“There’s nothing more beautiful than watching trees getting dressed up for Spring and Summer”

Today is much cooler than yesterday. Last night or rather this morning when I took Gracie out around 1:30 I was chilly, taken by surprise by how cold it had gotten. Today will be 57˚ and tonight will go down to 48˚. Yesterday afternoon I had my air conditioner on.

It rained yesterday for about fifteen minutes. The drops started out huge. They fell almost one at a time before they became smaller and more persistent. After the storm, the air smelled of summer rain.

Today is quiet. There are no kids playing or dogs barking. I don’t even hear a lawn mower. Even my house is quiet. Maddie and Gracie are sleeping.

I’ve seen three rabbits this week. One was a bit burly, and the other two were small. Gracie noticed the burly one in my front yard and scratched the door and barked hoping to get out. She didn’t. That we have rabbits tells me the coyotes are elsewhere. That also means the skunks are probably around.

I have one errand today and nothing else on my to-do list.

I hope to open my deck this week. It would have been the spot to be on those two hot days. The furniture needs to be uncovered and scrubbed. The decorations and candles need to be hung on the branches though finding enough spots might be trouble as some of the branches were cut down. The rug needs to be brought out. I have to buy my flowers for the window boxes and the herbs for the side garden. I have to buy gas for the grill as the first movie night means grilling for dinner. The list is long before I can welcome summer.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““There’s nothing more beautiful than watching trees getting dressed up for Spring and Summer””

  1. flyboybob Says:

    Again yesterday we got very little rain and I wasn’t awakened by thunder. Today we are already at 75 degrees and it’s only noon. The sky is cloudy and there’s more rain in the forecast.

    We have a rabbit that lives somewhere in the shrubbery of the condo complex. Occasionally he will scurry out at the bottom of the back stairs across my path on my way to work at about seven in the morning. I wonder if someone in the complex is feeding him.

    I read this morning how well our President is getting along with the king of Saudi. He seems to have an affinity for dictators. That’s the scary part not the fact that he’s an incompetent boob. 🙂

    In case you missed it. Here’s an article in the Washington Post from Trump’s ghost writer on his book ‘The Art of The Deal’.

    https://www.washingtonpost.com/posteverything/wp/2017/05/16/i-wrote-the-art-of-the-deal-with-trump-his-self-sabotage-is-rooted-in-his-past/?utm_term=.f58a45c7d7f8

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We the ca be in the 50’s for a few days. That is about right for this time of year here on the cape. The nights will be chilly, and that’s just fine with me.

      Rabbits seem to find plenty to eat with greenery around. I shooed one away from my front garden.

      I read the suggestions for dealing with Trump, “Keep it short — no 30-minute monologue for a 30-second attention span. Do not assume he knows the history of the country or its major points of contention. Compliment him on his Electoral College victory. Contrast him favorably with President Barack Obama. Do not get hung up on whatever was said during the campaign. Stay in regular touch. Do not go in with a shopping list but bring some sort of deal he can call a victory.”

      He will be served his expected meal: steak with a side of ketchup.

      That article makes him ever scarier.

  2. olof1 Says:

    Just as warm here today and just as sunny as it was yesterday but it will cool down considerable tomorrow. Won’t be cold though but it will stay around 68F, my favorite temperature.

    I did mow the lawn today but it was a bit more complicated than I could anticipate when I started, I’ll write about it tomorrow. Newly cut grass doeasn’t really look especially nice to be honest, it take a day or two until that happens but the smell is just wonderful, especially since I don’t get any fumes from my electric mower.

    We have a few hares here but unusually many squirrels! I don’t think I’ve seen that many since I moved here. The last two winters have been good to them and I wonder what that will do to the birds, lots of hungry squirrels will hunt after them I’m afraid.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      My sister in Colorado had 32 degrees yesterday, and it had snowed for a day and night. She can keep that weather!

      It was in the low 60’s here at the warmest, but it is already cooler as the sun goes down. I’m okay with this weather. It is the usual spring here on the cape. I just need a sweatshirt.

      They never mow my grass too low as that makes it easier to be burned by the sun. I do love the smell of freshly mown grass. It smells so very sweet.

      We have always had rabbits, skunks and opossums. The possums can get into the yard despite the fence but the rabbits and skunks don’t get into the yard. Gracie has captured possums which I saved. They are about the ugliest animals around, but they are tick eaters which is a good thing.

      Have a great evening!

      • olof1 Says:

        Possums must be the only animal that actually likes ticks, I’ve read a study that showsthat not even birds seems to like them but eat them when they can’t find anything else 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The possum needs something given how ugly it is.

  3. Hedley Says:

    The Day is cold, the skies are dark,
    Me and the Prince are going to Comerica Park
    The Rangers are on a 10 game streak
    But their chance of beating Verlander are quite bleak
    I will slug a beer that is quite tall
    Our seats are great with a chance of a ball.
    It’s me and him and if you want to follow
    There will be pictures of us on Facebook tomorrow

    MDH aka Pumpa

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I am quite impressed with your poetic prowess.

      I hope that Verlander shuts down those Rangers so you and the Prince have a triumph to celebrate.

      Nothing tastes better than ballpark food. I am not a beer drinker, but I know a cold brew enhances the experience.

      I will check Facebook tomorrow!

  4. Birgit Says:

    Bye bye box trees. Today I removed the remains of my box (buxus?) trees from my front garden like my neighbors already did or will do soon. The Asian box tree moth reached this region and the caterpillars -who don’t have natural enemies here- simply destroy each bush very fast. It was a popular garden plant, green in winter and perfect for lazy gardeners.
    This year were back to the usual amount of rabbits so it’s nice to see them in gardens or on the streets, no rabbit invasion like last year. Nowadays their natural enemy is the common car, recently I even nearly hit one by bike.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Our menace is the gypsy moth. It eats everything. I noticed gypsy moth caterpillars on the deck and destroyed them all. I suspect I didn’t make a dent. It is awful to have to take down trees.

      We have lots of rabbits some years and very few when the coyote is back. The big rabbit looked as if it had found a lot of tasty morsels in the gardens up and down the street.


Comments are closed.


