“Summer has set in with its usual severity.”

Every Sunday, at 10 am, I call my sister in Colorado. Today that call lasted until 12:41. We discussed the family, politics, MSNBC, our gardens and lawns and her grandchildren. She and I are political clones of each other. Actually, all my siblings and I agree politically. I think it has to do with us growing up through the 60’s.

Next door is empty. The car I saw must have been the cleaners getting the place ready for renters. There were workers there for a few days last week putting on shingles and doing some work inside which necessitated the hammers and saws I heard. There was also an exterminator. That made me laugh. I figured my mice have packed their bags and moved next door; however, I did catch another mouse in my trap in the kitchen which makes it  3 mice caught who lived in the cabinet. That sounds like a children’s book title: Three Mice Caught Who lived in the Cabinet. I can envision the book cover with the mice sitting in their living room while mama mouse is in her rocker knitting. I just hope number 3 is the last. Just in case, though, I’ll again bait the trap this week with peanut butter. Number 3 was let go a couple of miles from here. I wished him Bon Voyage.

The humidity surprised me this morning at 7 when Gracie woke me up to take her outside. It had rained during the night as the road was wet, but I don’t think it was all that much rain. Gracie was quick to finish so we both came inside and went back to sleep. I slept another 2 hours. I just took her out again, and it is hot. I’m thinking staying inside with the air conditioner blasting sounds the best way to spend the day. Fresh air is overrated.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

16 Comments on ““Summer has set in with its usual severity.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    The Prince and I are behind closed curtains watching Germany (hello Birgit) and Chile from Russia. We have been walking in the early heat, and talking Prince-Pumpa stuff. It is the easy for the two of us.

    In the heat of the Michigan summer Chrysler were nice enough to lend us an Alfa Stelvio for the weekend. It’s the 2018 pre production and has been much enjoyed. The first shipment of 1,600 cars are on their way…I need to switch my Summit for one but there is a year left on my lease.

    The long weekend continues tomorrow and Mrs MDH and I are heading to the beach

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I love that you two have so many things in common to chat about, and that you both enjoy football, both sorts!

      I had to look up the Alfa Stelio and totally understand why you enjoy driving it.

      I wonder how many people will stay here through Tuesday to make it a really long weekend. There were even backups to go over the bridges on Thursday night. The weather has been perfect for sunning and beach going.

      • Hedley Says:

        Kat – Maggie the Westie is not happy with the evenings filled with fireworks. She went to the beautician (Petsmart grooming) and is relaxing after her lunch and before the storms of light and noise return around 10 pm

        The Prince and I do stuff, it’s just the way it is.

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        My dog Shauna, an earlier boxer of mine, was so afraid of thunder and fireworks she shook. I held her but it didn’t help. I felt so bad for her.

        My friends’ dog, Darci, also a Westie, looks wonderful after she is beautified at the groomer. She is afraid of flies and doesn’t seem to mind fireworks.

        My brother-in-law is the same with his grandchildren, especially the boys. They love their Pa so very much.

    • Birgit Says:

      Hedley, your Prince has a great taste in sports. I just saw a part of CHI-GER, chorus rehearsal today, back home late.

    • Bob Says:

      Good luck with an Italian made car. I have owned an Alfa Spyder and a Fiat Coupe in the past. Both were wonderful driving cars but they had terrible reliability. That was a long time ago maybe their reliability has improved.

  2. olof1 Says:

    We were up early and I did see the sun for a second until it vanished behind the clouds, it just showed itself for a few minutes duringthe rest of the day. No rain though and now the creek where Sune takes his baths is totally dry. I guess we need rain but I don’t exactly long for it 🙂

    My mice have moved to their summer homes and I haven’t heard any or seen tracks from them since early spring. I know it won’t last but I’m enjoying the short time I’ll get 🙂

    The weather has been great for napping so we have napped a lot yoday but I’m just as tired anyway :-)Two more weeks and then my vacation starts 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The day turned out to be lovely with lots of sun, a blue sky and a better breeze than this morning’s. I haven’t been out to see f I can turn off the AC. Gracie likes it as she is sleeping quite soundly.

