“Whoever thinks of going to bed before twelve o’clock is a scoundrel.”

The weather is wonky. When I woke up, it was sunny. A little while later it got cloudy then it got sunny again. Now it is back to cloudy and is chilly and windy. It is 64˚ and the intermittent clouds foreshadow the rain predicted for later in the day.

The black and white science fiction movie I just finished watching was awful, which, as you know, is one of my favorite sorts to watch as I find the awfulness of the movie  wonderfully entertaining. From Hell It Came was released in 1957. Doctors are on an island which is suffering from plague and is the site of fallout from a nearby nuclear blast. One native, the prince, Kimo, is accused of murdering his father the chief by Tano, the witch doctor, the real murderer; however, the real reason for the accusation is because Kimo befriended American doctors. Kimo is found guilty and is executed by having a knife driven into his heart. He is boxed and buried where there is radiation which transforms him into Tabanga, the walking tree stump with the perpetual scowl. He even develops legs. Tabanga seeks vengeance. He throws his unfaithful wife into quicksand. Tano decides to kill Tabanga and lures him, or it, into a pit which is set on fire; of course, Tabanga doesn’t die. His bark just takes on a charcoal complexion. I’m going to stop here as I don’t want to be a spoiler, but I will say the rest is perfectly awful.

I brought Gracie outside at 1 this morning. The darkness was almost impenetrable. The only sound was the jingle of Gracie’s tags as she walked. She stopped for a bit in the middle of the driveway and just listened. Hearing nothing, she moved to the gate, and I opened it to let her in the yard. I sat on the steps to the deck. She triggered the lights off the deck, and the yard was lit. I could hear her as she walked through the dead leaves on the ground. Finally, she was ready to go back inside the house. We went out again at 5:30. There was daylight, and there were birds singing. When we got back inside, we both slept until nine. She is sleeping again, and I’m thinking that’s one smart dog.

My mother and father were wonderful actors. They always acted surprised and thrilled by the gifts and cards we’d make for them. I remember popsicle stick creations like a coaster for under a drink, and I remember making a popsicle stick plaque and using macaroni letters on it to express my love. The letters were crooked and you could see all the glue holding them to the sticks, but it never mattered to my parents. They called it a work of art.

My dance card has been fairly empty, but I haven’t minded. I’m enjoying doing nothing. I’ve become quite good at it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““Whoever thinks of going to bed before twelve o’clock is a scoundrel.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Could anything possibly be more perfectly awful than the part of the movie you related? 🙂

    Today was a total goof-off day. It was probably well after noon before I bestirred myself from the couch, got out of my pajamas and into real clothes. I have not even read all of my digital WaPo. I will blame it on pollen. The laundry is in the dryer but only because the wretched English Sparrows are trying to peck their way through the AC baffles and into my house. I had to go out back to deal with it and the laundry room door is right there so I killed two birds with one stone. Not literally. Not yet. But those little birds are rapidly approaching spawn of Satan status.

    The weather up here is cool and dreary and has been all day. No sun.

    Enjoy the empty dance card and the rest of the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      In the rest of the movie, the female lead, a strong character in the first half, becomes a screamer and says she loves the doctor who was awful to her in the first half.

      I’m still not dressed, but I do have my first play tonight so I’ll have to get dressed, much to my chagrin.

      Damn those sparrows! At least the spawns never tried to get into the house.

      The sun left a while back, and it is colder now.

      You also enjoy the rest of the day. Stay comfy!

  2. Bob Says:

    Last night at 10 PM our power went off in half the rooms in our condo. I reset all the breakers but the darkness in half the house remained. Unfortunately, the AC was off and it was a warm and humid night. My mother in law lives down the block in the same condo complex and she also had half her rooms darkened. This was a very strange incident requiring the power company to make repairs. When I left for work at six thirty this morning the electric company truck was parked in our alley with a cherry picker aloft and a couple of men working on the electric power lines. The power and the AC came back on at about ten this morning just in time for the mid 95 degree high temperature this afternoon. Tomorrow will be the hottest day this year with a high of 98 degrees with 105 degree heat index.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I can think of nothing worse than losing the AC on a warm and humid night. I’d toss and turn all night. I have suffered the other way, losing my electricity during a snowstorm. My house was down to 36˚ before the heat came back on.

      It is strange that both of you lost half of the electricity. I guess you both are on the same line, but it is the half which puzzles me.

      I’m glad you have AC for the worst of the heat.

      • Bob Says:

        Losing power to only half the rooms is a puzzle wrapped in an enigma. It’s a very strange conundrum which causes me to scratch my head. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        I just think they are on separate lines. Sometimes one street away will have electricity while we don’t.

  3. lilydark Says:

    It is hot here, and as you know I always stay up too late.
    Sounds like a wonderful movie. I just watched Florence Foster Jenkins, and I like it. My ears weren’t so sure. Time to do some useless things on the net.
    Take Cood Care,
    Lori and the crew

    • katry Says:

      Lori,
      It wasn’t all that hot, but the humidity was thick. I hated doing anything. Today is cooler and less humid but dark and cloudy. 74˚ will be the high.

      It was an awful movie, and I loved it.

      I was tired last night and actually went to bed early for me. That was a huge mistake as I barely slept. I’m yawning now.

      Have a wonderful Sunday!!
      Kat and the kids


Comments are closed.


