“I care not for a man’s religion whose dog and cat are not the better for it.”

This has been one of those mornings. Gracie has wanted out five times. She comes inside, jumps on the couch then wants down and out again. Maddie meows in a demanding way over and over. I finally reached the end of my patience and told both of them to leave me alone in a not too quiet voice. I felt silly afterward.

A nor’easter will be here tomorrow. Meanwhile we’re living with forever clouds and cold, so cold I was surprised by it on my first outside trip with Grace. I was also surprised to see the guys working on my lawn and gardens. They were spreading mulch in the gardens and reseeding Gracie’s dots. The air smells of the mulch.

The other day I watched a YouTube video about Ghana. I think I smiled all the way through it. I love the country and its amazing people. That seems to grow over time. I have been back three times and would love to go one more, an anniversary trip in 2019, fifty years since I started training, or a trip in 2021, fifty years since my Peace Corps service ended. To get there, I’ll have to scrimp. Each trip was about 6 or 7 thousand or somewhere in between the two. After last fall’s amazing trip, I’m starting with almost nothing, but that’s okay. I like a challenge.

I could go to the dump today, but I’m thinking a sloth day. I watered the plants yesterday and that was it, but I still felt a sense of accomplishment. It doesn’t take much.

I watched The Lone Ranger this morning, one from 1950. I recognized one of the actresses. She also played Penny from Sky King. I think the Lone Ranger is the second best dressed TV hero in black and white, following Paladin, quite the sharp dresser.

I remember Paladin’s business card with the knight chess piece in the middle and Have Gun Will Travel across that middle of the card and the knight. Underneath it said Wire Paladin, San Francisco. When I was young, I thought Wire was his first name. When I was older, I found out that a paladin is a knight.

The Lone Ranger and the Indian chief just ended their conversation each with one open hand raised. The chief said go in peace. Immediately Spock came to mind. The Indian’s gesture was like a live long and prosper from Spock.

Gracie and Maddie are awake. My peace has ended.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

10 Comments on ““I care not for a man’s religion whose dog and cat are not the better for it.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    It was a perfect sunny spring day here and we’ve had a book and record market downtown. I’ve just spent 1€ for a CD, a cheap and nice afternoon. Regional elections tomorrow, probably not nice.
    And now back to – drum roll, fries and beer – the annual European Song Contest on TV… Bad music at it’s best. Our ambitious goal this year is not to be last place again 🙂

    Good luck for Sweden, Christer!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      It stayed ugly all day today. I just took Gracie out, and it was cold. I waited in the house for her.

      I love LP’s. I have quite a few and last year I bought a new turntable. I haven’t bought a CD in a while.

      I love the whole idea of a European Song Contest. What fun!!

  2. Bob Says:

    Have Gun Will Travel was my favorite prime time TV western when I was a kid. Richard Boone was a very cool character as Paladin and always wore black. I somehow figured out that the word ‘wire’ on his business card was not his first name. I don’t think Paladin had a first name. When I read your post I couldn’t remember the actor’s name. The miracle of Google and the iPad permitted me to find his name in just a few seconds. 🙂

    Today is another beautiful clear day with high temperature in the low 80s. By the end of the month summer will be here with a vengeance with highs in the 90s.

    Unfortunately, today’s kid shows are really just commercials for toys and sugary cereals. Thank goodness for PBS until Trump and the Republican congress kill public funding. That are convinced that PBS is a bastion of left wing, east coast atheists. So sayith our Attorney General Jeff Sessions.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      It was also one of my favorite westerns. It was my first hero who dressed in black. Even without his Paladin outfit he was quite the dresser. I somehow remember his name. I knew he was on a medical show first which I remember watching.

      We are building out ark. We should get over 2, nearly 3 inches of rain. I’m not complaining as it will be a nice cushion for the summer.

      You are forgetting how many of our Saturday programs were brought to you by cereal. I remember Wild Bill was Sugar Pops.

      It seems that PBS will be level funded. That’s a good thing.

  3. Bob Says:

    Richard Boone played Dr. Konrad Styner on the Medical show Medic on NBC in 1956. I don’t remember watching the series but once again Wikipedia through Google took me directly to the information.

    You are correct that kids shows in our youth were sponsored by cereal companies but the theme of the programs and the stories were not a thinly veiled commercial like today’s kid programs. And I remember that the Sugar Pops were ‘shot from guns’. I always wondered if they had huge cereal canons loaded with grain, sugar and powered by gunpowder. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I remember watching that series. He was rugged looking in his doctor jacket with buttons on the top.

      I tried Sugar Pops a while back, and they were pretty good!

  4. olof1 Says:

    I was up until 12:30 last night after looking at the Eurovision Song Contest and Albin woke me up at 4:40, just after he had womited in the livingroom. That’s not nearly enough sleep for me so we took a long nap after our morning walk.

    It has been cloudy and drizzly all day until now when the sun finally looks through the clouds. We weren’t even close to what they had predicted earlier in the week but it was fairly nice weather anyway.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I do love an afternoon nap. Gracie has me getting to bed earlier then waking me up early. I used to be good until 9 but now I’m up at 6:30.

      It is raining now, but I don’t think we got the amount of rain they predicted.

      Have a wonderful evening!

  5. Jay Bird Says:

    I’m no fashionista, but I’d pick Roy Rogers ahead of the Lone Ranger on the best dressed 50’s TV cowboy, but both below Paladin. Richard Boone rocked the black suit!

    Roy was my favorite. I’d have died if I knew his real name was Leonard Slye! So what’s with teen Penny on Sky King’s ranch? His “niece”?? Uh, huh…

    • katry Says:

      Jay,
      Roy was always a bit flashier. He had the shirts with all the fringe and the decorations on the front across from shoulder to shoulder. (I just watched The Roy Rogers Show the other day). He was the classic cowboy look. I like the sleekness of the Lone Ranger’s outfit. You are so right about Paladin. He was a bit of a fop in his San Francisco clothes.

      Oh, Jay, such a cynic about the uncle-niece relationship.


Leave a Reply

