“There is divinity in the clouds.”

Gracie woke me up around six this morning. She was panting, a sign she needed out. I put on my sweatshirt and took her out to the back yard. It was so cold I could see my own breath. My heat has gone on a few times. When I went to my early morning library board meeting, I saw people dressed in layers and wearing hats and gloves. Today is spring gone awry.

The sun was shining earlier, but now the clouds have taken over. The sky is a range of grays from dark to light. The prettiest clouds are the darkest of grays so dark as to be almost blue. No rain is predicted, just a cloudy day.

When I go back to my hometown, I pass houses where my childhood friends used to live. I remember them all. I used to envy Kathleen whose house was two houses away from school. She used to go home for lunch every day. My friend Eddie lived right across the street from the church. He also went home every day. Paula and Dennis lived close to each other about a fifteen-minute walk to school. Everyone walked. There were no busses, and very few parents drove kids to school as most families had only one car driven by dads and gone to work early, too early for school. I never gave walking to school a thought except when it rained.

My favorite lunchbox sandwich was bologna with mustard, the yellow kind of mustard. It was always a white bread sandwich. I didn’t even know bread came in a variety of tastes and colors. Friday was tuna fish sandwich day as we couldn’t eat meat. I can’t even remember the number of tuna sandwiches I ate all through elementary school, but I ate my fill. I don’t eat tuna fish anymore. I still eat bologna.

I used to love milk. It was perfect for washing down dinner and even better for dunking Oreos. I stopped drinking milk when I was in the Peace Corps as Ghana had no milk except evaporated in the can. I have milk now but only with my cereal. The best part of that is the flavor of the milk left on the bottom of the bowl after the cereal has been eaten.

Nothing much going on here. Today is a perfect day to stay home, to do nothing. My laundry finally made it upstairs, and I even put it away. That was my yesterday’s accomplishment. I’ll take what I can get and be content, maybe even a bit proud of finally getting that chore done.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

14 Comments on ““There is divinity in the clouds.””

  1. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    It was cold out this morning and the heat went on a couple of times. The dogs asked to go out very early and I was out there in my pj’s waiting for them to finish up. It was comforting coming into a warm house and an even warmer bathroom. 🙂

    I went home for lunch in elementary school. It was a half mile walk. I forget how long we had for lunch and I forget what my mother gave us for lunch, too. Probably tomato soup from the can along with toasted cheese sandwich. I will still eat that combo. Recess was the traditional carton of milk to accompany the Saltines with peanut butter which were always wrapped in a square of tin foil. To this day I can recall the combined smell of saltines, peanut butter and tin foil. I don’t eat that combo at all anymore.
    FYI: Silk vanilla flavored almond milk tastes just like the milk from the bottom of the cereal bowl.

    I’ve tossed the laundry bag down the cellar stairs but that’s as far as I’ve gotten. The loss of the sun has robbed me of motivation.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I felt the same way as I was really cold. I did go into the house and kept an eye out for Gracie by the door. I was glad to wrap an afghan around me as i sat reading the papers.

      We never had a snack time, and I don’t think we had all that much time to get home. When I was older, my friend and I used to sneak our lunches out under jackets and go somewhere to eat, often the benches at the town hall.

      I think the almond part is why I haven’t tried it. I don’t like the taste of almonds.

      I just took a nap. Yesterday was a tough day with Gracie. She kept wanting out and wanting something to eat. It had nothing to do with her various ills, but she drove me crazy. She is the reason I was up so early after not getting asleep until after 1. She was dry last night and has been all day. The pills must be working.

      I always figure as long as I have underwear I don’t have to do laundry.

      Have a great afternoon!

      • Caryn Says:

        There’s no almond taste in the vanilla flavored stuff. It tastes just like the milk at the bottom of the cereal bowl; a little sweet, a little cereal-y, a little milky. I used to buy it because I don’t use milk often and this stuff could live in the fridge for a very long time without spoiling. Always a plus in my kitchen. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        Thanks for that. Now I’ll give it a try. Vanilla is my all time favorite flavor.

        I also seldom buy milk as I never finish it in time for it to stay good.

  2. Hedley Says:

    We all went to the cafeteria for school lunches.

    The Dinner ladies would ask “gravy ?” to which the response was “two lumps please” – then as generally naughty school boys we would fall over in the merriment of the moment.

    Milk was once a daily government requirement – set out in crates and small bottles in the school yard, Each bottle had a foil top and a layer of cream. It was often spoiled by cold or heat and we were expected to drink this crap. Unbelievably it was mandated under the 1946 Free Milk Act. In the mid 60s Wilson came to power and in 68 he abolished free milk to the secondary schools and we were set free to torment the Dinner ladies

    Two lumps please…..

