“I am not the same, having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.”

The weather has settled into monotony. Every day is sunny and hot. We reached the mid 80’s yesterday while Boston was over 90˚. The shade was bearable, but the sun was unrelenting. The only times I went outside were to bring Gracie to the yard where I sat in the shade and waited for her.

I did nothing yesterday and will probably do nothing today as well. A dump run is in our future but probably tomorrow. I do need to water the plants, inside and outside, but that’s it.

When I was a teacher, I traveled every summer, mostly to Europe, and went for three or four weeks. I traveled on the cheap. Go Europe was my travel Bible. University housing and hostels were my hotels as such. Meals were sometimes at bar happy hours where I’d nurse a single drink until I’d eaten my fill or at railroad stations which had kiosks with cheap sandwiches. I usually traveled with a friend. B&B’s were sometimes our stops mostly through Ireland, Scotland and England. I remember one in London, in Earl’s Court. The owner barely spoke English and played music quite loud from the kitchen which was next to my room. The song I remember best is Cielito Linda with the damn ay, ay, ay. I swear it was played over and over. My favorite B&B was in Dingle Ireland. It was over a grocery store. The woman was old. She entertained us with stories about guests including the Frenchman who didn’t know how to eat Corn Flakes and another who wanted a facecloth. She laughed at the thought that the face had its own cloth. Breakfasts were eggs, bacon, toast and coffee and sometimes a grilled tomato. The hostels were cheap enough but didn’t offer breakfast, but they had a value of their own. Hostels were where I’d trade books and information with other travelers. All these trips were cheap enough that I could saved enough money every year for a summer in Europe.

Last year’s trip to Ghana was expensive enough for a couple or even close to three trips to Europe in the old days, but I was perfectly fine with that. I enjoyed the lap of luxury as if I had been born to it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““I am not the same, having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world.””


    • Morpfy,
      I vaguely remember this movie. The two kids were the ones from Mary Poppins. Thew song is catchy. I wonder where he found all the gnomes.


    • Morpfy,
      This is a great video. The movie is so lovely with the cartoon-real life combo. I think I read where it was not released for a long while due to its depiction of Black Americans; however, this song is just wonderful.

  1. im6 Says:

    Speaking of the moon…. today is the 48th anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar landing.


    • im6,
      I was in Bawku in northeast Ghana, in the Upper Region, for the live-in part of my Peace Corps training. There were no TV’s so we all sat around the radio and listened to Voice of America. Hearing the landing described wasn’t as exciting or awesome as seeing it. Many Ghanaians don’t believe we ever landed on the moon as they never saw it.

      • im6 Says:

        Alternative facts! Fake news! And Breitbart and Fox News weren’t even around. They were but a twinkle in Steve Bannon’s and Roger Aile’s eyes 🙂


      • im6,
        Many of the the Ghanaians would agree with you. It was a put up job. Just watch Operation Avalanche.

  2. olof1 Says:

    We reached 77 today but a nice cool wind blew all day so it was quite nice to be outside, saying that I still napped most of the early parts of the day, indoors 🙂 🙂 Tomorrow they say the rain will arrive, we need it so I guess they’ll be wrong once again 🙂 🙂

    I don’t long to travel any more, I’m quite happy here but it would be fun to do it one more time and to go to one of those places I’ve always dreamt about going to. I really don’t need a fancy place to sleep at and breakfast can easily be fixed anywhere so it wouldn’t be expensive that way.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.


    • Christer,
      That’s warm for you, but I’d like it here as long as there was that cool wind. I wish it would rain, but it isn’t in the forecast, jut the heat.

      I would love one more trip to Ghana to celebrate 50 years since I left there. It is in 4 years so I’m thinking that will be time enough to save the money.

      I do love to travel, but I love getting home even more.

  3. Birgit Says:

    Unfortunately traveling Europe by train is too expensive for many young people here nowadays. It’s cheaper for them to fly or take a car which is ridiculous in times of climate change.
    Since I don’t have a car anymore our holidays are mostly day trips within the reach of our public transport travel passes which covers the whole region. We had to postpone our bicycle day trip along the river yesterday. Train traffic partly broke down (again) and a big thunderstorm was predicted in the evening. Guess who made a short bike trip nevertheless (with trams instead of trains) and got completely soaked.


    • Birgit,
      Once I was in Europe, I tool trains many times. The best trip was from Denmark to Hook of Holland. We then slept on the deck across the Channel.

      Ghana used to have great trains. I’d take one to Kumasi, the second largest city. I always went first class which had the doors you slid to get inside. The chairs were huge and soft. From Kumasi I had to take a bus which took 12-15 hours. I wished the train went all the way up country.

      In South America I took a train from Quito to Guayaquil. It was amazing. We saw tropical areas where bananas were growing and snow on the Andes.

      I love trains.


Comments are closed.


