“Our pets are our family.”

Yesterday in the early morning, Gracie and I went to get the papers in the front of the house. I saw a feather on the road and picked it up. It was huge and I knew it belonged to a wild turkey. All of a sudden the gobbling started. The turkeys were on the next street. I could see them from the deck. They were strutting as they walked up the street.

Gracie woke me up at 3. I could hear her panting, a sign she needs to go out. I put on my sweatshirt and my slippers and out we went to the backyard. It was even too early for the birds. Luckily Gracie was quick, and I was back to bed in no time only to awakened again at 6. I put on my sweatshirt and my slippers and out we went to the backyard. This time I could hear the morning songs of the birds. We were back inside quickly, and I surprised myself by falling asleep until 8:30. Gracie slept a bit longer.

During the summer of the Watergate hearings, I stayed glued to the television. I was fascinated. I heard the revelation the president taped everything and the reaction of the committee. I loved Sam Ervin, his sense of humor, his outrage and his dogged hunt for the truth. I remember Howard Baker, a republican, sitting beside Ervin asking, “What did the President know, and when did he know it?” It was a bipartisan committee dedicated to finding the truth. That is no longer possible.

My lawn was mowed for the first time this season yesterday. The air was filled with the sweet aroma of the newly mowed grass. The problem, though, is now you can see the connect the dots game on my lawn. During the early springtime, I took Gracie to the front yard to pee. Now you can see all the dead lawn dots. Sebastian, my neighbor and landscaper, and I spoke this morning. He is going to reseed those spots. He is not happy with my lawn or my front garden. He is going to mulch the garden. The beauty of my grass and yard is a matter of pride for him and me too.

 

It is still sweatshirt weather during the day and blanket weather at night. My heat goes on for just a bit every morning. The house was cold at 3 when Gracie and I went outside. I was glad to get back under the covers.

We have a couple of errands to do today. Both Gracie and Maddie are out of treats and Maddie keeps making her displeasure known. Gracie, though, is willing to take substitutes. She munched a piece of scali bread with butter and ate a bit of cheese then lowered herself to eat a dog biscuit. Both of them are now sleeping. I am blessed.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““Our pets are our family.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    My lawn looks like hell – I sort of yelled at Don in a calm voice, we will see if he gets the message

    Maggie the Westie is going through a good spell and had a lot of compliments on her recent visit to the vet. We are grateful. Our new understanding is that I open the door to her boudoir in the morning and she gets out of bed as she sees fit. Then we head outside. Seems to suit both of us ok

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      My landscaper is the one who brought the condition of the lawn and garden to me. I knew the lawn was bad, but I figured it was a bit early to judge the garden.

      Gracie is still peeing at night. I called the vets who suggested we stay with the current pills for two weeks then if it is still ineffective we’ll try another. She is sleeping on puppy pads but had moved in the night and was off them. Other than that, she seems to be fine. Any good day is reason for cheering.

  2. Bob Says:

    Thank goodness I no longer have to care for the landscape around my dwelling. Moving into a condo relieved me of all exterior maintenance including landscape, pool, trash pick up and building exterior. As I’ve said perfore on this forum I have a purple thumb and doing when my own yard work I killed more plants than herbicide. 🙂

    These days the Congress is so polarized that they can’t agree on anything including that today is May 11th 2017. My big fear is the survival of our democracy. When the investigation gets to close to the truth pointing to the dirt just fire the main investigator and sweep the dirt under the carpet. The Republican majority won’t vote to appoint an independent prosecutor

    Today we had a few rain showers with temperatures in the mid to high 80s.

    Every day that I get up on this side of the grass is a good day. 😉

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I have my landscaper take care of my yard.I just pay his bill. I do take my trash to the dump, but it is cheaper than hiring a trash service as none is provided by my town.

      This is exploding more each hour. The town hall meetings are now bringing up the Russia investigation and want it seen to the end. The republicans have their eyes on the 2018 elections, and given the receptions in their home districts, some are starting to get scared.

      It was cold today, no higher than 52˚. Tonight is down to the 40’s, It is still quite chilly.

  3. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    My lawn was mowed for the first time last Saturday, I think. I happened to see the lawn guys just in time to run outside and make sure they didn’t weed whack the little quince seedling I have been trying to raise since last spring.

    My neighbor has a female dog and he also has the dotted lawn problem. He deals with by telling the family that they have to water the spot where she goes right after she goes. I’m not sure his family is all that religious about the watering part but his lawn is pretty good. Apparently male dogs don’t produce the same dotted effect as females. My lawn is green. It’s not all grass but it’s green and doesn’t have dots.

    Today was not bad. It was mostly cloudy but a sunny kind of cloudy. Now the sun is shining brightly. I have done laundry and dishes and trimmed a shrub. That’s enough for one day.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I never even gave the lawn a thought when I used to take Gracie out there. I switched to the backyard to let Gracie go free and let me wait on the deck for her and I guess that saved the lawn from more dots.

      Gracie is doing well except she is still wetting at night. During the day I get her out enough so she sleeps dry. I am giving her the two pills by themselves first thing in the morning hoping the change in routine will get the pills to work. If not, the vet will try something else.

      We just got the sun. It was late getting to us down here. It never did warm up.

      I did nothing. I should have gone to get a blood test, but I just didn’t feel like doing anything. The last two days I have gone out and done errands so today was a sloth day.

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


