“Easter spells out beauty, the rare beauty of new life.”

Today is warmer than yesterday, and tomorrow will be even warmer than today. I’m thinking that’s just as it should be. Easter Sunday is spring to me and tomorrow won’t disappoint. It will be a spring day in the mid-60’s, perfect Easter egg hunt weather and perfect for showing off new clothes, maybe even spinning the petticoats.

At Christmas, the mere mention of Santa kept us in line. We didn’t dare be bad and risk losing a gift or, worse yet, many gifts, but Easter was always different. The Bunny was never a threat. No elf on the shelf reported me and my behavior. There was no list so the Easter Bunny was completely in the dark as to who was naughty or who was nice. That was definitely to our advantage. The baskets were always full.

Gracie and I did all our errands yesterday. All the items on the list got crossed off and the list was subsequently crumpled and thrown away with fanfare. I have no list today. I’m not going anywhere. I have some wrapping to do and a couple of baskets to fill, but that’s it for the day.

In Ghana, we celebrated Christmas with a decorated tree and presents. The tree was acacia, but that didn’t matter. It was the celebration which was important. Easter,Β though, was different. In Ghana, it is purely a religious day, spent mostly in church. No rabbit or hare is involved. It was Easter vacation time for me, and I usually traveled down south to Accra for a few days then on to Togo or somewhere else. I do remember Easter Sunday during my second year. Three or four of us went to the beach, to Labadi Beach, which was the best beach in Accra. We swam and walked down the beach. Using a coconut as a ball and a dead piece of palm tree as a bat, we played a makeshift game of baseball on the sand. We were at the beach all day.

We out for dinner together, but I don’t remember where. Peace Corps volunteers know all the cheap places with good food so I’m guessing dinner was delicious.

That Easter Sunday is one of my favorite memories of the day. There I was in Africa walking on a sandy beach lined with palm trees. Only my eleven-year-old self, the dreamer, would not have been surprised. She knew I’d be there some day.

Explore posts in the same categories: Video

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

13 Comments on ““Easter spells out beauty, the rare beauty of new life.””

  1. Bob Says:

    Easter is a more important holiday than Christmas in the Eastern Orthodox version of Christianity. My grandparents never mentioned the fear that the Easter season brought to the Jewish communities of Eastern Europe under the Czars. The church used the holiday as an excuse to stir up the masses to commit murders of the Jews called Pograms. Easter was the opportunity to spread lies such as blood liable and the lie that the Jews Crucified Christ. Luckily for me those were the reasons that forced my grandparents to immigrate to the US at the end of the 19th Century sparing us from certain death during the holocaust in the 1940s.

    Today enlightened Christians realize that both Passover and Easter are intertwined in so many ways. Hopefully, each of us who practice one of the three Abrahamic faiths, Judaism, Christianity and Islam, will come to honor and respect our similarities instead of degrading each other’s differences. After all we are all each other’s cousins.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      When I was in elementary school, we had to take turns keeping vigil in church on certain days during Easter week. I remember all the statues were shroud in purple, and the church was so quiet. The hour took forever.

      It will take forever it seems for religions to recognize their similarities.

  2. Birgit Says:

    This evening the annual Easter bonfire took place at the nearby village museum. It was rainy all day long but the sun showed up just in time so it was nice to see the fire again.
    Let’s hope for a peaceful holiday.

    • Hedley Says:

      Birgit, I read an article today that Easter Trees are becoming popular in the old country, and that retailers are adjusting to this concept of double Christmas.

      My family have gathered from far and near as we prepare for the Easter Vigil. The RCIA concludes tonight, it will a time of reflection and hope.

      The Prince is here, too big for egg hunts but more than happy to open a couple of rather well chosen gifts (ok, I picked them)

      We are listening to Bob and readying for dinner. we leave at 8:15 for St John Fisher Chapel. Our faith calls us

      • Birgit Says:

        Hedley, Easter trees, really? As always you can see decorated bunches of twigs at homes and some normal leaf trees with plastic eggs outside but I haven’t seen or heard of any other Easter trees yet. Does every holiday has to become commercial nowadays?
        Enjoy the precious time with family, god and friends!

      • katry Says:

        Muy Dear Hedley,
        I’m glad The Prince is with you sharing your faith and being with his family.

        We have three little ones in Colorado and an almost 11 year old who helps as he too has outgrown Easter egg hunts. My sister will have her whole family there for Easter brunch. That is a long time tradition.

        Have a wonderful evening and Easter morning.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      I am also hoping for a peaceful holiday.

      Our weather will be warm, even here on the cape. Today some churches had Easter egg hunts, but they are the only celebrations though there will be sunrise services i a few churches.

      Have a wonderful Easter Sunday.

  3. Rowen Says:

    While I was out today, I saw a grizzled old boxer, still lively, and thought of Gracie. πŸ™‚

    • katry Says:

      Rowen,
      I feel bad that Gracie’s balance is making playtime difficult for her. She started to play keep away in the yard when she fell and rolled.

      Boxers get gray early. My other girls were wizened by 7 or 8. Gracie, though, at 12 has gone a bit further and has gray hair on her back too. She and I have grayed together.

  4. olof1 Says:

    I can’t remember ever hearing anything about the easter bunny (or hare as we call it here) when I was a kid and didn’t have a clue to why so much chocolate was shaped as a bunny πŸ™‚ We have our witches instead πŸ™‚

    We have a much nicer weather than predicted, thge sun is shining and there’s a lot of space between the clouds. It’s much warmer too so I’ve been out in the garden bringing my tomato plants so I could repot them and also planted a few bulbs and roots that isn’t hardy at all.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Christer,
      I think I’d enjoy your witches. The Easter Rabbit is benign. Santa, at least, has his dark side.

      It is a lovely morning here, sunny and warm, a perfect Easter Sunday.

      Have a great day!!

  5. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I started out the day with errands. The dogs got dropped at day care. I did go to the post office and the automotive store. I changed the bulbs in the backup lights on my jeep but they still don’t work so it’s now beyond my skill level. After that I had intended to do dishes, yard work, laundry. But on my way to the front door I started chatting with my neighbor. Eventually another neighbor joined us. I think we were outside for a couple of hours chatting away. I am now very sunburned on my right toes and my face and scalp. But it was good to chat with neighbors instead of doing boring chores. As a sop to myself for not doing the boring chores, I went shopping and bought some new clothes for spring. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I think you spent a perfectly lovely day. Nothing is better than being outside and getting up to date with neighbors. Here it is a hello and a wave.

      Yard or housework can sit in the cellar for days without injury. That’s the beauty of a cellar: laundry-out of sight, out of mind.

      I bought some new clothes before I went to Ghana. Those trips are the only reasons I have respectable clothes.

      Have a wonderful Easter!


Comments are closed.


