“All creatures must learn to coexist. That’s why the brown bear and the field mouse can share their lives in harmony. Or course, they can’t mate or the mice would explode.”

When I woke this morning, I had to take a minute to figure out what day it was. Yesterday’s newspaper was what came to mind so today, small paper day, is Monday.

Though the morning has been leisurely, my dance card for today has things to do and places to go. The deck needs attention, its plants need watering and the rail lights have to be replaced. I also have an outside plant to pot. Inside the house is a litter box needing changing and houseplants dying for water. The places to go include the dump and two different vets to pick up refills for Gracie’s meds. I have those listed for afternoon. Some place on that list, I need to sandwich in some nap time.

The day is sunny and is already 75˚, but there is no humidity and a slight breeze makes the air feel cooler. I’ll be happy to clean my deck later so I can get out there and enjoy the fresh air, the birds and the breeze.

We are all old here, Gracie, Maddie and I. Maddie, who is 17, mostly sleeps during the day alternating between my bed and the den chair. She has knotted fur on her stomach. I try to cut it, and she whacks me or pretends to bite me as a warning. Maddie, like most cats, roams at night. Sometimes she sits on the couch arm and purrs in my face. Last night she licked my arm a couple of times. I pat her then fall right to sleep. Maddie doesn’t always use the litter box, but she does use the puppy pads. Gracie, at nearly 12, has morning and afternoon naps. I take her into the backyard several times a day where she does her business and then sometimes just wanders the yard. Rabbits and squirrels still get her attention though she doesn’t chase them anymore.  I, at nearly 70, take a nap in the afternoon some days. On the days I have motivation and energy, I’ll clean or do laundry. I don’t go out much during the day, and that’s fine with me.

I know there is another mouse in the kitchen. I found fresh poop. So far there has been 1 dead mouse on the floor and two live ones in the trap. The two live ones are since the exterminator came. Either they are mouse zombies or the exterminator’s traps didn’t work. This morning I reset my trap with peanut butter. All I need now is one hungry mouse.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““All creatures must learn to coexist. That’s why the brown bear and the field mouse can share their lives in harmony. Or course, they can’t mate or the mice would explode.””

  1. alexankarr1 Says:

    That quote’s hilarious. Only the first half showed up on my feed, and I was just thinking, “As long as the mouse keeps its distance, yeah, perfect harmony.” My thoughts did not go to the hybrid mating place!

    • katry Says:

      alex,
      I had the same reaction. Then I noticed it was a Betty White quote, and I knew it had to be from her Golden Girls program. She was hysterical on that.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    My dance card was empty today. Other than feeding and walking the dogs, there was nothing that had to be done. Good thing. I did a bit of photography and editing then did a Peapod order and an Amazon order. I need to bake some bread but it can wait.

    Piki Dog refused to eat anything this morning. Finally, around 2PM he finished the kibble in his bowl. Rocky had eaten most of it anyway. Piki does this every now and then. I gave him other dog food about an hour ago and he happily ate it all.

    The mouse story reminded me of something. Last week, I grabbed a glass from the pantry to make my morning iced coffee. I filled it full of ice, poured the coffee in and added the cream. I took a small sip through the straw and swallowed as I was heading for the living room. Then I took a bigger pull through the straw and felt something solid come through. I figured it was an ice chip but I didn’t swallow the mouthful of coffee and ice. Instead, I winkled out the solid object and stared at in dawning horror. No. It wasn’t that. Worse. It was a pellet of Decon. It’s been about 4 years since I’ve used Decon but I’ve been using those glasses a lot over that time. Hmm.

    It’s lovely up here today. Mostly sunny, nice breeze, not very humid.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I got everything done which is no big accomplishment as the list wasn’t all that long. I will do Peapod tonight-thanks for the reminder.

      Gracie won’t eat hers every now and then, but, last week, when she was dizzy and had an upset stomach, she didn’t eat for three or four days. She has lost weight and looks far too skinny. She loves the small dog food I bought so I give her that as a supplement for the big can, her usual food. She is also munching treats as if she were starving.

      I was totally grossed out by the Decon in the coffee. I hope you’ve no ill effects. I wonder how it got to your glasses.

      It is still lovely here as well.

      • Caryn Says:

        The mice move that stuff around all over the place which is partly why I don’t use it unless the mouse incursion is egregious. You never know where it’s going to end up. Once I found a stash of it piled between the trash barrel and the kitchen door. In any case, it hadn’t been in my mouth long enough. No ill effects that I could discern

      • katry Says:

        The mice are joining the squirrels on the spawn list.

        I may have captured all the ones in the kitchen as the trap is still empty.

  3. Bob Says:

    They say one year for a dog is like seven years for humans. That makes Gracie approximately 84. I’m 70 and I don’t chase rabbits or squirrels any longer either. I also don’t chase skirts either because my spouse will object. I can’t afford at this stage of my live to be living in a refrigerator box under a freeway bridge. But like Gracie I never pass up an opportunity to look. 🙂 I may be married but I’m not dead. 🙂

    Today has been cloudy and cool with a high of 88 degrees. The rest of the week is predicted to be cooler than normal but next week should be a scorcher for the fourth.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I read where the first dog year is equal to 15 human years and then the years change around: Gracie is equal to a 77 old human. You and she do have something in common!

      Your spouse is right: look but don’t touch.

      It is nice and cool right now. The day stayed around 75˚. It was a lovely day!

  4. Birgit Says:

    So you all together are nearly 99 years old, time to plan a big 100th party! Keep the mouse and you can party earlier 🙂
    Speaking of age and doing the math, coincidentally I’m just one year older than I was an hour ago.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I am horrific at math. Are you saying today is your birthday? If not, help!

      You’re right about the party. Maddie and Gracie can share a turkey cake as they both love it, and I’ll have chocolate with gooey icing!


Comments are closed.


