“Don’t allow your life to become just a dead ritual. Let there be moments, unexplainable.”

The house was cold when I woke up. I needed my sweatshirt so I had to dump poor Maddie off. She had slept on it last night. Gracie and I went to get the papers. It was warmer outside than the house. I wanted to cheer. It’s a sign of spring.

When I was a kid, my dog was named Duke. He was a boxer, a fawn boxer. In those days there was no leash law. Duke was a wanderer. Some mornings he’d follow us to school. My father would see him, call him and then go crazy when Duke ignored him so my father would hop in the car and go get him. Duke used to visit my aunt and get Sam to go play with him. Sam was his son. My favorite Duke story is when he followed my grandmother uptown. She wasn’t a dog lover. To try and get away, my grandmother went into Woolworth’s. Duke followed. Once inside, he lifted his leg on the comic book carousel. My grandmother was asked if he were her dog. She said no which was technically true. She left quickly. Duke, not her dog, followed right behind her.

I am not a lover of daily rituals yet I have a few. I take Gracie into the yard first. I start my coffee. While it is perking, I feed the cat, fill the water bowl and, after she comes inside, I give Gracie her treats. I drink a cup of coffee with each of the two papers. I thoroughly read each paper though I admit I only read baseball news on the sports pages and articles which catch my attention in the business section. I check my e-mail then hope for divine inspiration when I open WordPress. I have been writing Coffee for 12 years. Divine inspiration is all I have left after all this time.

The rest of the day is open. When I worked, I went to the dump on Sundays. Now I usually go on Thursdays, a quiet day at the dump, but any day will do. If I have any errands, I make a list and do them all in one day in geographic order hopping from village to village. Sometimes I get that favorite sandwich of mine at Buckies in Dennisport. I consider it a reward for doing all those errands.

When I get home, I put on my comfy clothes. The rest of the afternoon is for reading, maybe napping, doing chores like the laundry and if something is going on, watching the news on MSNBC. I check Facebook.

Dinner is whatever I have on hand which is sometimes as simple as an egg sandwich or cheese and crackers.

I go to bed, actually on the couch, whenever I’m tired. I seldom go early. Gracie sprawls at one end. I try to get comfortable around her.

That’s it. That is sort of my day every day.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““Don’t allow your life to become just a dead ritual. Let there be moments, unexplainable.””

  1. olof1 Says:

    I do have my rituals every morning but mostly because I’ll go to work and if I do things different I’ll most likely just mess things up 🙂 They usually go away during vacation though.

    I do like that Duke story 🙂 🙂

    More or less storm again here but the sun is shining so I don’t mind that much. They got snow not far north from here so how could I complain about winds 🙂

    I think I’ll fry a couple of sausages as dinner today, I’m too lazy to bring out any french fries from the freezer 🙂

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

  2. Birgit Says:

    im6 here? Maybe for you too, Kat?
    Pink Martini live on Mountainstage, the podcast is online now:
    http://www.mountainstage.org/archives/Pages/playlist.aspx?playlistid=113


  3. Not that I’ve ever doubted this, Kat, but yours appears to be a truly enviable existence.

    • katry Says:

      countreeshard,
      I have had a wonderful life so far. Sad things have happened like losing my parents, but all in all, I consider myself lucky. I retired early, thirteen years ago. I have traveled to so many places, a dream of mine since I was 11. I was a Peace Corps volunteer, something for which I am eternally thankful.

      I think a good life means being open to so many experiences. It means to learn to live with disappointment and to keep moving.

      I am quite content.

  4. Bob Says:

    Everyone has their routine. Mine is to get out of the shower by 6:15 AM and get dressed for work. I wear a uniform so there’s no decision what cloths to wear. I prepare a cup of Starbucks coffee in the Kurig and read my company email. Then I drive to work. If I was retired I wouldn’t know what to do with my day. My job was my hobby 40 years ago and I still love doing it today.

    • Bob Says:

      BTW Thank you for your posts. I enjoy your writing because we are from the same generation and have a similar outlook on life.

      • katry Says:

        You are most welcome. I thank you too for being such a faithful member of the Coffee family.

        We do have a similar outlook on life.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I had a work day routine beginning at 5:15. I never really minded. I also loved my job but was ready to retire. I didn’t know what to expect, but I haven’t been disappointed.

      Keep on going!

  5. Sheila Says:

    Quick comment: Duke was brindle, Kat. Sam was fawn. Senior moment?


Comments are closed.


