“It’s just the most amazing thing to love a dog, isn’t it? It makes our relationships with people seem as boring as a bowl of oatmeal.”

Today is cloudy and chilly. We are back to the 50’s with a high of only 51˚ and a low tonight of 36˚. I have nothing planned for today.

This has been a bad morning for Gracie. She slid on the kitchen floor and fell. I pulled her up by the halter, but she was wild and wide-eyed and it took a bit to settle her down. She panted for quite a while. She is now resting on the couch. I have moved the treads from the indoor stairs and placed them all around the kitchen floor and right in front of the dog food and water. The tiled floors in the kitchen and bathroom are tough for her with the slipping of her back feet so I’m hoping she’ll get used to the treads in both rooms.

I am now permanently sleeping on the couch. It is actually comfortable for both of us. Gracie doesn’t have to worry about the stairs, and she can sprawl at one end. The couch is good for my back, and I get to lie in bed and watch TV. The bathroom is close and so is the kitchen so my immediate needs are easily met. I do this because it is best for Gracie. That is the least I owe her for all the love she gives.

I guess all the anxiety about Gracie has taken its toll on me and left me with a malaise I can’t seem to shake. I hope today is just a bad day not the beginning of everyday.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on ““It’s just the most amazing thing to love a dog, isn’t it? It makes our relationships with people seem as boring as a bowl of oatmeal.””

  1. Erin Apostolos Says:

    Kat, so sorry to hear about Gracie’s balance issues. Did the vet say why it’s happening?

    Erin

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Erin

      The vet thinks she has lesions on her brain which are causing the head tilt which is making her loose her balance. She is on 4 pills and fish oil in her food.

      I am very sorry for your losses. How horrible that was. I’m sending a few hugs!!

  2. Birgit Says:

    What ever helps Gracie and doesn’t harm your back is good. Good luck! Is it easier for Gracie to walk on carpets so you could move some too? Bathmats or other mats? Anti-slide shoes/socks on her back paws? No idea what helps, just thinking…

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I so totally agree. I will do whatever I can.

      Carpets are okay too, but I have only one in the living room and she does use it. That’s where she carries her treats and then eats them off the rug.

      The idea of booties has had me hunting on-line. I haven’t found exactly what I want.

      Keep the ideas coming. I will do whatever I can.

      • Birgit Says:

        I don’t know what’s available for dogs but maybe just anti-slid socks for kids like the photo in this blog:
        http://www.stoppersocken.net/stoppersocken-praktisch-auch-fur-hunde/
        (Blog is in German, sorry.) Sock here as wound bandage protection, sock fixed with a grip bandage so the dog can’t remove it easily.
        But does anti-slid-whatever helps at all when it’s a balance problem?
        I hope Christer has some good ideas.

      • katry Says:

        Birgit,
        That’s exactly what I was looking for. The only thing was I was hoping for a velcro closure so they’d stay tight.

        Her back feet slide on the tile floor in the kitchen and bathroom. I’ve moved the water bowl to the hall, and the food is here in the den instead of in the kitchen. All the treads I bought are now spread around the kitchen. She walked on them just a little while ago and got to me across the floor. She now knows she won’t slip. I’ll try tomorrow too so I can move all the dishes back to the kitchen.

        She was just whining so I took her out. She came in and was whacking me with her paw. I gave her treats. She followed me to the kitchen for more treats. That is the first time in a couple of days she has felt safe enough to move around. The treads may be the perfect solution.

  3. Rowen Says:

    Thinking you and Gracie.

    • katry Says:

      Rowen,
      Thank you so much. Today I cried when she slipped on the floor. Gracie has always been an active dog who loved to run. I just feel so bad for her. The afternoon, though, was much better for Gracie. I got quite a few tail wags.

  4. Coleen Says:

    So sorry about Gracie…she is such a dear to you, and your devotion is to be commended. Hey, whatever works…you seem to have it all figured out to keep her safe and happy. That’s how it should be for all she has given you!

    Waving with love,

    Coleen

    • katry Says:

      Coleen,
      My kitchen floor is pretty well covered now, and earlier tonight Gracie walked on the treads to get to me and the treat I was holding. I’m hoping to move the food and water back to the kitchen.

      Gracie is my baby so I’ll do what I can to give her the best quality of life.

      Waving right back at you and thanks for the love. I need it!!

  5. Denise Says:

    Sorry to read about Gracie. My parents raised show dogs and when one of their oldest became unstable walking they had a small ramp made. They had it covered in artificial grass. They had another set of stairs that they used. This was for outside. Dogs like to lick and if the booties are too tight you might get a whole other set of problems. I moved into one level because I’m unsteady!! Denise

    • katry Says:

      Thanks, Denise
      I thought about a ramp, but I now take her outside to the back gate and let her loose in the backyard. She can get up the stairs by herself. At night I take her out front. That is working so far.

      Thanks for the info about the booties.

  6. olof1 Says:

    I can see by reading the comments that she’s better now and that the treads seems to be working. I know howe hard it is since it wasn’t that long ago both Orvar and Hector had problems walking and sliding on the floor. I do hope she’s even better now!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is day to day. Right now it has been a bad morning. I’m beginning to think mornings are bad and she gets better by the afternoon. I am so worried.

  7. William Sandford Says:

    Enjoy Lady Grace as long as possible. Thinking of you.😎

  8. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I’m sorry to read that Gracie is having a tough time. I hope she has many more good days than bad.

    It sounds like the treads are helping her some. Anti-skid dog socks were the first thing that came to my mind. The main complaint about them is that they fall off very easily. Someone else suggested the toddler socks with anti-slip bottoms. They are easier to get on than dog socks and they stay on better especially when used with vet wrap.

    Hoping Gracie is better.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I have pretty well covered two rooms with treads. I just have to get her to walk on them and not be afraid.

      We have good days and bad days. Outside her legs work okay with no issues.

      She was already spoiled so now it is even worst!


Leave a Reply

