“When I was a kid, we never heard of smog, ozone depletion, acid rain, green house gasses.”

The day is overcast and dark. It’s raining again. Rain always makes me lazy. I have nowhere to go and nothing to do except water the plants, and I’m delighted. The house feels chilly so I have draped the afghan over my shoulders. I’m thinking all I need is a rocking chair and some knitting to complete the picture.

When I was a kid, I didn’t care about the rain. I didn’t care about getting wet. This was always spring vacation week and no day could be wasted, especially Friday, the last day. I think my mother applauded when we went outside, and I remember her gleeful goodbyes as we shut the door behind us.

We didn’t ever have a plan or a destination. We just walked. Our usual route was walking by the town barn to see the horses then we’d cut across the back lawn of the town hall and go uptown. We mostly window shopped. From there, our route often varied. Once in a while we’d walk to the zoo or we’d do the tracks again, the ones near my grandparents. When I was young, the train still ran a couple of times a day. The train stopped at the chemical plant then continued to the station, the end of the line, where the engine was switched to the back, now the front. Sometimes we were lucky enough to b there to watch. I remember putting a penny on the rail so the train could flatten it.

We’d head home when we were hungry or really soaked and cold. My mother would send us right down the cellar to take off and leave our wet shoes. I remember leaving footprints on the floor from my wet socks. The trail led from the cellar door to the living room to the stairs to the bedroom where I’d put on dry clothes and dry socks.

For the rest of the afternoon, we’d watch TV. We’d eat Oreos and drink milk. I was a dunker. I think that’s why I love biscotti.

I love listening to the rain and watching it fall. I don’t love getting soaked and cold. I do love Oreos.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on ““When I was a kid, we never heard of smog, ozone depletion, acid rain, green house gasses.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    I was thinking of im6 this morning.

    I opened my WSJ to be greeting by the headline “Disaster Despite a Diva” and a photo of Ms Midler. T’was a review of Bette playing in “Hello Dolly” on Broadway.

    With some trepidation I read on “Ms Midler’s singing voice is in a desperate, somewhat shocking state of disrepair……..Ms Midler doesn’t even bother to act: She simply comes on stage and plays her familiar self, albeit at a disturbingly low level of energy……she can’t dance and isn’t funny”

    I was thinking of im6

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      I too would think of im6. Your second paragraph makes me sad.

      • Hedley Says:

        I was shocked by the review, but hey its been a very long time since I saw Ms Midler in concert and really wouldn’t head to NYC to see her in this play

        Right now I am on the clock. Spurs play in the FA Cup semi final tomorrow at 12:15 (on Fox) . Since their last final appearance in 1991, they have lost 6 semi finals in a row so I think it is time

      • katry Says:

        MDH,
        I haven’t seen her in a while. I still have the memory of the concert I saw. It was amazing.

        I’d agree with you that it is time, but the Red Sox did not win the World Series for 86 years.

      • Bob Says:

        Just read the NY Times review and they seemed to,like it very much. The WSJ is not considered the source for artistic or musical taste.

        If you are planning a trip to NY to see the show you had better break out your bank book or take a second mortgage on the house because it will be a hit just because Midler is in the lead.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        I’m so glad that the Times gave it a good review. I do love Miss Bette!

    • Caryn Says:

      And I opened my Washington Post to find Peter Marks’ rave review of the same musical on the same night. He said her performance was “pitched as perfectly as a Sandy Koufax no-hitter”.

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I have to go out for dog food and me food. I don’t want to go out and get anything. It’s cold, windy, raining and miserable up here. I have a couple of hours to motivate myself before the dog food store closes. Better get motivating, I guess. :/

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I was forced to go out yesterday for the same reason. I’m glad I did as today is as ugly down here as it is up there.

      I did enjoy the soup I bought yesterday.

      Have a cozy afternoon!

  3. olof1 Says:

    Sunny and very windy here again today, prehaps even stronger winds than we had yesterday. I’ve gotten the exhaust pipe changed today and the winds down here is nothing compared to the ones up on the mountain 🙂

    If the weather was too nasty we always went to my friends home and played canasta and had tea with sandwiches 🙂 We could play another game too but not especially often.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is raining still. I got chilly taking Gracie out so I needed a sweatshirt when I came inside. It is not a day to be out and about.

      I have played canasta only a couple of times, but I enjoyed it.


Leave a Reply