      My mice live here all year, but I think the ones in the cellar are gone. I’m hoping the ones in the cabinet are also gone. Just about every house here on the cape have mice.

      I am watching the Red Sox play baseball but am getting drowsy. They are winning 13-1 so I figure I can nap and miss very little.

      Have a great evening!

  3. Birgit Says:

    It’s sour cherry season. The tree is full of ripe cherries, more than we can eat, neighbors and birds will have to help though the birds are picky, they prefer our raspberries. A pot of cherries is cooking now and we’ll have Grütze later (whatever that’s called in English, cook pitted cherries and add vanilla starch, no sugar).

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I don’t know if we have anything like that here. I googled Grützebut but didn’t find anything similar.

      I don’t even know where sour cherry trees grow.

  4. Bob Says:

    The reason you can’t get rid of the mice is that you try them instead of killing them. If a couple of them are decapitated the others will pack up and move. The ones you release send out the message through the rodent underground that you can always go back to Kat’s kitchen.

    My sister and I are diametrically opposed politically. I never thought she had a political bone in her body. However, when her husband, Vince, was alive her refrain to everything was, “But Vince says”. Somehow in her brain Vince was the expert on everything. He died ten years ago and her new boyfriend, Rick is a massive Republican. At least she hasn’t said to me, “But Rick says”. Now she just says we have to give Trump a chance. Vince and she owned a head shop in Tampa and sold drug paraphernalia until she closed it a few years ago. My sister is one of those who follows her man.

    Today was sunny, hot and humid. Only 97 degrees. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The mice best have a great sense of directions I leave them a couple of miles away. All the entry holes have been closed so they’d have to find a new way inside.

      That’s too bad your sister doesn’t have a mind of her own. That seems so old fashion yet she owned a head shop. That seems a bit contradictory.

      It got to 90˚ in Boston. I think it got to the 8o˚’s here. I’m happy to say the humidity is now gone so I have opened the door and windows.

      • flyboybob Says:

        I don’t discuss politics with my sister regardless where she gets her ideas. I’m assuming that she would be influenced by Rick like she was influenced by her husband.

        Here it starts out in the low 80s in the morning.

      • katry Says:

        The mornings are usually in the 60’s.

        We al agree so no sense bringing up politics. My father, though, was totally different . He would have loved Trump.

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    My brothers and I are not of one mind about politics. One brother is Republican and right of center. The other brother is Independent. His political views are a mishmash of liberal and conservative. Both are very big on law and order and support the police, right or wrong. I used to be a moderate but everyone seems to have slipped to the right of me over the years. Now I’m a flaming liberal. Or so I have been told.

    Today was hot. There was a breeze which made it bearable in the shade. For a few minutes. Long enough to walk up the dirt road and back down again. I feel very virtuous that I have walked the dogs up that road a few times today. And while we were out, I saw a male goldfinch and a purple finch, one right after the other, as they came to drink in the puddle out front. Goldfinches are around in the summer but the purple finches haven’t been for some years.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I have always been a liberal as have my sisters and brother. My father was a democrat until he started making 6 figures then he became a republican. I used to tell people about him switching. My brother and I were talking about it once and I found out he told people the same thing. We hadn’t ever discussed the switch so we came to it independently.

      It got hot here as well. I put the AC on then turned it off and opened the back door. Gracie started panting before too long so I put the AC back on. She is now sleeping soundly.

      I haven’t ever seen a purple finch. (one of Dickinson’s poems came to mind: I never saw a purple cow
      I never hope to see one
      But I can tell you anyhow
      I’d rather see than be one.)

      The purple finch did it!

      Have a wonderful evening!


Comments are closed.


