“I should say: the house shelters day-dreaming, the house protects the dreamer, the house allows one to dream in peace.”

The house was cold when I woke up this morning. I had turned off the heat so it was only 63˚. Outside is damp and cold and filled with clouds. It will rain again. Right now it is 49˚. Such is spring near the ocean.

Mother’s Day was wonderful. My friend Tony feted his wife Clare and me. The table was lovely. Beside our place settings were cards and wrapped chocolates. My candy was wintergreen patties, one of my favorite. We started with shrimp cocktail and salad followed by dinner: chicken and mashed potatoes and hot rolls. I do love my mashed potatoes. Dessert was a light, creamy lime tart. Everything was perfect except I didn’t win our game of Phase 10. Clare exalted in her victory.

I have despaired of ever seeing the sun again. I have memories which are beginning to fade over time. Gracie and I have to go out today. Three stops are on my list. She will like two of them: Agway and the dump. I’ll like the third: Ring Brothers. There I can get the few items on my shopping list and maybe lunch. I’m thinking a thin crust pizza or maybe the soup of the day.

Gracie and I have to go out today. Three stops are on my list. She will like two of them: Agway and the dump. I’ll like the third: Ring Brothers. There I can get the few things on my shopping list and maybe lunch. I’m thinking a thin crust pizza or maybe the soup of the day.

 

 

I bought my house when I was 29. It came with nightmares. The mortgage was half my monthly salary. Out of the rest of my salary, I had to pay everything else including groceries. I was penurious. Buying the house meant no more traveling every summer, no more eating out and a moratorium on new clothes. It was make-do. I had little furniture. The phone guy came in and remarked I seemed to be living primitively. My desk was also my dining room table. My couch was my bed. All the furniture was in the downstairs bedroom renamed the den. Gradually I filled every room with furniture and doo-dads. My pay went up while my mortgage remained the same. It took five years, but I was finally able to travel again. I went to Europe. I was fulfilling my childhood dream to see the world, and, for the first time, I had a house and home waiting for me. I’m thinking life doesn’t get much better than that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““I should say: the house shelters day-dreaming, the house protects the dreamer, the house allows one to dream in peace.””

  1. Bob Says:

    Every house I bought I lost money on when I sold it. I always seemed to buy at the top of the market and sell near the bottom. When real estate sales people tell that the house will appreciate they don’t tell you when or how long you have to live there. I have told my wife that my next move would be to the cemetery and someone else can carry the box. 🙂

    When we moved from our 3,600 sq. ft. Home to our 1,600 sq. ft. condo we had to sell or throw out 18 years worth of excess stuff we collected and couldn’t fit in the new place. My daughter and I are junk collectors while my wife continually tries to throw stuff out. Eventually I will have to relent due to space constraints.

    Another warm day with increasing clouds. Yesterday we hit 90 degrees for the third time this year.

    Here’s George Carlin’s take on a place for my stuff.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      My house is worth close to 1000% of what I paid for it. The housing industry on the cape grew by leaps and bounds in the years since I bought my house.

      Like you and your daughter, I am a collector. The problem is I have run out of room so, like a museum, I’ll have to rotate my collections.

      George Carlin is right. We all need places for our stuff.

      Warmth is coming in the next couple of days. Today the high was 54˚.

  2. olof1 Says:

    Cloudy but warm day here today and it did rain some after I had come home from work, not enough to make me wet though 🙂

    I was 36 when I bought this cottage but it was so cheap (because few want to live at the outskirts of the world) so I didn’t have to change much in my life when it comes to money and I had everything I needed when it comes to furnitures and kitchen things. I should have thrown away stuff before I moved here because I am a bit of a hamster and never throw things away 🙂

    have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It rained on and off all day until late afternoon. The day stayed damp and cold. Warm days are coming soon, and may set a new heat record in Boston.

      Gracie has been good lately but today she threw up more than I have ever seen before. She looked like the girl in the Exorcist. I think it had to do with all the water she has been drinking. The good thing is she has been dry at night.

      I had only three pieces of furniture when I moved in here. My first guests and I sat on the floor to have dinner. Now I, like you, am a hamster.

      Have a great evening!

  3. Birgit Says:

    You asked for sun? Ours is already sleeping but…

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Birgit.

      I am reminded of the Bradbury story All Summer in a Day. It takes place on Mars (I think but another planet anyway) and the sun comes only 1 day a year. It is beginning to feel like that here.

      • Bob Says:

        The sun is still up there only the clouds obscure the view. Back in 1960 my grandmother flew on a plane for the first time. She was accompanied by my dad on the trip to Dallas for a visit. When they took off it was rainy and cloudy in NYC. When the plane climbed on top and the sun shone, my grandmother said to my father, “I had a feeling it was going to turn out to be a nice day”. 🙂

        My other grandmother flew to visit a year later and told my mother’s friend how much water she flew over on her flight from NYC to Dallas. My mother’s friend told her there was no water between NY and Texas and that what she saw were clouds. My grandmother answered, “No clouds are up there water is down there”. 🙂

        Both of them were born in the 1880s in Russia and technology had passed over their heads.

  4. katry Says:

    Bob,
    I love your grandmother’s feeling about the good day. The sun seems so bright when the plane breaks through the clouds.

    Being above the clouds must have been amazing for your other grandmother.

    The sun is due here starting tomorrow. It will get hot. Boston may be in the high 80’s. The ocean is heating up. It was 43˚ a few weeks ago, and now it is 51˚, still a long way from a dip in the ocean.


Comments are closed.


