“Laugh and the world laughs with you, snore and you sleep alone.”

Yesterday stayed warm and beautiful. It didn’t even rain. I was outside reading for a while in the sun, and before I came inside, I emptied the water from the deck furniture covers so they’d dry and be ready to store for the summer. Today is just as lovely as yesterday, sunny and warm. The tiniest of breezes barely stirs the leaves. I have only one item on my to-do list: buy my garden and deck plants.

Gracie slept well last night. I didn’t. First off, she was snoring while I watched TV so I kept nudging her. She got annoyed and went to her crate where she fell asleep. I could hear her snoring from all the way down the hall. At 11:30, I turned off the TV and fell asleep. Around midnight, Gracie woke me up so we went outside. Other than my house, every other house on the street was lost in the darkness. The star on my fence was still lit and illuminated the way to the gate. After we came inside, Gracie got on the couch and fell asleep. I couldn’t get comfortable so I kept moving my feet hoping for a comfy spot. I didn’t find one: not on the floor, the table or the couch under the dog bed. Gracie slept while I tossed and turned. I’m tired. She’s sleeping again.

I wish I could make things, build stuff. I’d make some sort of ride for Gracie to go down the outside deck steps. It would be similar to those people chairs that go upstairs. Gracie would enjoy going and coming whenever the mood strikes her.

Today is national donut day. Dunkin’ Donuts will give out a free donut with each drink. My favorite is a butternut donut, but it goes fast. I sometimes have to make do with a Boston Cream. Make do and Boston cream seem incongruous.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Laugh and the world laughs with you, snore and you sleep alone.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    We’ve had much teh same weather as You’ve had these last days, tomorrow will be cloudy though and we might get some rain too. I don’t mind but I hope I can mow the lawn before it comes.

    I’ve done my chores for the day and I only have the laundry left to do this weekend and I think I’ll do that on Sunday.

    None of the dogs living here now snores but one of the cats do 🙂 He’s quite quiet though so it sounds rather cute 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      They said maybe rain tonight, but it doesn’t look like it will. I liked the maybe. We have had so much rain recently.

      I decided to wait on the flowers until I know Skip can come and open the deck and my landscaper and his crew can plant in the garden, but I do need to go tomorrow and get more dog and cat food.

      One of my cats used to snore. It was rather cute too.

      Have a great evening!

  2. Hedley Says:

    Did Sgt Pepper show up ? What do you think ? I haven’t played the DVD or the Blu Ray yet and this weekend will be difficult.

    We pick The Prince up at 5 tonight. So we have an action packed weekend ahead of us. This includes my son beginning his relocation back to Chrysler HQ in Auburn Hills. His home in Orlando is for sale and his wife is looking at job offers in the Metro area. He arrives at Sunday lunch time and starts work on Monday

    I look out of the window waiting for vast clouds of coal dust to descend upon our industrial city. Look says I, that must the “Smog45” (cue the Colt45 joke or something) Would somebody tell 45 that throwing a temper tantrum and leaving, creates a power vacuum that can be filled by say the Russians……hang on a sec, I feel a conspiracy theory coming on. I was thinking about the Moody Blues and the album “To our Children’s Children’s Children” ….

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      It showed up yesterday, but I haven’t heard any of it. I did play with that cover which is very neat!

      I know you’ll have great things planned for you and The Prince. He must look forward to spending the weekend with you. You do find interesting things to keep the both of you busy.

      That’s quite a move, and it is happening quickly, Sunday to Monday. I’d be glad to be leaving a Florida summer, but is he ready for a snowy winter?

      I am embarrassed by 45.

  3. Birgit Says:

    Happy Donut Day!
    You can even enjoy mathematics with a cup of coffee and a donut. A cup and a donut are homeomorphic which means that you can reshape a (flexible) cup into a donut and back, think handle as donut hole.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I haven’t ever seen the word homeomorphic before this. Thanks for the definition and example.

      I’ll just imagine the cup donut and eat the actual donut.

  4. Jay Bird Says:

    Do the New England states have a law that there must be a Duncan Donuts every half-mile?

    • katry Says:

      Jay,
      My town has only two and they are across the main road from each other. One has a long, long away drive up window all the way around the to the back. The other only has inside services. Yarmouth has 4 or 5. I forget which. The motto in Dennis is Never a Yarmouth meaning we will be grant far fewer licenses and the town will maintain some of its character.

  5. Coleen Says:

    Hi Kat!

    Yup…it’s me. Been reading your posts but not commenting…I’ve been kinda busy this spring.

    The one who snores in our house is my landlord/roommate. He falls asleep so easily and so deeply, and I think he has a form of sleep apnea. I can hear him all the way up to the third floor. Doesn’t bother me. I was gifted with a deaf ear, so if I hear anything I just roll over…

    It’s been so cool…I wore a jacket Memorial Day. Hopefully it will get warmer…and then we’ll complain about how hot it is!

    Waving to get Gracie’s attention, 🙂

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Hi Coleen,

      I kept following you on Facebook. I’m glad you’re well and have now returned to work.

      The snores can happen after I’ve fallen asleep, but if I’m awake and the house is shaking from the snoring I can’t get to sleep. Boxers are notorious for being snorers.

      Gracie is awake so she is sending a wave back!!

      Thanks for coming!

      Kat


Comments are closed.


