Bread and Roses: Joan Baez and Mimi Farina

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

4 Comments on “Bread and Roses: Joan Baez and Mimi Farina”

  1. Birgit Says:

    One of my favorites!
    When I was young it wasn’t easy to find the Bread & Roses Festival records here but one by one I finally got and loved them. Introduced me to the Roches and some others. I even copied, colored and framed the rose and corn cover which still has a place in my home though the colors aren’t as bright anymore as they were decades ago.
    I’m glad that I got the chance to see Mimi live. Occasionally I still listen to the old radio broadcast recording of this concert I taped back then.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I have a few of the festival songs, and I have a few Mimi Farina songs. I love this, her singing with her sister. It is a favorite of mine.

      I am sorry I never saw her live. I envy you that.

  2. sprite Says:

    This stirring song, particularly when performed a cappella, is one of those that always gives me goose bumps. If you haven’t seen it, it was movingly covered in Pride, a film about how members of the London queer community supported a community of Welsh miners during their 1984 strike.

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, sprite, as I haven’t seen it.

      I feel the same about this song and about this version particularly. Mimi passed away so young, but with this she and her sister are amazing.


Comments are closed.


