“Without writers, stories would not be written, Without actors, stories could not be brought to life.”

Last night it rained and the wind blew and bent the boughs of the oak trees. I noticed a feeder or two down this morning so I have to go out later and put the deck to rights. Right now it is 65˚ and showers are predicted. Given the darkness of the day, I’m thinking it is an accurate prediction. The wind, though, is gone.

Last night Gracie’s frantic howls woke me up around 2:30. She had rolled off the couch and was on her back between the couch and the table and couldn’t right herself. I managed to lift her, and she was able to slide her legs from under the table and then was able to stand. I gave her plenty of hugs and reassurances so she jumped back on the couch and went to sleep. I, however, was awake for an hour or so. We both slept in this morning.

I  saw the first play of the season last night at the Cape Playhouse. It was called Art. I hadn’t heard of it before, but the play had won a Tony, and this production had gotten excellent reviews in the two local papers. I was struck, as I always am, by how wonderful live theater is. The stage is close to me, and I get to watch real people interact. Their faces and body movements reflect their feelings. The silences are weighty. Two chairs, a couch and a table were the only set pieces, but the plot and the characters developed around a prop, a piece of art, a white canvas, which affected each of the three characters and their relationships to one another. The play was 90 minutes long and had no intermission. It couldn’t. An intermission would have disrupted the plot movement and the changes in the characters, and the audience’s attention would have been interrupted. The cast would have had to pull us back in the hope of reconnecting us to the characters and what was happening; instead, our attention never wavered.

Gracie and I will be out and about today. I have three stops. They’ll be quick.

Last night I watched 20-20 about Watergate. I remember that whole summer. Every day was spent watching the hearing. I really how excited I was by Butterfield’s revelation that Nixon had taped his conversations, his downfall. Some years later he was asked if he was sorry he didn’t destroy the tapes. He said,” Yes as they were private conversations subject to misinterpretations, as we have all seen.”

I do believe in deja vu!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Without writers, stories would not be written, Without actors, stories could not be brought to life.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    The morning was cloudy but unusually warm here this morning and it changed to a sunny warm day with high humidity and it wasn’t especially nice to be honest 🙂 I mowed the lawn so now I only have the laundry left to do. I do hope we’ll get some wind tomorrow otherwise it will be much the same as today but warmer.

    Poor Gracie! It must have been awful not being able to turn around stuck between furnitures as she was. I hope she’s better otherwise!

    Too long since I went to the theater, we have no theater close here and the one closest only show farces with lots of running through doors 🙂 I don’t mind that once in a while but since that’s the only thing they show I prefer not to go there.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The day here got humid as well. It seemed to happen quickly while I was in a store. It was 64 when I started, got to 68˚ by my second stop and was 70˚ when I got home. We didn’t have any rain.

      She is better except she turns her nose up at dog food. I’m going to have to do half chicken, half dog food until I can get her to eat just the dog food.

      I know exactly what you mean by the doors. The Playhouse is the oldest continuing summer theater in the country. They do comedies, mysteries and musicals. I have had a season ticket for 25+ years.

      Have a great evening.

  2. Bob Says:

    I also watched the show on Watergate and came to same conclusion as you. Nixon never owned up to his criminal behavior and Republicans have never gotten over it. I hate to say it but Trump is their revenge. Nixon was a lawyer and a professional politician who should have known better. Trump made a career out of shady, semi-legal business dealings, bankruptcies by screwing contractors, investors, employees and various mistresses.:-) He knows how to use the courts to sue everyone and drive them into the poor house paying their attorney’s fees. Obstruction of justice is nothing to a slime ball like Trump. 😦

    Although I have disliked the policies of several of our Presidents including Nixon, I always had respect for the office except for the current occupant.

    We are surviving the heat by enjoying the AC and cable TV. The forecast high for this afternoon is 97 with a heat index of 105 degrees Fahrenheit. That’s 40.5 in Celsius.

    There is nothing like live theater. Luckily, we have a thriving theater scene here in North Texas including drama and musical comedy productions. We are planning a short road trip over the fourth to Grandbury Texas. The restored Grandbury Opera House will be performing “South Pacific” and we have reserved front row seats.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We know who could have made the same statement about destroying evidence. He too has done nothing wrong. Witch hunt!

      You’re right about his shady deals and how he is out to screw everybody. Look at the bills he refused to pay for work done because he said they didn’t do a great job. That doesn’t explain why he refused to pay for pianos delivered to hotels. He was just being sleazy.

      I too have always had respect for the office, but Trump is using the position for his own purposes, not for the good of the country.

      I am thrilled that we never get as hot as what you have to live through. I’d seldom see the light of day.

      The Cape Playhouse is the longest continuing running summer stock theater in the country. I used to see all sorts of TV and movie actors, but now they seem to come mostly from the theater, especially New York. I have had a season ticket for 25+ years. DSome years are just okay while others are wonderful. The last couple of seasons have been wonderful.

      • flyboybob Says:

        A friend of mine used to call this kind of theater, ‘summer shlock’. 🙂 I just saw a story on the national news that Trump’s businesses are booming since he took office. He doubled the annual fee to Margo Lago to two million dollars.

        When he tore down the old Bonwit Teller department store on 5th avenue to build Trump tower he imported illegal aliens from Poland to do the work. He not only screwed them out of promised wages but failed to provide proper safety equipment. The legitimate demolition companies which used union workers sued him and won.

      • katry Says:

        I don’t know why he would call it that. I saw some Emmy and Tony winning actors. It was their way to act during the hiatus.

        The fee was doubled but is now $200,000, not 2 million, but you get a chance to see Trump conduct official business and eat chocolate cake.

        He is used to being sued as it does happen so often.


Comments are closed.


