“Clutter is my natural habitat.”

Today is hot. It is 83˚. I’m in the cool air of the house looking at the world through my den window. The most I can see is the blue sky and the still leaves of the oak tree. Later, in the cool of the afternoon, I have some deck stuff to finish: replace the burned out lights on the rail and get the fountain working. I also need to bring the flamingo and the gnome to the deck where they’ll reside all summer. A few of the flowers in the smallest pots have died so I’m hoping to get replacements at Agway today. I’ll be braving the heat.

When I was young, I knew what old was. No question it was those blue-haired ladies in their dresses and clunky heeled shoes with wrinkled faces and hands who dragged wire baskets on wheels behind them when they shopped at the grocery store. They never wore pants. Their shoes were sensible. Their dresses had flowers. I never stopped to  think how old they were. They just fit my vision of old so age didn’t seem to matter.

Despite my current wardrobe, if my young self knew I was soon to turn 70, I suspect I’d think myself old, but I’m not. The definition of old changes as we age. I’m now thinking 90+ might be old, but I’m not sure anymore. I admit, though, I’m thinking of buying one of those wire baskets so I can haul stuff from the car to the house.

I hate clutter yet my den is cluttered, but I’ve come to ignore it as the alternative is to go crazy. I had to move the dog’s dishes here as she slid on the kitchen floor. Her toys are in a wooden box and usually a couple are on the floor. Gracie tends to paw her toys to the floor until she finds just the right one. My cloth from Ghana is stored in a pile here but not out of sight. Most of my cookbooks are on shelves which cover one whole wall. My hat collection hangs from the shelves. My table is a huge metal one with three overflowing baskets underneath. I do have sorting through them on my whenever I get to them list of things to do. I sleep on the couch so my pillow and sheets are on the desk chair. This is the room where I spend the most time so everything is here except snacks and drinks. They’re down the hall, and the bathroom is between them. My inside world is small, but I’m content.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Clutter is my natural habitat.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Not many of those blue haired women left in the world now days. I think they sort of died out in the 1990’s 🙂 and they brought the shoes with them 🙂
    I’m not sure how old old actually is now days, it all depends on the state of mind I guess. I really don’t feel as old as I look and I still look much younger than my grandfather did when he was my age. He always looked to have the same age, I guess beinbg a military does that to them 🙂 He was even well dressed when he worked in the garden or with the plants in Gothenburg’s amusement park 🙂 Compared to him I look like a hobo 🙂 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.


    • Christer,
      I know-the blue heads have disappeared here as well replaced by women my age who either chose to go gray or dye their gray away.

      I think dress is far more informal now. I can’t remember the last time I wore a dress. Comfort is the rage.

      With all the drugs available to help people as well as the ease of living now keeps us yon looking. I don’t feel old in any way.

      My father wore a suit and tie to work every day and to mass on Sunday. He wore his comfy clothes to do yard work.

      Have a great evening!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Most of us in the blue-haired lady crowd are still wearing tennis shoes and jeans. We don’t look like the stereotypical little old blue-haired lady.
    I figure anyone 20 years or more older than I is probably old. That would make them older than my aunt who is in her mid-80’s and still tap dancing up a storm.

    My house is full of clutter. Much of it is leftover clutter from my mother which I am still sorting through. My clutter is downstairs next to my spot on the couch. It’s mostly knitting projects and equipment along with all my Kindles and the laptop. Once I manage to get a room cleaned out, it pretty much stays that way. It’s just getting there that is the problem. 🙂

    It was very hot up here. I had to get gasoline and hit the grocery store because no English muffins for breakfast (gasp!). Also no butter or ice cream (double gasp!!). The larder is restocked so I can aestivate for a few days.

    Enjoy the day.


    • Hi Caryn,
      Two of the women on my library board are over 90. They still drive though slowly. Both are healthy and neither looks 90 though I guess I’m not so sure what 90 looks like.

      My upstairs is fairly clutter free. My living room is less cluttered than my dining room. I have so many stuff from Ghanan and my other travels all over the downstairs has little room for anything else.

      I got what I needed at Agway then went to get cream for my coffee and ended up spending nearly $100. I got two books with matching stuffed seals for the two three year olds for Christmas which was close to half the money. I got ice cream!

      Have a great evening!!

  3. Bob Says:

    This morning when I pulled out of my parking spot at 7:00 the temperature was 80 degrees. On my way home the outside temps was 101 degrees. That’s hot weather.

    I have always thought that old is always ten years older than I am at any age. When I look back at photos of my immigrant grandparents they looked so very old. My father’s parents lived to their mid to late seventies we think. Their birth records were destroyed in Eastern Europe during WWII. Of course my grandmothers dressed as you described and my grandfathers never went out without a hat, suite jacket and tie. In the summertime my grandfather would remove the jacket, loosen his tie and roll up his sleeves. When I go to the Jewish Community Center I see the ‘senior’ group and I don’t look like any of them in my mind’s eye and some of them are younger than I am. 🙂

    I am a pack rat and create stacks everywhere while my spouse hates them. I hate to throw anything away. One never knows when an item that hasn’t been used in a few years will be necessary in the future.


    • Bob,
      I think it got to 88˚ here which is far too hot for me. It died of the heat at Agway especially when I bought some flowers.

      I don’t think my mother looked old until she got sick. She was in her late 70’s then. She was a great dresser and never wore old lady clothes. When she bought clothes as gifts for us, we were never disappointed and always liked them.

      Sometimes I see people my age and wonder why they look so old. It was that way with some people at my 50th class reunion.

      I do throw stuff away and periodically attack a spot needing pruning of stuff.


Comments are closed.


