A Hole in the Bucket: Harry Belafonte and Odetta

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

6 Comments on “A Hole in the Bucket: Harry Belafonte and Odetta”

  1. Birgit Says:

    Great version, these two can’t do wrong anyway.
    This song is a translation of an old German song still known here. Heinrich and Liese as Henry and Lisa. We sang it as kids, I hope kids nowadays still sing it too.

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Birgit

      I have a just Harry version then I went and found this one on YouTube. I do love each of them and think they are amazing together.

      I’m going to find it in German.

      I don’t think kids here know this song. I first heard it when I was an adult. Yes, I hope it is still sung too.

      • sprite Says:

        I knew it as a kid, at least partially from Sesame Street (Jim Henson & Rita Moreno), but later from music class (which must date me since we still had music classes):

      • katry Says:

        sprite,
        I never heard this until I was an adult. I don’t know why as I listened to folk from early on. I guess I just missed this.

        Our music was a nun who blew the first note for any song we were singing. It was sort of silly.

  2. GnuFOOL Says:


Comments are closed.


