ cup chopped pecans
    The red velvet cake: Preheat oven to 325°F. In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients. Whisk together to combine.
    In the bowl of your stand mixer, or a large bowl, add the egg and oils. Mix on medium-low for 1 minute to combine.
    Add the buttermilk, vanilla, and red gel. Mix on medium-low for 1 minute to combine.
    With the mixer on medium-low, slowly add the dry mixture. Mix until the flour is just incorporated.
    Butter and flour (shake off excess) a 10-inch springform pan. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 35 minutes. Let cake completely cool.
    The cheesecake: In the bowl of your stand mixer, combine the cream cheese, sugar, heavy cream, and salt. Beat together until thoroughly mixed. Add the eggs, beat together. Stir in the lemon juice.
    Pour on top of the cooled red velvet cake in the springform pan. Bake at 325°F for 45 minutes.
    Remove from the oven and cool on a rack. The cheesecake will look slightly golden. Let cool completely.
    The cream cheese frosting: In the bowl of your stand mixer or a large bowl, add the cream cheese and softened butter. Mix on medium speed until combined.
    Slowly add the powdered sugar, a few spoonfuls at a time. Pour in vanilla paste.
    Spread the frosting on the cooled cheesecake and sprinkle the pecans evenly on top of the frosting. Store in the fridge

  6. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I had the opposite problem last night. I fell asleep around 7PM. Way too early. I woke up at 2AM and laid there trying not to lose my relax. No luck. Finally I got up and wandered into the kitchen where I replaced the batteries in the 5 hour candles. Then I went back to bed and played games on my Kindle. Of course I’ve been more or less wide awake since then. And very unproductive.

    DS9 was one of my favorite Star Trek spin offs. I didn’t watch Next Generation very often and hardly ever watched Voyager. I preferred Babylon 5 over all of them.

    The weather was sunny at first and then it got cloudy and humid. No rain forecast though.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn ,
      I’ve done the same thing, falling asleep early and waking in the wee hours. I’d rather do that as at least I’d get a few more hours sleep.

      I really liked Voyager and have seen them all and even binged on Netflix. It has one of the best endings, two parts with time travel. I also watched all of DS9 but I didn’t like the ending.

      Rain is forecast for us in the morning so I hope it will be dry enough for the movie.

      Have a good night’s sleep!

  7. Jay Bird Says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely day! Biggest benefit of cold climate living are those glorious summer days (and nights). I mocked nappers, until, nearing age 70, I became cursed myself. I got a bit into “Firefly”, a Joss Wedon product.

    • katry Says:

      Jay,
      It was a warm pleasant day. I even got a front, next to the door parking spot at a store which usually has a line waiting to get into the parking lot. My sister always says to thank the God of Parking.

      I also got into Firefly. I couldn’t believe it was cancelled so soon. The film did help just a bit.

      Naps can be so refreshing and on a winter’s day cozy under a quilt.


Comments are closed.


