“You get what anybody gets – you get a lifetime.”

I have been sitting here cursing aloud since 11 am. My computer stuck on the WordPress starting page and refused to go any further. I shut it down a couple of times, but the restart was still stuck. I have renamed my computer Hal.

Gracie has become a Hobbit in her eating habits. She snacks when she wakes up, constantly demands treats when she comes inside the house and has already had her elevenses.  Her afternoon and evening meals will be starting soon.

The day is breezy and cloudy. Every now and then the sky lightens, but the clouds don’t disappear. Rain is not in the forecast through the weekend.

This morning kids screaming woke me up. It was the brood from down the street. They go out and play before the school bus comes. It seems their play must be accompanied by screams, not words, just screams. They left and I fell back to sleep.

Most of the caterpillars must now be Gypsy moths. There is much less poop on the deck. (That sounds a bit nautical, but then it is Cape Cod.) I’ll be glad when the deck stays clean. I watered all the flowers out there this morning. I haven’t yet put down the rug or started the fountain. They’re for another day.

The spawns of Satan are at it again. Last night I noticed my new lights on the end of the deck weren’t lit. I went to check this morning and found a couple of bulbs chewed off the strand. I’m only sorry the spawns weren’t shocked. I can visualize a cartoon spawn with a bolt of lightning through its body.

When I was a kid, the last day of school was always a half day. We did a bit of room cleaning then we sat around waiting to get our final report cards. Once we had the cards in hand, we all turned to the back side where it said promoted to on the bottom. That’s all we cared about, even more than grades, but then I didn’t know a single person who wasn’t promoted. Bad behavior and poor study habits were never tolerated by the nuns.

Today is a sloth day. I deserve it after two busy days. Leandro and Rosana are here cleaning the house. Lee also fixed a cabinet for me and hung a shelf. He is quite a talented fix-it-guy.

My larder is filled. I have choices for meals instead of having to scavenge through the fridge and the cabinets. I even had to rearrange to make room. Life is good!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““You get what anybody gets – you get a lifetime.””

  1. William Sandford Says:

    Why do the squirrels in the photo have human hands??
    We had a bear in the back garden last night at 7. It looked longingly at the bird feeder on the high cable. Then gave me a dumbfounded look when I went out to yell at it. After a few minutes it went off, probably to the neighbors.
    I had some precancer spots removed from my neck. I’m hideous. I also have an appointment on July 5th to have another one on my neck scraped and burned. Can’t wait.
    It pays to be vigilant. Must have been all that sun in Ghana without sunscreen.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      I guess it is because squirrels are the spawn of Satan and can look anyway Satan chooses (the best I could come up with).

      The bear is probably used to dining in other back yards and not at all used to being yelled at.

      I can’t see the back of my neck and haven’t ever thought to look.

      Our years in Ghana were before the sunscreen/cancer warnings. Those were the days when beachgoers wanted a tan. We never did get one in Ghana.

  2. William Sandford Says:

    The kids still have school?? Ours were out last Tuesday (last week).

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      I have no idea why they went so late with today being the last day. They didn’t have a lot of snow days. I don’t remember when, but they must have started later in September.

  3. Rowen Says:

    “That sounds a bit nautical, but then it is Cape Cod.” Awesome.

  4. Bob Says:

    Here the kids are off from Memorial Day through the third week in August. Because every school is air conditioned closing for nearly three months in the summer is stupid. It’s a throwback to an agrarian 19th century mindset.

    I know what a Larder is but I would never think to use it in every day speech or written in a blog. 🙂

    Mid 90s with partly cloudy skies. More rain tomorrow night probably after midnight. This June has been the wettest on record and rain after midnight will go on July’s watch. Forecast for the fourth is hot and dry.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The closing for the summer depends on when the schools open. It is always after Labor Day which is sometimes as late as the 8th of September then they are required by law to do 180 days. Snow days are added on to the end but there weren’t many this year. None of the schools in my district have AC.

      I always use larder to describe the state of my fridge and my cabinets. I never think twice about using it. It is just part of my every day vocabulary.

      Our May was one of the wettest. This month has been average or a bit below average. Today got to 77˚ but tonight is cooler, a great night for sleeping.

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Gracie now sounds like my two Hobbits. Breakfast, dessert after breakfast, elevenses, twelveses, 1:30-ses, in-betweenses, tea-timeses, pre-supper, supper, after supper supper, snacks, pre-last-out-for the nightses, post-last-out-for-the-nightses, and anything else they can find.

    Peapod came Wednesday, Walden Local Meats comes later today with meat, eggs, and butter. I have baked a loaf of bread. My larder will be full. Except no ice cream. I may have to make a Benson’s run later on.

    The weather is questionable.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      Yup, Gracie has joined the ranks of the feed me food and treats all the time dogs. I’m not complaining as she did lose 10 pounds when she was sick and wouldn’t eat, but she gives me that hang dog look every time so I haven’t a choice but to fee her.

      I love opening my fridge and seeing food. I even have ice cream, chocolate chip instead of my usual coconut. I pair it with a caramel salt sauce.

      No rain coming according to the weather, but then the weather also said sunny, but that hasn’t happened yet.

      Have a great afternoon!


Comments are closed.


