“All sorrows are less with bread. ”

Today is glorious. It is sunny and squint your eyes bright. There is barely a breeze. The high today will be 65˚. I’m thinking a perfect early spring day.

I woke up at some time during the night as I was cold. When I checked the thermostat, it said 63˚. I turned the heat on and it started right away. I went back to bed and fell asleep snuggled under a second afghan and warmed by the dog next to my legs.

This morning I had English muffins. I used them to hide Gracie’s pills. She was suckered by the butter. Sometimes I am too. It melts into those nooks and crannies. Coffee was the rest of my breakfast, a blend from Uganda. I had three cups.

I love bread. When I buy a loaf, I try all differents sorts of bread. I really have no favorite though Scali bread is right up there. When I was a kid, I thought bread came only in squishy white except for Saturday night’s brown bread which really didn’t seem to me to be bread at all. I like cornbread which always comes in squares. In Ghana, the bread was sold as an uncut loaf. At stops on the road, women ran to the windows to sell fruit and those loaves of bread. They cost 20 pesewas, about 20 cents. We used to pull pieces off the loaf and eat it plain. My last bread purchase was naan. It makes a good toast and an interesting sandwich. When I’m out, the choices are limited. I usually end up with rye.

Crackers are another favorite of mine. When I was a kid, my mother always bought Saltines and Ritz crackers. I’d put saltines in soup and wait to eat them when they were mushy. They also made a great snack, a peanut butter and jelly or a peanut butter and Fluff sort of cracker sandwich. Now I buy all sorts of crackers mostly to go with cheese. I really haven’t any favorites.

My favorite pie is lemon meringue, and I always have some lemon curd around the house. I also love pineapple. When I was a kid, we only had canned pineapple, and I don’t remember eating it all that much. I don’t even remember seeing a fresh pineapple in the supermarket. We always had apples and oranges and sometimes tangerines and strawberries, always as strawberry shortcake. I first tasted a variety of fruits in Ghana. I was amazed at how good mango and pawpaw (papaya) are.

It was Africa which introduced me to different foods. It gave me a willingness to try new things, some of which I still can’t pronounce, but that doesn’t matter as long as whatever it is I’m eating tastes good.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““All sorrows are less with bread. ””

  1. Hedley Says:

    It’s been a great weekend for me and him. Tigers started fast last night, Verlander was in control and foul balls were raining down in our area..we didn’t get one, although the guy 5 seats down did…next time I think. We stuck around until the bottom of the 7th and then headed home.

    We have had a full morning with the two of us heading to services. He is the pleasure of my life, has been since he showed up.

    Tottenham travelled to Hull for the last game of the season and hammered them 7-1, such scores do not exist, but the guys finished in style.

    50th anniversary of Sgt Pepper is released this coming Friday, my order is in. About the 12th version I have of the record but hey it’s the fabs.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      There was never a doubt that you would enjoy an outing with the Prince. Your time will come for a foul ball! You lasted a long while!

      I think he feels the same way about you as you do about him. I also think he has felt that way all of his life thus far!

      As a late to fandom follower of Tottenham, I am thrilled with their season.

      Sgt. Pepper is most decidedly fabs!

  2. Bob Says:

    I love bread of any kind. I couldn’t possibly go on a carb free diet. 🙂 I can’t even begin to list all the types I like. My favorites include, French bread, rye, pumpernickel, challah and bagels. Like you my mother bought the soft white loaves for every day meals. On Friday my mother would have to take a trip to one of the few Kosher style delicatessens in Dallas to by challah and a seeded rye bread. My parents were first generation Americans so their Eastern European taste brought different kind of foods to our table including bread.

    Today the world is so small that good bread is available in any city. My father would bring back bagels from NYC in the mid 1960s and my college roommate was amazed when he tasted his first bagel, Today bagels are as commonplace as Wonderbread. Immigrants working in the telecom industry have brought Naan bread to the local supermarket.

    Today is partly cloudy with highs forecast to reach the low 80s.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I forgot challah bread which is also a favorite of mine. My mother never served bread with dinner. I don’t think most people I knew did.

      As I got older, I really enjoyed a huge variety of bread. It is bakery bread I really like. There is an Italian bakery in the town where I grew up. They have such fresh bread.

      I think one of the great smells is of bread baking.

      Biscotti is another breakfast treat for me. My mother once made it for Christmas with tree shapes. It was wonderful.

      Cooler today and much cooler tonight, down to around 45˚.

      • Bob Says:

        My mother also never served bread with dinner. However, between toast for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch we went through a loaf or more a week. If I ate dinner at a friend’s house and they were not Jewish or Catholic they always had white bread on the table. Maybe that’s where the expression, “Whitebread” comes from when referring to a WASP (White Anglo-Saxon Protestant) family. 🙂

        The other day I wandered into our local Carlo’s Bakery, the one from the TV show “Cake Boss”. They didn’t have any bread but when I saw the prices for a cannoli or a lobster claw I walked right out the door. They were $5.95 each. Holy cannoli! 🙂

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        We also had toast for breakfast and sandwiches for lunch so I guess we probably finished a whole loaf each week as well. I never saw bread on anyone’s table. Maybe it is not a New England thing.

        That is quite high for a cannoli though not for other sorts of pastries, at least not at my bakery.


Comments are closed.


