Fricanos-crowd

Explore posts in the same categories: photo

13 Comments on “”

  1. katry Says:

    Madeline Oles quote

    • katry Says:

      Gnu,
      I knew John Wayne had a son who had a sketchy career as an actor, but I didn’t know he had a daughter. He did a great sermon!!

      Listening to him talk I can understand why impersonators do him.

      Dean Martin is a funny guy.

  2. minicapt Says:

    Fricano’s Pizza
    http://www.fricanospizza.com/history

    Cheers

    • katry Says:

      minicapt,
      What I found amazing was that they were taking a chance buying pizza ovens as people had no idea what pizzas were. I have always figured pizza pies have been around forever.

  3. Bob Says:

    Growing up in NYC there was a pizzeria on practically every block. Most had a front window which opened up to the sidewalk so that you could buy a slice as you walked by and eat it on the go. Those pizzerias sold just cheese pizza withou any toppings. The dough was soft enough to fold the slice while holding it with a paper and the oil would run down your sleeve.

    I was very disappointed with the very thin crust pizza I tried in Northern Italy. People ate the pies with a knife and fork which was sacrilegious in Brooklyn. 🙂

    There’s a Neopolitian pizza place downtown that uses a wood fired brick oven and specializes in Margherita Pizza. That type of Tisa was first baked in Naples in the 1870s to celebrate the first queen of Italy. The ingredients are the colors of the Italian flag, Red, White and Green.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      We didn’t have a lot of pizzeria shops where I lived. One place sold slices and we would go there for lunch from school. The city also had bakery pizzas. They were sold at room temperature and were square. I loved those slices.

      The pizza places I went to in high school are gone now. The cape does have a couple of old time places, and I usually go there.

      Pizza would have been a great substitute for manna.

  4. GnuFOOL Says:

    Wednnesdat Rock and Rol
    .
    .
    .

    • katry Says:

      Gnu,
      I haven’t ever heard of her so I suspect she had a short singing career though that song was pretty good. I knew Patrick Wayne, her uncle, but I don’t know her father.

      John Wayne has never been a favorite of mine, but I can’t deny his screen presence. The one film of his I really love is The Quiet Man.


Comments are closed.


