“A flower blossoms for its own joy.”

Summer has arrived. Today is already a lovely day with lots of sun giving lots of heat. It will be in the low 70’s here. This room is still dark and cool as the sun hasn’t yet worked its way around the house. I went out earlier and needed to turn on the car’s AC as Gracie was with me. I left it on when I stopped. She threw up all of yesterday’s food so I was hoping to find something to entice her. I bought a frozen dog treat but she didn’t want it. I gave it to the dog in the next car, and he licked every bit of it. I know she is hungry as she keeps checking her dish,  but I can’t find anything she wants. The lady whose dog ate the frozen treat suggested tuna dog treats. I came home and checked the recipe on-line. I just have to go and buy the tuna. I’ll try anything.

It is a noisy Saturday. I can hear lawn mowers from all over the neighborhood, no kids though. I wonder where they are. I’m guessing baseball and t-ball.

A warm, summer Saturday is about the best of all days. It invites us outside to enjoy the weather. It is a day meant for sitting on the deck to enjoy the warmth tempered by a slight breeze. Inside the house can stay dusty, and the laundry can wait a day or two or even more. I know that from experience.

My deck is still closed. The furniture covers got soaked the other night so yesterday I emptied the water caught in the folds. The deck floor is covered with leaves and debris from that last storm. My factotum, Skip, is coming Monday. I have a long list for him to do. He has to clean out the shower as it is filled with the gnawed pieces of pinecones. I still see the spawn of Satan around that shower. He is in for a rude awakening.

The exterminator came back yesterday to plug the mouse holes around the foundation. He figured by now the mice would have moved to a more exalted place, and the cellar does have a peculiar odor. I’m thinking dead mice or decomp as they call it on TV.

I still have flowers to buy before Skip comes, at least the deck flowers. I always think flower shopping is about the best of all shopping sprees. I just can’t help myself and always load the cart. Flowers are intoxicating.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““A flower blossoms for its own joy.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I do hope the tuna treats works! I also hope she can keep what she has eaten!

    We’ve had a really wonderful summer day here too and I’m not surprised, I have been working all day so why should it be bad weather 🙂 The dogs and I were outside on my breaks though and listened to the seagulls and swallows when they flew over our heads 🙂

    I will actually buy some flowers too this year, lots of what I did sow froze to death one night when it was nasty cold so I have very little growing in some flower beds, one can never have too many flowers 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is now hot, 77˚. I turned on the AC as the house got hot while I was out.

      I called the vets who said to give her some new pills, one for antacid and the other to stimulate appetite. We’re going to hope t these work. If not, I’m supposed to bring her into the vets on Monday.

      I agree. One can never have too many flowers.

      Have a great evening!

  2. flyboybob Says:

    Yesterday the rains ended and the sky is now clear. We had some real rain storms yesterday morning and I almost thought my car would float away in a couple of low lying areas along my usual route to work.

    I hope gracie is feeling better. Saturday is always a good day to relax and do nothing.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The vet prescribed two more pills: an antacid and an appetite stimulator. I hope they work.

      It has gotten hot here, 77˚. It will be the same for the next two days. Boston will be in the 80’s.

  3. Birgit Says:

    It was a warm nice summer day here too and the garden berries season has started. I’ve picked the first white currants. Usually the old gooseberry bush is first but this year’s spring was unusual.
    How is Gracie doing, could she eat tuna or something else?

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Today was hot, mid 70’s, while it reached the high 80’s in Boston. Right now it is cooler and there is a breeze close to a wind.

      I called the vet and explained that Gracie hadn’t eaten and had thrown up. She prescribed an anti-nausea, and antacid and an appetite stimulator. She agreed that I stop the medicine she got on Wednesday which is also when she started to get sick. After having the pills, it wasn’t long before Gracie got hungry. She ate a can of dog food then she had some poached chicken later. Now she wants a treat when she comes inside the house. I have to give her the new pills for the next few days, but if they work as they did today, I’ll be relieved. Thanks for asking!


Comments are closed.


