“To be overcome by the fragrance of flowers is a delectable form of defeat.”

The rain yesterday was torrential at times. We even had thunder and lightning. Not once did the sun make an appearance. It was too busy shining in Boston. Gracie and I left for the dump when the rain was misty, but by the time we got there, it was pouring. I figured I was there anyway and might as well get rid of the trash. My sweatshirt got soaked. I decided right then and there I deserved one more stop, the chocolate store, the best decision of the day.

My eye is clear, but I still have to take eye drops four times a day. My other eye will be done June 6th.

The early morning was lovely. The air had a crispness almost more fall than summer, and it had the best after the rain smell, both fresh and clean and smelling of flowers and mulch. I stood on the deck watching Gracie and taking in the morning. Finally, we both went inside: me to coffee and the papers and Gracie to her morning snack. It will be warm today, a welcome change in the weather. I’ve already opened a window.

I’ve got to empty the water in the outdoor furniture covers so they can dry and then be put away. My deck still looks like it’s winter. A lot needs to be done. Plant shelves need to be sanded then repainted. The clay pots need cleaning before they can be filled with flowers, the same with the deck boxes. Placing the candle hooks in the pine trees will take a bit of ingenuity as some of the branches were lopped off during the fall clean-up. Lights on a few backyard trees have to be replaced. They died over the winter. I’m hoping for lots of warmth today, enough to dry everything so I can be outside on the deck reading and enjoying the air. I’ve had enough of the house.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““To be overcome by the fragrance of flowers is a delectable form of defeat.””

  1. Bob Says:

    Glad to hear that you are seeing better out of one eye. I hate to think of having two eyes that one of them is a spare. 🙂

    It’s supposed to rain here today but so far the rain has sourounded the DFW Metroplex. I have no idea what a Metroplex is but the traffic is getting worse every day. They can’t widen the freeways fast enough to accommodate all the new residents moving int town to work for companies lite Toyota, Amazon and many others. No State Income Tax and mild winters are big draws to businesses.

    Thank goodness I don’t have to deal with plants any more. I have a purple thumb and any growing thing I touch immediately dies. I had trouble in the 80s, when house plants were the rage, keeping a cactus alive. Living in a condo someone else takes care of things.

    Yet another warm, cloudy, humid day with a chance of storms.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Both eyes have the same problem that the laser repairs. It didn’t hurt but what I saw was weird, like warp drive in red instead of white.

      Today stayed beautiful and warm. It will go down to the high 50’s tonight, but I like cool nights for sleeping.

      Traffic last Monday leaving the cape was backed up for miles and miles, to exit 9 which is a mid-cape exit. The weekend traffic will get back both Saturday and Sunday.

      My front garden has some bare spots so I need plants to cover the spaces. I buy perennials and like ones which seed themselves. I have a list.

      It was quite a change not to have rain.

      • Bob Says:

        Today we have joined only two countries, Syria and Nicaragua, in not being a part of the Paris agreement on climate change. Sadly all those future jobs and businesses involved in the clean energy business will be created in places like China and Europe and not here. Of course we will have all those coal mining jobs as Trump promised to make coal King. 😦

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Don’t forget: he’s the president of Pittsburg, not Paris. What an idiot!

  2. olof1 Says:

    Much the same weather here yesterday but the thunder stayed on the other side of the county. Today the sun has been shining all day and it is quite wonderful, the kitchen door is open and Albin can go in and out as he pleases 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I wish Gracie would go out but the steps outside the door are difficult for her, and she won’t go down the stairs into the yard. She goes out when I take her, every couple of hours.

      Enjoy your evening!

  3. Birgit Says:

    We’ve had nice sunny garden weather here today. I finally mowed the lawn except for spots where weeds are still in bloom, food for bumblebees and other insects. Who needs a perfect green lawn, it’s mostly dead and boring.
    I’m glad to read that your eye treatment was successful, good luck with the other one. Have a nice deck time!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      The deck was wonderful. It was nice and warm. Gracie even stayed in the shade. I got to open windows today. The house smells fresh.

      I’m bad with the eyedrops. I seem to hit my cheek more than my eye.


Comments are closed.


