eastbostonairport024-2556

Explore posts in the same categories: photo

15 Comments on “”

  1. katry Says:

    John Steinbeck quote

  2. GnuFOOL Says:

    • katry Says:

      Gnu,
      Wow, all those babies have great lungs!

      That was really interesting.

      The narrator was amazed at how quickly signals were sent around the world. He’d be gobsmacked with today’s technologies. To think this was filmed 50 years ago, and we have had advancements since then no one could have imagined.

      Tunis seemed so exotic as did Turkey.

  3. GnuFOOL Says:

    • katry Says:

      Gnu,
      I love, love, love this. The effects are so wonderfully cheesy. The Japanese made the best movies with fantastic monsters. Naturally this Kong grabbed a girl and climbed a tower.

    • katry Says:

      minicapt,
      My grandparents lived in East Boston. My uncle, who is only 2 years older than I am, took my brother and me to Logan Airport. It was probably around 1957 when I was ten. We walked all through the hangers which were mainly Quonset huts. We went up to the observation roof to watch the planes come and go. I wanted more than anything to fly anywhere on one of those planes. That stayed with me.

  4. Bob Says:

    Imagine the excitement in those days to go out to the airport and watch the planes land and takeoff. The airplane in front is an American Airlines DC-4. They were unpressurized and cruised below 10,000 ft. They cruised at about 180 MPH or an astounding three miles per minute. In 1953 my family flew in a DC-4 from Dallas to NYC. The trip took all day with a stop over at Washington National airport.

    The sound of radial engines on takeoff is rare today.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I went out on that observation roof. My uncle, my brother and I walked to Logan to watch the planes. My mother and father were horrified as we had walked a long way to get there. I still remember it as one of my best days. I remember the sound of those props as we watched those planes taxi then take off.

      • Bob Says:

        Security reasons have done away with the observation deck. Unfortunately, today air travel has replaced the Greyhound bus. In the piston engine days people dressed up to fly.

        A friend’s wife was a stewardess on a Convair 600 for TTA, Trans Texas Airways in the late 1960s. A typical flight went from Dallas to Tyler, 90 miles, Tyler to Longview, 40 miles, Longview to Lufkin, 90 miles, Lufkin to Beaumont, 60 miles and Braumont to Houston 50 miles. They would eat lunch and return back in the afternoon. When the weather was bad she called the flight the ‘vomit comet’. She would hand out the barf bags on departure and collect them after landing. 🙂

        We’ve come along way in air travel.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I remember the dress up days. I also remember flights to Europe when I could go to the back of the plane, put up the armrests and stretch out on the seats to sleep.

        The only short flight I took was from the Cape to Boston. It was an old prop where the floor rose to the cockpit. The seats had old leather. The flight was over the ocean. Wonderful flight!

        I know it was her job but collecting the barf bags is gross.

    • minicapt Says:

      Depends on your location. We have two seaplane operating locations, one in the harbour and the other in the Bay. Most of the seaplanes are Otters and Beavers, with the occasional Grumman Goose and the Cessna Caravans (albeit flat-6s).

      Cheers

      • Bob Says:

        Had the opportunity once to fly a Cessna. Caravan on floats. The flight was from the river next to the Vancouver BC airport to the harbor in Victoria BC and return. It was the first and only time I took off and landed in the water. I was up there training the pilots of BC Tel in the differences between their Citation II to their new Citation V corporate jet in 1997. The flight in their Caravan was just for fun.

      • katry Says:

        minicapt,
        I have always wished for time travel so I could fly in a PanAm Clipper. The pictures of it on water making its way to the pier enchants me.

        I would love riding in a seaplane.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I still wish PanAm’s Clipper existed. That has always seemed to be exotic to me.


Comments are closed.