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      My school, built in 1910, had no cafeteria. I don’t think any elementary schools in town had cafeterias.

      Yup,I recognize the schoolboy humor.

      We could buy milk and candy bars. The milk was ordered in the morning and delivered on trays to the classrooms. The candy arrived in a lunch box, and the nun sold them at her desk. One nun used to keep some in her desk drawer and would sneak and eat some during the day. She once spit nuts on a paper of mine.

      The poor lunch ladies!

  3. olof1 Says:

    Much the same weather here and the same morning. Below 32 but the sun did shine for a few minutes and melted the ice on my car windows 🙂

    We got ,unch in school, it doesn’t cost anything, so I never knew what we were going to have. There were of course menues but who read those 🙂 It was always something cooked though and I loved it all. Most kids complained about the school food but not me, anything was better than what my mother could cook anyway 🙂

    Have a great day!
    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      We didn’t have a frost though parts of the state did. It is still cold and cloudy.

      I always get a chuckle when you talk about your mother and her cooking skills. We had no cafeteria so there was never hot food unless it was soup in my thermos.

      Gracie did wet last night so the pills didn’t take long to work.

      Have a great evening!

  4. Bob Says:

    My elementary school had a cafeteria and I could buy my lunch or bring a ‘sack’ lunch from home. We always bought a 1/2 pint of milk to in a cardboard carton to go with the meal. The one hot school lunch I remember was Frito Pie which consisted of chile with beans, topped with yellow cheese and Frito corn chips. The concoction was baked until the cheese was melted. A ‘sack’ lunch consisted of a white bread sandwich cut on the diagonal of some kind of lunch meat and yellow mustard. My mother included a peice of fruit and a treat like a package of Twinkies or Hostass cream filled chocolate cup cakes. She wrapped the sandwich in waxed paper and put everything in a small brown paper grocery sack. Occasionally, she made a tuna salad sandwich with Bumble Bee brand white albacore tuna, chopped celery, onion and mayonnaise. It wasn’t until I was in college that I discovered the regular cheap gray canned tuna which I don’t like to this very day.

    Today the sky was cloudy and the humidity began to rise in anticipation of some thunderstorms tomorrow and Thursday. The low temperature was 68 this morning and a high in the high 80s. This is the time of year I can drive to work with the AC off and my sunroof open.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I also bought the milk in that cardboard carton, but my school was built in 1910 so we had no cafeteria. I always used a lunch box until I was about in the fifth or sixth grade when I switched to a brown bag lunch. My mother made the same tuna fish salad, and she always used the white tuna packed in water. We had Hostess desserts the day after my mother shopped.

      We have had temps in the mid-50’s during the day and cooler at night. It will be this way for the next few days but no real heat wave is coming.

      • Bob Says:

        When we lived in NYC you carried your groceries home in a brown paper bag. After moving to Dallas the bag became a sack. American English is full of local words that only make sense to the folks in the local area. BTW what caricature lunch box did you have? I had a Lone Ranger lunch box.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I had an Annie Oakley lunchbox and when I was in the first and second grade I had Cinderella.

        We also called them bags, just bags.

  5. Jay Bird Says:

    Four blocks from grammar school, I walked to and fro and home for lunch. Our grade school had no cafeteria, and the few kids who stayed for lunch ate in their classrooms. Milk was provided (5 cents @) The little milk cartons were a stinker to open (still are).

    We who had homes to go to for lunch felt bad for the kids who stayed. Some lived too far away to go home, but others had moms who were widows and had to work. This was the 50’s!

    High school did have a big cafeteria, but the food was tasteless, so we brought brown bag lunches most days. I have no recollection what was in those bags. You’d never carry a lunch box to high school. I think I had a Roy Rogers lunch box for the occasional elementary school eat-in.

    • katry Says:

      Jay,
      I never had the time to go home and more kids stayed than left. We ordered milk in the morning, and it was delivered at lunch time. I also had problems with the milk carton and still do with cream and such. I don’t know why all of the cartons don’t have lids.

      Most of us lived too far away. I never minded eating in school. It was a wonderful social time then we got recess. My mother stayed home as I have two younger sisters. I have admitted that when I was older my friend Jimmy and I hid our lunch bags and left school. We ate wherever we could like the benches at the town hall.

      My high school also had a cafeteria. The food was okay and they had the best corn bread. As it was a Catholic high school, it didn’t get a lot from the government but they did get makings for the corn bread.

      In the 4th grade, I had a plaid lunch box and my friend Maryalyce had the same one. She used to switch boxes, but I always knew as I had great lunches, and she didn’t.


Comments are closed.


