article-2137695-12D9DA07000005DC-38_968x617

Explore posts in the same categories: photo

9 Comments on “”

    • katry Says:

      minicapt,
      I thought it just a bit strange that it was an English paper which published these photos. I was quite surprised they were taken by Stanley Kubrick. I guess I never thought about what him before films.

  1. Birgit Says:

    How many of these newspaper reading passengers would complain today that young people only stare at their smartphones?

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Given that most of these riders seem to be on the older side, I suspect most of them would though people do try to be anonymous on the train, no eye contact.

  2. Bob Says:

    This pic reminds me of riding the E train to work and back in NYC in the 1960s to a summer job. I would walk to the station on Hillside avenue and buy a copy of the ‘Gray Lady’, The NY Times. I never got through the entire paper but reading the Times made me feel like an intellectual. 🙂

    On the way home I would read a paperback book I had stashed in my pocket. Unlike the man in the photo I was raised to give my seat to a lady. My cousin was more progressive. He would say that if they want equal pay and opportunity they should stand just like the men. However, he would give up his seat to a pregnant woman or with one carrying a baby.

    Today I read the Times and the Washington Post on my iPod because I want to read a paper that doesn’t produce fake news. 🙂

    Today was a beautiful day with cool 50 degree morning and a high temperature of 80 degrees. This morning my car battery died and I used my insurance provided roadside assistance to get a jump and then drive to buy a new one.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I never had to commute to work on the subway. I’ve always worked a short way from home. The school where I spent my whole career is only 4 miles from my house.

      I read The Boston Globe and The Cape Cod Times. On-line I read The Washington Post.

      When I’d take the subway to Boston, I’d give my seat to old ladies and pregnant women if no guys stood up. I have to laugh though as the last time I was on the T (Boston’s subway), someone gave me a seat. I guess I’ve reached that old lady stage.


Comments are closed.


