“Sunday, the day for the language of leisure.”

The heat is here. It is already 80˚ and it isn’t even noon. Just last week we were complaining about the cold, and now we’ve in the middle of our comeuppance, compliments of Mother Nature. The next two days will also be hot until Wednesday when the 60’s return so we can complain about the cold all over again.

The first thing I heard this morning when I was taking Gracie out was the sound of a bouncing ball. One of the kids down the street was shooting hoops. He was all by himself.

Every Sunday my neighbor barbecues. The meat is either chicken wings or kielbasa, which he buys at the Brazilian butcher. The kielbasa is delicious and quite different from the kielbasa the grocery store sells. My neighbor usually yells hello from his deck and invites me over. I always say no as Sunday is game night. I figure my next trip to Hyannis will include a stop at the Brazilian butcher.

Flowers are postponed until tomorrow. I’m going to stay home with Gracie. She ate yesterday and held it down but isn’t hungry today except for treats. I’m thinking she’s maybe taking me for a ride.

My grandnephew turned five yesterday. When he was asked what he wanted to do for his birthday, he said pan for gold. His mother, my niece, had no idea where that came from, maybe TV was her guess, but they did find a place, it is Colorado after all, which included a tour of the gold mine, panning in the river and then pizza at the restaurant. My sister, the grandmother, said it was the best time, and the pizza was to die for. Nobody found any gold.

I bought a variety pack of cereals the other day. I remembered them from when I was a kid. The boxes opened along the perforations on the top and then the box became a bowl.  I always thought it was kind of neat.

I’ve dubbed today a lazy day. I’ll take my shower but that is the extent of my exertions. I’m thinking a nap. Sunday seems to lend itself to napping.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Sunday, the day for the language of leisure.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I can’t be much else than lazy today because it has been raining most of the day, I wasn’t lazy in the morning though when I did the laundry but for the rest of the day.

    Albin walks to the doors, takes a look outside and sighs. Runs out for a minute or so and then wants to go indoors again 🙂 Sune doesn’t care about the rain at all, if he’s outside I have to call for himn to go inside again 🙂 Nova sleeps in the sofa 🙂

    Barbequing doesn’t seem to be big inthis village. I do like it but am just too lazy to do it I guess 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I haven’t done anything except clean up a few computer files. My laundry isn’t enough to need washing. maybe later in the week.

      Gracie doesn’t mind a little rain, but she backs away from the door if the rain is heavy. I once tried to use an umbrella, and it scared her.

      I always figure barbecue is easy. Throw the meat on the grill, turn it a couple of times, and it’s done. Around here, summer is barbecue time.

      Enjoy the afternoon!

  2. flyboybob Says:

    We in Texas decided to send you an early heatwave. 🙂 There was a popular song titled, “We’re Having a Heatwave”. I hope you enjoy a little taste of August in June.

    I enjoy eating at a Brazilian barbecue or steakhouse called a churrascaria. They bring the meat on skewers and the waiters slice the portions onto your plate. They are all you can eat restaurants including a huge salad buffet. They are a carnivore’s delight. Every time I travel to Sao Paulo I have my colleagues take me to a churrascatria. On my last trip one of the instructors suggested we go to a very fancy one called Fogo de Chão. I laughed because we have one in Dallas called Fogo de Chão. They are a chain restaurant owned by a Brazilian with a location in every major U.S. city. 🙂 Instead we went to a locally owned churrascatria.

    I liked the variety package of cereals except that they usually have one or two cereals that I don’t like. I would love a variety package of Rice Krispies and Corn Flakes. I’m not fond of the really sweet cereals any longer. I totally dislike shredded wheat. It’s like eating wood chips.

    Here it’s clear today and the temperature is going to top out at only a cool 89 degrees.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      No thanks for the heat. The only good thing is we will be around 10˚ cooler than the Boston area. I love this song, and I love Ella.

      We have a Brazilian barbecue restaurant in Hyannis, and I have been there several times. I also love the buffet, and they have the best squash bisque soup. There are always plantains which make me quite happy. I usually have a few Brazilian drinks as well. I think the only meat I turn down is liver.

      I agree about Shredded Wheat which just happens to be one of the cereals.That I’ll throw out for the birds. I love both the cereals you mention.

      I don’t have the AC on yet as the sun hasn’t hit this part of the house yet.

      • Bob Says:

        Of course you will be cooler than Boston. You are sourounded on two sides by water and you don’t have the urban heat island.

        I eat everything in a Brazilian steakhouse. In Brazil they serve the hump from a Brahman cow which is considered a delicacy but I didn’t like it. 😦

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        That we were 14 degrees cooler is what was the surprise. Usually, it is five or so. I know we are warmer in winter and cooler in summer.

        I’d pass up the hump of the cow.

  3. Hedley Says:

    I have been dodging KTCC, my beloved TIgers have poodled in to Funway Park and……well it isn’t good. Bring it Kat, we haven’t shown up and I will take the burn……

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      There it was the two best pitchers in the American League going head to head. Who would reign triumphant and who would throw 108 pitches in five innings? Hmmmm

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I didn’t know they still made those perforated boxes. I remember trying to eat cereal out of them years ago. Okay as long as you didn’t add milk. 🙂
    Piki Dog gets that thing where the only food that will stay down (or just go down in the first place) is treats or any of my food. He’s usually taking me for a ride.
    It wasn’t too bad here yesterday as the clouds came in. It was in the 90’s but didn’t feel that bad. There was a nice breeze so it felt cooler in the shade. The back yard was very nice except for the bugs.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I didn’t know either and was surprised when I saw them in the market. I never had much trouble adding milk but they weren’t made for drinking what milk was left.

      Gracie and Piki Dog are smart pooches. Miss Gracie had chicken this morning and left not a piece or a drop of broth. I do have one piece of chicken I can poach but I’m hoping she’ll want to eat her dog food as it is chicken stew.

      I haven’t done a whole lot outside. Poor Skip has been working there today since 9. He said he has about an hour of work left. The pots with the herbs look great.

      Stay cool!


Comments are closed.


