“I’ve buried a lot of my laundry in the back yard.”

Okay, it’s raining yet again and is supposed to rain all day.  I have to go out to do an errand, but I’m used to the rain, and I’m used to getting wet. The trips Gracie and I make to the backyard are despite the rain. As for me, I’d like a bit of sun.

I did it!! I finally did my laundry. The bag has been leaning against the cellar door for a week or more and was beginning to overflow. What forced the issue, though, was the need for undergarments. Already this morning, I’ve emptied the dryer of clothes from two weeks ago, have a load in the dryer and another in the washer. I’m expecting applause.

TCM has Creature Feature every Thursday and most films are old black and whites. The first film last night was Cosmic Monsters, released in 1957. According to Wikipedia, it was notably unsuccessful at the box office but became something of a cult film due to television. The special effects are forgettable. The monsters are giant insects from Planet X. I loved the shadow effect of their legs on the closed shade of the schoolhouse. The teacher screamed. Of course, she did. Right now I’m watching The Wasp Woman. I figure the title gives away the plot. She is injected with a wasp chemical and turns murderous, all in an attempt to look younger. I have one movie left to watch: The Killer Shrews.

The best thing about sleeping on the couch is I don’t have to make my bed. I fold the sheet and the afghan, put the pillows back on the couch, and I’m done.

This morning Maddie and Gracie drove me crazy. Maddie kept meowing and Gracie was just as restless. I fed both of them, gave each of them a treat, refreshed their water, patted the cat and took Gracie outside. Finally, they both went down for their morning naps. The house is quiet except for the background music from the Wasp Woman.

Peapod is coming tonight. My larder will be filled. Rejoice!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““I’ve buried a lot of my laundry in the back yard.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    The Killer Shrews seems to be a great movie to watch on a rainy day 🙂 🙂 I’ve just read about it on Wikipedia 🙂

    Sunny and just enough warm again today but Your rainy weather will arrive to us already on Sunday, we might get both rain and thunder they say but not much of either.

    Albin is a wanderer, I’ve forgotten to blockthe gate properly a couple of times now and every time Albin has taken a walk 🙂 He comes back as soon as I call for him though, I guess he mostly walk through my two neighbors gardens 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I just got back from my errands, am waiting for a late lunch delivery then it will be time to watch.

      It is really a damp, chilly day.

      Gracie used to get out the front door when people weren’t careful. She would go to anybody but me. I’d call and call. My friend down the street would walk out and Gracie would go right to him. I could have killed her when she did that.

      Enjoy your weekend!

  2. Bob Says:

    I have the opposite problem, too much sun. Yesterday my boss had the entire team out to his ranchett for team building exercises including a barbecue lunch and a beer/wine happy hour. He lives on a ten acre spread with three horses, a donkey, three dogs and two goats. One goat is a fainting goat. Unfortunately, it didn’t faint for us. He has a small lake with a dock, a kennel and a stable. T was fun to visit his place but I enjoy viewing the great outdoors from the air conditioned great indoors. 🙂

    The exercises were mildly physical in the afternoon heat of 89 degrees under the bright sun. However, I forgot to use sunscreen on my face, my nose, forehead, cheeks and forearms which today are as red as lobsters. Ugh.

    The company chartered a bus which took us out and brought us back to the training center which took an hour each way. I don’t know how much positive effect on our team the team building exercises accomplished but we got today off to allow us to recuperate over the holiday weekend.

    Today the temperature will probably top out at 95 degrees and summer is still a month away.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I think the sun would have to identify itself to me. I like his ranch and his fainting goat. I remember the first time I heard about fainting goats and didn’t believe it.

      I burn so easily I slather any visible part of my body. Day to day in Ghana I didn’t ever get burned. The only time I did was one Easter Sunday at the beach. I got cooked.

      It is good that you have a really long weekend. When I was working, this used to start my busiest time of year. I’m so glad to be rid of it.

      AC or not, I couldn’t live with the temperatures you get.

      • Bob Says:

        The trick to living here in the summer is to go from your air conditioned house to your air conditioned car. Then, from your air conditioned car to any other air conditioned place or a swimming pool. If you have to do anything outside that’s not involved with getting in water, you do it from seven to eleven in the morning.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I think I would need more outside time than mad dashes from one AC to another. I love my summers here especially my deck time.

  3. Birgit Says:

    The Killer Shrews? Are you sure your mice don’t watch TV? Have fun!
    Sorry for your rain while we enjoy summer, up to 90°F here this weekend. Emergency shopping today because I ran out of ice cream…

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I’m hoping many of the mice have left, but I’ll keep an eye in case one of them watches.

      90˚ this time of year is just too hot. We seldom reach a temperature that high, but if we do, it is August.

      I was going to stop and buy more coconut ice cream, but there was a lie just to get into te parking area. It is a long weekend here, and I was amazed by the traffic because of the weather. It is getting to be hibernating time.

  4. Hedley Says:

    A great big box, brought a great big box, protecting Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band. Much to my surprise the cover art is in 3D.

    It’s sitting sealed, calling me to open it but tomorrow. Bruce is blasting out, and my spirits are lifting.

    It finally stopped raining. I am thinking about planting annuals and the Fab Four and wondering how 50 years went. Back when I had no money to buy albums but friends lent it.

    I got a phone call tonight from someone I saw briefly at the funeral on Wednesday. We had worked together for many years and he wanted to reflect. It was nice. We are both old now but are memories are positive.

    I get pulled back, but I push forward.

    • Hedley Says:

      Are = Our…

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I am always excited when boxes come with wonderful stuff I’ve ordered. I would be quite excited to get a similar package as yours, and I would have had far less patience.

      The rain is still here. It stopped a bit then started again just as I took Gracie outside. Isn’t that always the way!

      I will buy my flowers next week as the plant places will be loaded with people this weekend. I need perennials for my front garden. I am pleased at how many have flowered already.

      It is a wonderful thing to reconnect.

      Sometimes I end up just standing still.


Comments are closed.


