“Venture out at dawn, when the world is bathed in golden-ruby light and is quiet and forgiving.”

Today is a damp, chilly day. It must have rained a bit overnight as the streets were wet. The Globe reported this morning that all parts of the state are no longer in drought -condition, not a surprise given the amount of rain we’ve had. A nor’easter is due on Sunday which will bring a deluge. The sun is only a periodic visitor.

In my memory drawers, May is always a warm month. I remember riding my bike to school. I remember wearing only a light jacket. I rode under trees filled with blossoms and on petals fallen to the sidewalk. My bike flew. Spring and a bike ride brought such joy.

I have been getting up far earlier than usual, earlier than my paper delivery. I bring Gracie to the backyard and wait for her on the deck. I take in the morning while I wait. The air smells fresh, sweet. The only sounds are birds’ songs. I am glad for my sweatshirt in the early morning chill.

Gracie gets a treat when we come inside. I get coffee. I watch the news and listen for the drop of the newspapers. First is the thud from my neighbor’s paper hitting the driveway and a few seconds later my papers are delivered. They never sit long outside. My morning always starts with the papers and coffee.

I toasted an English muffin this morning and shared it with Gracie. What she didn’t know was I had hidden two of her pills in the nooks and crannies of the muffin. She scarfed the pieces down in record time. Gracie loves anything with butter and so do I.

I saw a cardinal through my window. Its red feathers stood out against the bare branches of the oak tree right by the deck making him easy to see. I need to fill the feeders. I hate that the cardinal was disappointed.

I turned off my heat, but the house got so cold last night I turned the heat back on this morning. It is still cranking hot air. I’m comfortable and warm.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Venture out at dawn, when the world is bathed in golden-ruby light and is quiet and forgiving.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    Yesterday we had snowstorm and today spring warm when I drew to work 🙂 At least it isn’t boring this weather we’re having 🙂

    I’m so glad that Albin eat any pill as if it is a treat 🙂 Sune is more picky and Nove refuse to eat anhthing looking like a pill.

    I do like anything with butter on too 🙂 but I’ve never eaten an english muffin, I guess I better write that down on my bucket list 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      The weather is just so weird. My sister in Colorado got a foot of snow then three days later it was in the 80’s.

      I can stick the pill down the back of Gracie’s throat but it is just as easy to put it in food. She does have one she chews.

      English muffins are delicious. Muffins made by the company named Thomas make them with those nooks and crannies I mentioned. The butter melts into them. They are also good for sandwiches and English muffin pizzas ( small but delicious).

      Have a wonderful evening!

  2. Hedley Says:

    My wheels are still in the basement. I have a rather spectacular new Fullers London Pride biking shirt if the season ever gets going. I rather like the idea of combining beer with fitness

    Big Rick checked in about 3 weeks ago. His winter hibernation does not seem to have restored him to health and he was only vaguely marginally interested in getting over to Stoney. I am ok with that, it was a terrible struggle for him last year and circumnavigating the lake took almost as long as it took Francis Chichester to go around the world in gypsy moth. When Chichester got home, everyone went to the pool at the Tower of London to see the little boat. No-one is interested in celebrating the successes enjoyed by Big Rick and myself

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I think combining beer with fitness is a natural fit. A bicyclist can cool off after a grinding ride.

      I know last year was a difficult one with Big Rick. I am sure he too is upset that your traditional rides probably won’t happen unless you have an inordinate amount of time.

      Mrs. MDH can clap and blow whistles to celebrate your triumphant ride.

  3. Bob Says:

    While you are still adjusting your heat we are adjusting the AC. 🙂 For some unknown reason I am getting up before my alarm goes off as early as 30 minutes every morning this week. A little extra time to savor my first cup of coffee. How do you brew your coffee? We have a Kurig machine so we can choose a different flavor of coffee or tea with each cup.

    Today was cooler with a high of 75 degrees with clear skies.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I have been getting up early. It used to be around nine and now it is no later than 8. A couple of mornings it was around 6:30.

      I use a drip coffee pot and use a variety of coffee but none are flavors like vanilla. The one I’m making now is a Ugandan coffee.

      Today we made it to the mid-50’s. The sun lasted about 15 minutes.


Comments are closed.


