“As they say, ‘It’s all downhill from cupcakes.”

Any discussion of the weather is off the table, but if I ever see the sun again, I’ll let you know.

Gracie had a great day yesterday. I did not. She drove me crazy. Whenever she wants out, I walk her through the driveway gate and let her loose into the backyard. At her insistence, we went out together at least 8 times before dark. Dinner is served in the late afternoon, but around eleven, she started hounding (notice the pun) me. When I ignored her, she hit my leg with her paw a few times. I gave in and fed her. Before she got sick, she’d stand in her crate and poke her head out when she wanted a treat. She hasn’t done that in a while, but she did yesterday. I was thrilled so I gave her treats. She was never satisfied. Gracie ate her dry food yesterday, a second dinner course. She used to eat every bowl of it but hasn’t for a while. She did yesterday and ate half a bowl this morning. I hope her driving me crazy continues.

Yesterday my friend made me the recipient of an act of mercy. I have been home with Gracie so my larder is pretty empty. My diet has consisted of cheese, eggs, and bread. I had only one cup of coffee yesterday morning so I’d have enough cream for a cup today. I nursed a can of Coke as I had only one other can left. I told my friend how conservative I’ve had to be. She surprised me with cokes and cream and a package of green Hostess Sno Balls. I was over the moon. I consider anything Hostess to be a gift from the gods and Sno Balls have it all: the chocolate cupcake, the cream middle and a special coconut and marshmallow top which comes off easily so it can be saved for last.

When I was a kid, my mother surprised us once in a while by putting Hostess cupcakes in our lunches. I was so excited I wanted to stand on my desk, demand attention and announce the treasure I’d found. Mostly it was the iconic chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting and a vanilla swirl. I used to eat around the middle so I could savor the cream at the end. Back in those days, most neighborhood stores had a display of all sorts of Hostess products. I loved Ding Dongs and Ho Hos. How can you go wrong with chocolate covered in chocolate? I found Twinkies a bit boring. Every now and then, I’d have a coffee cake but that was when I was older. Coffee cakes didn’t have a taste attractive to kids. Cinnamon was not a big draw. I never ate the muffins and only once in a while ate the pies, always apple.

I have to go out today. It’s about time I gave up being a recluse. I’ll take Gracie. She always likes a car ride.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

16 Comments on ““As they say, ‘It’s all downhill from cupcakes.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    The day started pretty nice but now the rain is back again. We’re having a long weekend so I’m hoping I’ll see the sun at least a few minutes 🙂

    I’m so glad to read that Gracie is happy again 🙂 The driving You crazy is a really good sign 🙂 I do hope she’ll stay that way now!

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It actually cleared here and we have some sun and blue sky.

      Gracie is having a pretty good day today too. Right now she is standing beside my chair panting, snorting and staring. She is driving me crazy, and I’m glad.

      Enjoy the evening!

  2. Hedley Says:

    Maggie the Westie has staged a period of recovery. A complete change of diet has solved some of the more tedious issues. I have changed my routine in as much as I just open the door to her room in the morning and let her get up at her own pace. Car rides and walks are not much demanded or appreciated, but we are going through a better spell

    Meanwhile somewhere up in the Ruhr, the Bochum Belle is celebrating as BD took out Bayern Munich in the Cup last night. Bayern Munich are in that group of odious football teams along with Manchester United, Real Madrid and Barcelona – “I have always supported them, no I have never been there but I did go to a pre season match once in America”

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I am so glad to hear Maggie the Westie is having a good spell. Every good day makes me cheer. Gracie is having a good day, but she is now driving me crazy. I put on shoes, a sign to her I’ll be going out, and she expects to come.

      I am glad for our Bochum Belle!

      “Odious football teams,”I never have seen that adjective used in quite the same way before.

      • Hedley Says:

        Kat

        Talking of odious, Mr MacCartney will be playing the new Little Caesars arena in Detroit in October. Tickets are $250 in the far end of the bowl and $475 on the side. Oh and you need to add the ticketmaster fees to that.

