chineserestaurant-tl

Explore posts in the same categories: photo

13 Comments on “”

  1. katry Says:

    Faith Tilley Johnson quote

  2. Bob Says:

    I love Chinese food. I ate some wonderful food when I visited Southern China and Hong Kong a few years ago. My family began taking us to Chinese restaurants in NYC in the 1950s. And I thought that the Cantonese cooking served in Chinese restaurants in NYC was the real Mcoy compared to the Chinese restaurants in Dallas until very recently. In the 1960s all the waitresses in Texas Chinese restaurants looked like the character Flo from the TV series, ‘Alice’. They chewed gum and asked the customers if they wanted white bread with their chicken chop suey. There were very few Chinese restaurants back in those days.

    Today, we have our own Chinese areas with several authentic restaurants in each one. There are Dim sum restaurants, Chinese barbecue resturants as well as Vietnamese and Tai. I don’t have to ride 15 hours to China or even 3 hours to San Francisco to get good Chinese food.

    Here’s an interesting article I just found on Chinese food.

    https://munchies.vice.com/en_us/article/the-struggles-of-writing-about-chinese-food-as-a-chinese-person?mc_cid=592fbec9d0&mc_eid=9b40d7eef6

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Bob.
      That was really interesting. I haven’t ever stopped to think about the type of Chinese food I was eating. I know that The China Moon, my hometown Chinese restaurant, picked up their cooks and staff in Boston’s Chinatown. My local restaurant has Chinese cooks though they could be adapting their menu for white people who know little about Chinese food including myself.

      Boston’s Chinatown is also filled with restaurants many of which are small holes in the wall, but they serve a wonderful dim sum.

    • katry Says:

      minicapt,
      I always go to Soho when I am in London. The Chinese food there is quite different than here, and that’s where I had the best Chinese meal ever.

      • Bob Says:

        I would never think to eat Chinese food when in London. I did eat Chinese food in Brussels and it was very different from the dishes I have had in both China and the U.S.

        Of course the British are not known for their cuisine. After a meal of bangers and mash, black pudding or shepard’s pie, Chinese food might seem delicious. 🙂

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        London is such a melting pot of food. It has wonderful Indian restaurants as well. I had Chinese food in Asuncion, Paraguay and it too was quite different. When I was a Peace Corps volunteer, there was only one Chinese restaurant in Accra, Ghana. It too was quite different but the food was tasty.

        The cuisine in London has changed for the better. There are some fine restaurants.

      • minicapt Says:

        Toad-in-the-hole is very tasty.

        Cheers

      • katry Says:

        minicapt,
        I have always been a bit captivated by the wonderful name of Toad-in-the-hole.

  3. Bob Says:

    The only cuisine I dislike is Indian. On my flight to China from San Francisco there were a large number of Indians traveling to India through Hong Kong. They all ordered special Indian meals and when they opened the foil covers the odor of the food made me nauseous. On a flight on British Airways they ran out of the beef meal when the flight attendant got to my row and only had chicken masala curry which I couldn’t eat. Luckily, they had a basket of Kit Kat bars in a basket in the galley. I ate about 20 candy bars on the nine hour flight to back to Dallas. I do like Naan bread. 🙂

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I ate my first Indian food in Ghana. I thought it was delicious, and I have been a fan since then.

      Ghana opened my palate to food which wasn’t all that available at home. I never saw an Indian restaurant in the US until much later. Now even my hometown has one.

      I can understand your reaction on that plane. I don’t know why they would serve a meal with an aroma on a plane.

  4. minicapt Says:

    Concerning the name of the restaurant …
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/J._Lyons_and_Co.

    Cheers

    • katry Says:

      minicapt,
      What a long and amazing history. It seems the Lyons Company had the edge in its number, variety of restaurants, tea rooms and hotels. I would have liked visiting The Corner Houses. They had everything. I especially like that each restaurant had its own music.


Comments are closed.


