“Remember, remember always, that all of us, and you and I especially, are descended from immigrants and revolutionists.”

Gracie and I had two visits to the vets yesterday. The first was to check on her legs which had splayed and caused her to go down on the floor. The vet figured it was due to her legs being stiff after she was sleeping on the couch was so long. She got two new medicines. The second was at 10:00. It was to the 24-hour vet where the entrance fee is $177.00. Gracie had spent the evening grazing in the backyard and had been sick twice. One of the new pills caused vomiting, and I wanted to make sure she was okay. We were alone at first then two other dog and their humans joined us. One of the dogs had been attacked by a coyote. He had teeth marks on his haunches and his tail. He was especially nervous, peed three times and lapped the floor. It took a while for the dog to calm down. The other dog had had surgery earlier in the day and was bleeding. The bleeding dog left first. He was okay. Gracie got an x-ray, an anti-nausea shot and an IV to help her rehydrate. She got another new pill. We got home at 1:45.

Here I am sitting inside on a lovely warm day, a sunny day no less, watching television. I am watching the Comey hearing. I think I’m hoping for a revelation similar to finding out about the existence of the recordings during the Watergate hearings. Comey’s facts and written recordings of his meetings with Trump are in contrast to Trumps’s memories. Comey is quite believable.

All of my close friends are around my age, maybe a few years older or a few years younger. That’s one thing we have in common, our ages. We grew up in small towns or in cities, both in this state and a few others. One of my friends went to the same college I did, but the others went all over the place. One of my friends dates back to high school. Two are my neighbors, and I worked with most of the rest except my high school friend’s wife and the two friends I met in Ghana. The biggest thing we share is our politics. None of us voted for Trump. As far as I know, we all voted for McGovern. Somewhere along the line, all of our experiences made us liberals. Maybe it was the 60’s or opposition to the war. Maybe it was fallout after Nixon, but I think it was well before Nixon. We were lucky enough to find each other and to become friends, kindred spirits, kindred souls. Sharing politics is just icing on the cake.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““Remember, remember always, that all of us, and you and I especially, are descended from immigrants and revolutionists.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I hope Gracie is better by now! I’ve never been to an hour vet so I have no idea what it would cost here, I guess they just would include it in the price anyway so I never would know the exact cost 🙂

    I wish I could see the Comey hearings here but I will have to watch the news which I now see just started 🙂 Trup would never have won any election over here in Europe, he’s just too vulgar. I think a survery showed that Hillary would have gotten 95% of the votes here (Obama would have gotten 98%) 🙂

    have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I made chicken and rice, but she isn’t hungry. I just hope it is the experience of yesterday. A vet open for 24 hours is definitely expensive, but I understand why.

      Trump appealed to a certain population, and they believed his every word and nothing he did or said was wrong. I can’t stand him. He is a proven liar.

      Enjoy the evening!

  2. lilydark Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Oh I hope Grace is doing better. Yes, our ER vets cost twice what a vet would cost, but sometimes we just have to do it. I’d rather my girl to the ER, than go to a people ER! Yes, none of my friends voted for 45, and I’m glad we have lots of other things in common.

    Went to a concert yesterday to benefit the California RIvers, and there was quite a lineup. Music often ( since I can’t swim) lifts me out of myself and feels great.

    Take Care,
    Lori and the Crew.

    • katry Says:

      Lori,
      Gracie hasn’t eaten all day, and that does bother me. I’ll have her checked tomorrow if it continues. It has been expensive as I’ve spent about 4,000 in the last month. I just hope she gets better.

      Take care!

  3. Birgit Says:

    I hope that Gracie feels better soon and the medicine will help. Good luck!
    Singing rehearsal today, I just read a summary of your hearings and wouldn’t have watched the whole drama on TV anyway. Sure, we all want to see Trump stumble and also get rid of dangerous people like Bannon in politics but it looks unlikely and would Pence really be a better president for common Americans? Less embarrassing but more efficient to alter the state to the worse? American politics are always interesting and important for us but today the British election rules on this side of the ocean.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Thanks for the good wishes. Gracie was so good until she started the new pill. She has stopped eating grass so that’s a good sign.

      I watched the whole thing. The summer of Watergate I never saw the sun, only the TV. If Comey had a revelation, I didn’t want to miss it.

      Pence would be no better with his ultra-Christian view of the world. He is scary in a different way.

      The British election here is flash news.

  4. William Sandford Says:

    Who are the two friends you met in Ghana? We met you in Philadelphia.
    I listened to Comey on radio while working in the yard. No smoking gun, but interesting. This early into his presidency, and Rump is in trouble.

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      You are right, but I figured saying Philadelphia would need context.

      I watched all of Comey, but I was hoping for more to nail Rump.


Comments are closed.