        I guess that I will not be seeing Macca again

      • katry Says:

        My Dear Hedley,
        I am penniless. Okay, not really, but I would not ever pay that much anymore for a concert. I am saving for my next trip to somewhere. I know I decided no more Ghana, but in 2019 it will be 50 years since I started training. So that’s a maybe!

    • Birgit Says:

      Hedley, many happy people here in the Ruhr area 🙂 Unfortunately I couldn’t watch once again, Wednesday is a bad day for matches.
      Finale in May. Without Bavaria Munich. I think the german word Schadenfreude is known in English too.

      • Hedley Says:

        Birgit – very happy for my friends in the Ruhr, now you have a big final to look forward to.
        Tottenham won their 8th match in a row for the first time since 1960 and sit second with just 5 games left. So I am full of hope that somehow, maybe it will happen

        Schadenfreude works for me too along with a beer

  3. Bob Says:

    Today I took a mental health day from work, the only bad thing about working at one company so long is that I have accrued a lot of vacation time. We can carry over one year’s worth and I’m whittling down 2016’s vacation hours. 🙂 It’s a terrible thing to enjoy work so much that vacation time isn’t much fun.

    My favorite were the chocolate cupcakes followed by the Twinkies. The cream filling was the best surprise. I don’t think there’s anything dairy in that cream filling. The State of Texas stopped offering the condemned prisoners a last meal choice. Mine would be a double dose of Hostess products. They are truly a kid version of heaven on earth.

    Today is sunny with nice cool temperatures in the 60s with a predicted high of 80 degrees.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I always loved mental health days, but I faced so much when I returned to work. Administrators don’t have substitutes so the work just piles even in a day.

      I’m with you on my favorite, but not Twinkies. I am a chocolate lover so Twinkies were way down the list. No, I doubt there is dairy. I know with whoopie pies solid shortening is one of the ingredients.

      I think they should have a last meal. What kid doesn’t like hostess?

      • Bob Says:

        I am also a chocoholic and can’t figure out why I like Twinkies. I like Hoho which is like a chocolate version of a Twinkie. Once my spouse bought chocolate Twinkies and I didn’t like them.

        Obviously, the cream in Hostess products is pure shortening, probably larde, which raises the level of bad cholesterol in your blood above any normal reading.

        Texas decided it was too much trouble to order in the last meal requests of the death row inmate. I guess they want to show how tough they are on crime since the last meal requests were published in USA Today of the two guys they dispatched on the same day in Arkansas.

        Texas holds the record for the largest population on death row in the US. We are probably low on the list of total number of executions compared to places like North Korea and Syria. But we are number one in this country.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I never saw chocolate Twinkies. I guess a lot of people had the same reaction you did.

        I figure a couple of Hostess cupcakes or a couple of whoopies won’t hurt all that much. A steady diet, yes, but here and there is heaven sent.

        I figure I am not that surprised that Texas won’t accommodate death row inmates.

        Massachusetts doesn’t have the death penalty. We just five them room and board.

  4. Birgit Says:

    Still cold here and frost at night continues to kill fruit blossoms but spring may finally come back this weekend.
    Have a great day out, both of you!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Gracie and I went to the dump then went for a ride. She had a little trouble holding her balance in the back seat but then she figured it out.

      We won’t get anywhere near freezing until next year. The low has been in the high 40’s at night.

  5. sprite Says:

    Your list made me laugh. I was at the exact opposite end of the Hostess spectrum, because I loved the cinnamon coffee cakes and the fruit pies. I was also fond of Entenmann’s danishes and chocolate doughnuts and honey buns, maybe by Sara Lee? But I definitely did not like Twinkees or Ding Dongs or Ho Hos. Dry and boring, in my book.

    • katry Says:

      sprite,
      I also love Entenmann’s. I think those chocolate donuts you mention are my favorites. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted the honey buns.

      It is funny that my least favorites are your top favorites. I think the chocolate sways me.


Comments are closed.


