“There are only ten minutes in the life of a pear when it is perfect to eat.”

My patience is exhausted so I’m putting Mother Nature on notice. Make up your mind. Is it spring or isn’t it? My heat went on for a bit this morning, and I had to add another afghan as I was cold. The gray sky has returned, and it rained earlier this morning. My dance card has a bunch of house stuff to do like the laundry. It overfloweth. I have some trash and recyclables which I need to move to the trunk. Tomorrow will be dump day, but I have to get a new sticker first. Be still my heart!

When I was a kid, I could eat hot dogs every day. The best were barbecued, but that was on the weekends when my father was home. During the week, my mother fried or boiled them. When she fried them, she’d make cuts across the dogs so both inside and outside got browned. I used yellow mustard and piccalilli. Toasted buns were the best.

 

During the week, my mother served some sort of meat with potatoes and vegetables. The vegetables were frequent flyers, the list of what we liked was limited. We had mashed potatoes, corn, peas, carrots or some sort of squash. Butternut was our favorite.

My mother made great brownies. They were always frosted with chocolate and sprinkled with jimmies (the Boston/New England word for chocolate sprinkles). I liked the harder, outside edges.

Bananas were my favorite fruit. They were the easiest to eat. Just peel. I also liked them on my cereal though they always sank to the bottom. My mother used to peel the apples for us because we didn’t like the peel. I didn’t mind it when I got older. She’d cut the oranges into eighths and take out the seeds. We loved watermelon but ate it only in the summer. I don’t think it was available winters. I didn’t like the seeds in grapes. We used to pick pears off the tree in the next yard. I think they were never as I remember them being hard to bits. Blueberries came in a pie and strawberries in a shortcake. Pineapples and coconut came later. I think coconut is my favorite now.

I think my laziness dictates my meals. I don’t often make dinner. Lunch is a sandwich or hummus, or something equally easy. Cereal is sometimes dinner. I’m into Frosted Flakes, and I still add bananas.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

15 Comments on ““There are only ten minutes in the life of a pear when it is perfect to eat.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Well done Sox fans

    I am following the story today of the marriage proposal on the Jumbotron at Fenway during last nights game with the Sox. There is was for everyone to see and the lucky gal said…..No.

    Supposedly the cameraman spun away but the happy go luck Boston fans chanted “she said no”, over and over again. Perhaps this will put an end to these in stadium diversions – watch the game

    Earlier in the day Tottenham ran their win streak to 9 mounding the living daylights out of arsenal. We sit second, 4 games left and really rather fun

    SHE SAID NO, SHE SAID NO

    • Hedley Says:

      Kat – sorry for all the typos but you get the gist

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,

      I love the “she said no” chant. Boston always has great crowds! Nothing better than heaping humiliation of top of humiliation.

      Tottenham is magnificent!

  2. olof1 Says:

    We’ve had a lovely spring day here, over 59F, sunshine and a weak wind. I didn’t even see a single cloud in the sky. They say it’ll be more or less like this for the rest of the week they say but I don’t trust them 🙂

    Besides spungcakes my mother only could bake one more thing, a sort of spungecake bun so we didn’t get much of that at home 🙂 Instead we got it from my mormor (grandmother on my mother’s side). She could bake anything and I think I was only eight or so when I started to bike all the way through the big city to her and I always got something of what she had baked 🙂

    I’ve always loved bananas so I buy that quite often but my absolute favorite fruit is the mango, I still remember the first one I ate and I was hooked for life 🙂 I do lkke apples but I can’t eat them any more unless they are cooked, liker in pies.

    I’ve never been botrhered by seeds in fruits so I’ve eaten them too 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is good spring has returned for you though I’d like it a bit warmer, mid 60’s are perfect this time of year. We’re going to have days like today for the next few then rain.

      My mother baked all sorts of stuff. My favorite was her lemon meringue pie with blueberry a close second. I don’t remember either grandmother baking anything except my father’s mother made a great date nut bread which I now make.

      The first mango I ever ate was in Africa. I don’t think they were available in the US when I was young. I eat mangoes now here.

      Apples come in so many varieties I think you’d like some of them.

      Have a wonderful day!

  3. flyboybob Says:

    When you say barbecue hotdogs what you really mean is grilled on a charcoal fire. Barbecue everywhere else means smoking meat with an indirect heat source, like hickory or oak. To me hot dogs should be steamed like from the push carts in the park in NYC. A Nathans’s all beef Kosher dog on a griddle comes next as long as it has mustard and kraut. All that other stuff that they put on a Chicago dog or chili are just sacrilegious to my NY palate. However, one dog that sticks in my mind I ate at Fenway Park in the 1993.

    Although I know the health benefits of the banana I just don’t like them. I can eat strawberries and every other summer fruit except raspberries and blackberries because of their seeds.

    Clear and warm today with a high of 85.

    BTW she did him a favor, he just doesn’t realize it yet. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      Here we use the word barbecue as an adjective and a verb. Nobody ever uses grilled. It is a regional thing.

      No one around here puts kraut on a hot dog. Besides mustard and relish or piccalilli, the most common topping is chopped onions.

      Nothing is better than a hot dog at Fenway!!

      I don’t mind the seeds on those berries. I just don’t like the taste.

      That she said no tells me he didn’t know their relationship all that much.

      • Bob Says:

        The Fenway Frank is good because of the different kind of bun, the brown mustard and the atmosphere of Fenway park. 🙂
        The Chicago hot dog with piccalilli, tomatoes, pickles and ketchup would only taste good to me while watching a game at Wrigley Field. Those are the only two ballparks that have real character.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I’m part of the never put ketchup on a hot dog side.

        I totally agree about the atmosphere at Fenway making the hot dogs taste better.

        It is a wonderful ballpark!!

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I agree. Mother Nature needs to decide. I had to take the jeep in for service this morning. When I left the house it was cool but not cold so I didn’t bring a jacket. In the 4 minutes it took to get to the garage Mother Nature changed her mind and I had to walk home in windy, cold, drizzly weather.

    My mother did the same thing with hot dogs and so do I. I also use brown mustard and Howards Piccalilli. Sometimes I will use salsa which is sort of like piccalilli. Never ketchup or even catsup.
    Bananas go in the yogurt along with grapes and a handful of cereal. I don’t mind yogurt with things added into it.
    Sometimes supper is chips and dip. Now that’s almost as lazy as calling for delivery. 🙂

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      Spring is ornery, moody. Two days ago was just beautiful. We sat out on the deck for a while. This morning I needed my sweatshirt. It was damp and cloudy.

      I think Howard’s piccalilli is probably more New England, lucky for us. If I have salsa in the fridge, I’d definitely use it. Don’t bring ketchup anywhere near my dog!

      I buy yogurt with fruit on the bottom if I buy it at all. I’m a grab a banana on my way by and eat on the run.

      I too sometimes have chips and a dip for dinner. I always think I am just pleasing my palate, not being lazy.

      Have a wonderful evening.

  5. Sheila Says:

    Hi Bob, I’m Kat’s sister and only chime in from time to time. I call grilling over charcoal a “cookout.” Seems in recent times, people have come to call that a barbeque.
    Kat, I asked Mom once why she slit the hot dogs. She told me it was to keep them from curling up while frying.

    • katry Says:

      Sheila,
      I always thought they cooked better all around when they were slit. Mine tend to curl up even if slit.

  6. Sheila Says:

    P.S. Loved her brownies too!!


Comments are closed.


