“An optimist is a fellow who believes a housefly is looking for a way to get out.”

We have some blue sky and a sun which can’t quite make up its mind about coming or going. It is also chilly, not a morning chill: it’s just cold.

My dance card is empty today. I do have some Gracie stuff to wash but nothing else. Yesterday’s amazing spurt of industry has left me with nothing needing doing except to put my banners and flags on the fence.

The lawns are green and lush from the rain. Even the leaves seem to glint in the sun which seems to have made up its mind and is staying for the duration. I’ll go on the deck later and empty the water from the furniture covers hoping they’ll dry so they can be put away for the season. Next week is buy my flowers and open the deck week.

My neighborhood is eerily quiet for a Saturday. Once in a while the dogs across the street bark but usually at Grace and me walking to my backyard. I don’t know where all the kids are, but I’m glad they’re missing. I’m happy for the peaceful morning.

My around the house cozy pants have permanent creases from sitting down when I wear them. One crease has given way. I didn’t figure sewing it would work as it wasn’t torn so I did the next best thing. I duct taped the worn area.

Some of the best things I learned in Ghana were to make-do, throw nothing away and repurpose. Tires became soles of shoes and sandals. Beer bottles were filled with palm oil or groundnut oil for sale in the market. Cones made from newspapers held rice for sale. In the butcher’s market, newspapers were used to wrap meat being sold. That mightn’t sound all that healthy, but the butcher’s market was filthy anyway. Newspapers might have been a step up. I always think it’s amazing what I learned to ignore or tolerate during my time in Ghana. Water with floaties (our word for whatever was in the water sold in beer bottles ), food from the street vendors or from the tables of aunties (older women) who were selling along the sides of the roads and, my favorite, eating in a chop bar ( usually a hole in the wall with a few wobbly tables and mismatched chairs serving local food) never gave me pause after my first few months of Peace Corps training. I even shooed flies off my food before I ate it and sifted my flour for as many weevils (small worms) as I could get. The rest just became protein. All of that became a part of life in Ghana and didn’t merit second thoughts.

The tolerance and forbearance I learned are forever a part of me. I admit my standards are definitely higher now, but I’m not squeamish about most things. I still flick flies.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““An optimist is a fellow who believes a housefly is looking for a way to get out.””

  1. Bob Says:

    We downsized when we moved into a condo a couple of years ago but my kids and I are still pack rats. It drives my wife crazy.

    When I was a little kid my mother thought running around the neighborhood barefoot was insane. Kids here in Dallas spent the entire summer barefooted while my mother had me wearing socks as well as sneakers regardless how hot it got. I guess she thought the sidewalks of NYC were filled with deadly germs and so was Dallas. We also wore undershirts year round. I think that people raised in the third world have much different immunity as a result of living with local organisms. Of course to my mother’s credit she grew up in the era before antibiotics and the Salk vaccine was at least a year away.

    Americans who travel to Mexico will drink the local water and call their stomach upset, Montazuma’s revenge. My father had a friend who was a Mexican national from Accapulco who would get ill from the tap water here in Dallas. He called it, George Washington’s revenge. 🙂

    Another sunny hot day today with temperatures in the low nineties. With the high humidity it will feel like a hundred degrees. A good day to stay inside in the air conditioning.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We were barefoot around the neighborhood but not if we were going somewhere.

      After a month or so in Ghana, I was pretty much immune to water creatures or food bugs. I did get sick when I first got home. When I go back, I am not there long enough to become immune, and I race to the bathroom.

      No t-shirts on anyone in the summer here when I was a kid.

      I just went out and emptied all the water out of the furniture covers so they’ll dry. It is still a bit chilly even with the sun out. It is sweatshirt weather.

  2. Birgit Says:

    It’s hot! Lazy garden day with a book and ice cream and now soccer on TV/radio and cold beer. Life is good 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      It is still a bit cool though the sun has stayed around most of the day. I did nothing, didn’t even get dressed but sat around in my cozy clothes all day.

      Life is definitely good.

  3. olof1 Says:

    Hot here too so I started to mow my lawn before 9 am today, none of my closest neighbors are at home anyway so I thought I would do it before the real heat arrived. It’ll cool down some tomorrow and we might get both rain and thunder they say.

    Anything is edible as long as it is cooked well 🙂 As You say, the extra is only protein 🙂

    I just watched the löast Grimm tonight, they ended the show when it was as best and I will miss it a lot!

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      My lawn got mowed today, but I didn’t do it, my lawn guy did; however, I did get the benefit of the aroma of freshly cut grass.

      It has been chilly all day. I’m even wearing a sweatshirt inside the house.

      We never minded how many got through the flour. It was just the way it was.

      I thought that Grimm was a great ending. We found out what happened to the two kids and the twins and best of all: Diane was a good guy. I too will miss it.

  4. Hedley Says:

    Mrs MDH and I zoomed over to Bordines at 9:00 am and within 20 minutes we had $200 of annuals in the back of the Jeep and headed home. While the Mrs did the planting I edged and weeded (not for the first time) and by noon they were all installed. We are promised rain tomorrow and Monday so hopefully our timing was good.

    The Prince is lollygagging somewhere in northern Michigan so we won’t see him this weekend. I had promised a trip to “Pirates of the Caribbean” but given the awful reviews I guess we had a bit of an escape.

    The Tig’s are on, they are not doing much.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I wouldn’t go near the plant stores today. They even need policemen to direct traffic. My garden has been mulched but my landscaper said not to worry as it was easy to add flowers. I chuckled that your flowers were all installed.

      It got awful reviews in both my papers.

      The Sox are just starting, an odd hour for one of their afternoon games. They are hoping for their sixth in a row.

      Gracie had the best day. She was her cheeky self and was running in the yard.


Comments are closed.


