“Summertime is always the best of what might be.”

The flowers are all bought. My trunk and backseat floor were filled with plants. I needed to take out a second mortgage to pay for them, but I am pleased with all the different plants and their colors. The perennials will go out front, the herbs in the wooden deck boxes and the other plants in a variety of pots, mostly on the deck. I also bought one hanging plant for the deck. I am a sweaty mess from pushing the cart and wandering through the flower rows in the sun. I’m not a pretty sight.

One of the things I love about having the herbs in the deck boxes is going outside to snip the ones I need. I always feel a bit like Julia Childs as I snip a little basil, some rosemary, and a few chives.

It is really hot and is already 87˚, which will be the high for the day. It will get down to 66˚ tonight. My air conditioner is on, and the house is pleasant. I have to go out later, but I’m waiting until late afternoon hoping it will be a bit cooler.

I never used to mind the heat, but the older I get, the less tolerant I am of the heat and the cold. My furnace cranks all winter, and my central AC is on now. I have become a creature of comfort. I make no excuses. I think I deserve it.

My plastic flamingo and my Travelocity gnome are still here in their winter quarters. They will be the last two summer decorations to be placed outside. I do wish I had a small band to play John Phillip Sousa’s music as we march to the deck. The Stars and Stripes Forever would do just fine.

I’m still wishing I had a tree house in the backyard. It would be my summer vacation spot. I’d make sure Gracie could join me. The skylight would let the stars in. I could lie on my back and look for the constellations or watch the summer meteor showers. A small heater and an outside light would let me watch the snow fall. That would be glorious.

I do love summer on my deck. Soon enough it will be my favorite spot. We’ll have movie nights. We’ll eat barbecue and potato salad then much on popcorn and movie candy as we watch some great movies and some B science fiction films which always make us laugh. In winter I am a bit of a hermit. In summer I am the consummate hostess.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on ““Summertime is always the best of what might be.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    It has been raining most of the day here but it has been resopnable warm anyway, I have the kitchen door open so Albin can go in and out as he pleases, it will be closed if the heavy rians comes again.

    I have problems with heat now days but I think it’s mostly because it is so hot at my work place. I don’t mind cold weather that much though as long as it doesn’t snow 🙂

    It would be nice to grill something and to have potato sald too, well I can always buy a grilled chicken and potato salad in the grocery store on my way home one day 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We will have the same heat tomorrow then it will cool down, be more seasonable. It may rain on Friday.

      I lived in the hottest part of Ghana and didn’t mind all that much. I was young back then. Now I just love the air conditioner and wonder how I lived without it.

      I too can buy a roasted chicken and a variety of salads and sometimes I do for myself. I never mind throwing something on the grill. It keeps the kitchen cooler and tastes great.

      Have a wonderful evening!

  2. Beto Says:

    We’re have a wonderful start to summer here on the Edwards Plateau outside Austin. Cool enough at night to sleep with the windows open and a breeze that is very cool throughout the day.
    This is a sweet convenience since I retired March 17th and am trying to get the farm workable again.
    It’s a huge boon to the birds having me here all day patrolling the bird sanctuary and keeping the watering holes in trim. There are so many more song birds this year.
    Part of my current effort is to completely clear out the barn and build a new one. In pulling out all the contents and organizing them I’ve created a theme park for the birds and they spend a great deal of time exploring these strange objects and playing amongst the jetsam. Retirement is good for me. My blood pressure has returned to normal and I’ve lost 10 pounds.
    A tree house sounds wonderful, you’ve inspired me to do that too. I wish you godspeed and earnest help in getting that accomplished. I’ll build one with parts of the barn that would have otherwise been abandoned.

    • katry Says:

      Beto,
      I wish I had carpentry skills and could build my own tree house. I do envy you your skills and the old barn wood.

      I love windows opened at night. I get to hear all the night sounds of frogs and insects. Every now and then I hear an owl. My windows face north and west so there isn’t usually a breeze. All summer the breeze is from the south which makes my deck a wonderful spot. It is off the second floor so it is high in the air. If there is any breeze, the deck gets it and it keeps away the bugs. (I have a walk in cellar which means the back of my house is 3 stories.)

      You have a wonderful retirement project: getting the farm workable again. I have an herb garden and a small vegetable garden. I love watching my tomatoes, cucumbers, and peppers grow. Nothing tastes better than homegrown tomatoes.

      I love being retired. It has been nearly 13 years. It was a convergence of serendipitous events which gave me an early retirement. It is wonderful that you are loving being retired. I worked 50 or so hours a week at a career I loved, but it took me no time at all to love retirement more.

  3. Bob Says:

    Summer is here this week with clear skies and high temperatures in the mid 90s. It’s too hot here for any outside activities past nine in the morning if you are older than ten or eleven. When I was a kid here in elementary school we played outside all morning and all evening while spending the middle of the day and afternoons at the pool.

    I’m so glad that I don’t have to plant flowers or take care of the grass, shrubs or trees. I can kill anything that grows except weeds.:-)

    • katry Says:

      Bob.
      Opening my deck is the official start of summer for me. Today, though, was more like August than June.

      I never noticed the heat when I was a kid. We played outside, rode bikes and never minded the heat, didn’t really notice it.

      My deck flowers look lovely. The over the deck rail wooden boxes are filled with herbs. Clay pots of various sizes are on other parts of the rail. I have a beautiful hanging plant. They all make the deck look festive.

      I just write the checks for all the outside stuff.

  4. Coleen Says:

    This has been some spring…I was wearing a jacket til nearly June first and now I roasted today in the 95 degree heat. Mama Nature cannot make up her mind.

    I tell people I am semi-retired. The little weekly keeps me out and about and engaged. I could never sit and do nothing…not my style.

    A pre-made roasted chicken w/ potato salad sounds divine…

    Waving,

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Coleen,
      Last week I was so cold I put on the heat. I think Mother Nature is a bit of a sadist or she is taking the mother bit too far and punishing us for something we did or said.

      I never thought I’d enjoy doing nothing, but I do. The best part is there is no guilt.

      That is a perfect summer meal!

      Waving back,
      Kat


Leave a Reply

