Summer: War

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

2 Comments on “Summer: War”

  1. im6 Says:

    This is probably my very favorite “summer” song of all time (I know, I know, Hedley, you were thinking it would be something by The Beach Boys). I can’t even explain why this song speaks to me the way it does. There’s just something about the laziness of it — the way it sort of flows along like an inner tube on a river; not in a hurry to get anywhere in particular. Anyway, I guess hearing it means the season has officially begun for me. Not that I need a song to tell me since the weather outside should give me plenty of clues. It’s supposed to be 95º tomorrow and my air conditioners are already using up electricity like crazy (there’s no quenching the thermostats’ thirst for more and more power!). I guess I shouldn’t complain ’cause I don’t know how we managed without them when I was a kid. Before we got our first water-cooled window unit, sleep was near-impossible. And I don’t even want to think about school. How on earth did we manage to learn a single thing in those hot classrooms — and how did our teachers not kill a student or two under such conditions? I guess I’m getting soft.

    • katry Says:

      im6,
      I have to admit I would have thought it was something by The Beach Boys, but I totally understand why it is this song. The rhythm of the music gets my shoulders swaying and my feet moving. It is most decidedly a beat which screams summer and invites doing nothing but lazing around on the deck or in a hammock.

      My air conditioner is also on full tilt. It was in the high 80’s today, far too hot for this time of year. Boston is in the middle of a heat wave: 90˚ or above three days in a row. The heat will last one more day.

      In Ghana, it was usually high 90’s to over 100˚ where I lived. I had no hot water so I’d take my cold shower before bed and not dry off. I’d run inside and go to sleep. It was like having a skin air conditioner.

      We didn’t usually get really too hot in June so we all survived.

      FYI: the ballpark at the beginning is Fenway. Baseball is another summer wonder.


Comments are closed.


