“Never hesitate to go far away, beyond all seas, all frontiers, all countries, all beliefs.”

Today is lovely. I woke up to a blue sky and the brightest eye squinting sunshine I’ve seen in a while. My house is comfortably cool. Outside my window, I can see chickadees on the branches munching sunflower seeds. None of the leaves of the oak tree are blowing. It is a still day.

Though Gracie ate on Tuesday, around midnight she started panting and walking from room to room. She’d sit on the couch for a bit then get up and walk some more. Around 12:30 am, I took her to the emergency vet for the third early morning in a row. She was given anti-nausea medication which settled her down. The vet told me that this was treating only a symptom. I already knew that. She suggested a battery of tests, most of which I probably can’t afford.

Last night was different. During the day, she ate two small cans of dog food, not her usual as I was tempting her taste buds. She ate treats, new treats. She napped and last night slept through the night. I had anti-nausea pills for her, but she didn’t need them. She and Maddie, the cat, are having their morning naps now. I’m going to take one later. I am exhausted.

The best part of any summer has always been having empty days to fill.  When I was a kid, it was games and crafts at the local playground. I’d be there all day. During high school, I did little on summer days, but I was never bored. When I was in college, it was a summer job which I didn’t really mind. Working in the post office was easy and paid well. The pace was slow. Europe filled my summers when I was a teacher. My trips generally lasted 4 to 5 weeks. I knew how to travel on little money. I slept in hostels or on night buses. I ate as cheaply as possible sometimes buying bread and sandwich fixings. I found bars where I could get a drink and eat my way through happy hour. I had only a broad itinerary open to change. It was a wonderful way to travel. They were some of my favorite summers.

Posting my Ghana pictures yesterday got me thinking about the faraway places I love. Ghana, of course, is my favorite. The rest are in no order, no preference. Old Quito is on that list. The narrow streets, the old buildings, the colors and the women’s hats still have a prominent place in my memory drawers. I loved Portugal and Morocco and the Roman ruins in Italy. Ouagadougou in Burkina Faso was my second favorite spot in Africa. It was my weekend getaway. The beauty of the Andes took my breath away. On overnight bus rides, stops at roadside restaurants where the menus were in languages I didn’t understand and peeing in a hole in the little house in the back were part of the adventure. In Morocco and in Ghana I found out that thitting the hole is a lifetime skill.

I don’t travel summers anymore, but I keep my passport up to date just in case.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Never hesitate to go far away, beyond all seas, all frontiers, all countries, all beliefs.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I was just about to comment here when I heard Albin screaming loudly just outside the door. He and Sune was playing wildly and had lots of fun when something happened. I think he got stung by a wasp but I’m not sure and I can’t figure out where but he was coughing when he came inside. I can’t feel any swelling but I’ll continue to look just in case. He seems ok now though because he’s cranky because I won’t let him go outside until I’m sure he’s ok.
    I do hope they can figure out what’s wrong with Gracie! I hate it when they can fix the symptoms but not figure out what really is wrong!

    We’ve had a rather nice day here. I walked around for almost five hours while my car was getting a new timingbelt. I must have been walking for over 12 miles 🙂 I brought three cameras but only the old kind so You’ll see the photos later this year. I’m pretty sure You’ll like he ones with smaller and bigger buildings in them 🙂

    I can’t remember ever being bored in summer, there was always somehing one could do and if the weather was bad there were always books to be read. Itä’s much the same now days and if nothing helps naps will 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      Hasn’t Albin been stung before this? The poor dog has food allergies and is the prey of insects. He just can’t win.

      They think Gracie’s head tilt is the result of brain lesions which may be causing the other symptoms but a test would have to be given to confirm that. She is taking anti-nausea medicine, and that does seem to be helping.

      Wow, five hours of walking! I’d have found a nice spot and eaten lunch and read or even napped. I do love your building shot as the buildings are so different from ones here.

      I also don’t remember being bored in the summer. I never took naps when I was a kid, but I do love them now.

      Have a great evening!

      • olof1 Says:

        No this was the first time, Sune however is stung regularly, he never seems to learn 🙂 I don’t think Nova’s been stung once though.

      • katry Says:

        Christer,
        I remembered one of your dogs had been bitten. I just forgot which one.

  2. Birgit Says:

    Today we’ve had this year’s warmest day so far, not Ghana or Texas or described Phoenix temperatures, just what we spoiled AC-less Central Europeans consider as “hot!”. Perfect setting for watching your wonderful Ghana pictures, a trip into a different and exciting world. Thanks!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I’m hoping you’ll forever be spared the heat of Phoenix and Ghana, In Ghana, we never got as high as Phoenix. I think it got to 108˚. If you didn’t move much, you survived.

      I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the pictures of my trip.

  3. Bob Says:

    I’m amazed at how many people travel the globe and seem to learn nothing about other cultures and other people. They travel in air conditioned tour busses, stay in chain hotels and visit tourist attractions sourounded by vendors. They might as well stay home and explore via the Internet.

    There seems to be this us against them attitude resulting in a rise in nationalism and jingoism. Republicans won with an America First platform and the Conseratives in the UK engineered an exit from the EU while we are living in a global interconnected world. Fear and ignorance win over understanding.

    My limited travels have shown me that we are all more similar than different. We all want similar things such as economic opportunity to buy a home and raise our kids prepared for a better life than our own.

    Tomorrow will top out at 97 degrees. Not as high as in Phoenix or Death Valley but once you pass 95 it’s just hot.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Those all-inclusion resorts are where people stay. They don’t see what is around them, beyond the resort. I know people who went to Mexico but never saw Mexico. I asked if they went to the villages, and they said there was no reason.

      In some cities, I have taken tours so I can know where everything is when I walk around. I haven’t ever taken a full tour which includes everything. I want the ability to go where I want.

      I love going where the culture is quite different than here. I think that’s why I love Africa.

      That’s hot enough!

      • Bob Says:

        Several years ago I was at an all inclusive resort in Puerta Villarta Mexico and tour guides were in the lobby every day hawking their tours. This one man approached me and said that he would take me up into the mountains and show me the real Mexico. I jokingly said that I didn’t need a tour of the real Mexico because I live in Dallas and I can see the real Mexico on Jefferson Blvd. in Oak Cliff. He replied that his cousin Jose lives near Jefferson Blvd and did I know him….LOL

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        It is like that line in Fiddler on the Roof. Tevya meets a man going to Chicago, America. Tevya says we are going to New York, America then says we’ll be neighbors.

        I’d not like being stuck in one place when I am traveling.


Comments are closed.


