Traveling Lady: Rosalie Sorrels

Rosalie Sorrels died this week, at her daughter Holly’s house in Reno, Nevada, with her daughter Shelley and son Kevin at her side. She was 83 years old, and had crammed a lot of living into those years. Read her story here: NPR and Rosalie

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

6 Comments on “Traveling Lady: Rosalie Sorrels”

  1. lilydark Says:

    Thanks for honoring Rosilie. Her death fell on the day my mom was born, and I’m not sure why, but I was very sad at her death. I was a fan of Rosilie, and saw her many, many times. I saw her once, years back in Berkeley, and then they had a concert to help Rosilie with finances. When I saw her in SF, many, many years ago, I would go to the Other, a place she performed, and when the break came I would go across the street and have a glass of whisky. Roslie ( who always performed with U. Utah Philips was also playing… but it was Rolalie I had the crush on.
    Sending some purrs to both you and Gracie,
    Lori and the Crew.

    • katry Says:

      Lori,
      Rosalie was the one who helped Utah Phillips reinvigorate his musical career. They played together often, and I know she covered a few of his songs.

      The album I last bought came with her autograph and a thank you. I knew she was having financial problems so I was happy to buy the music.

  2. Birgit Says:

    She’s quite unknown here, I discovered her music and stories when I went hunting for Terry Garthwaite (Joy of Cooking) records back then and found a live record with both of them and loved it. Pre-internet times, these records were hard to find here.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Her legacy is huge, but despite that I think that she isn’t well known here either except by lovers of folk.

      I don’t remember how I found her, but it was a long while back, about the same time I found Jean Ritchie.


Leave a Reply

