“I love the ritual of drawing up lists, and there’s something wonderfully satisfying about ticking tasks off.”

Today is chilly, only 52˚. It will even get down to the 30’s tonight. Luckily, though, Easter Sunday will be 64˚, perfect for Easter outfits.

When I was a kid, girls wore dresses on Easter. The dresses were fancy.  They were pastel colored and poofy with a couple of petticoats underneath. My sisters like to swirl their dresses by quickly spinning like Whirling Dervishes. On their feet, they wore white patent leather shoes with a strap across the foot. Their socks were delicate with lace around the top. My sisters were much girlier than I. Petticoats itched. I never once wore one. I remember one Easter at my Grandparents’ house. There were cousins, lots of cousins, and aunts and uncles. I was around 10 or 11. I overheard an aunt ask my mother about my Easter clothes which weren’t dressy. I wore a new skirt, new blouse, and a new blazer. I felt spiffy. My mother answered my aunt: that’s what she wanted. That ended all discussion and was the best answer.

Gracie had a not so good day yesterday. She jumped off the couch and somehow ended up on her back with her paw caught under a basket. She was perfectly still and frightened. I untangled her and got her on the couch. A few hugs later she was wagging her tail and wanting a treat. Gracie was none the worst for her fall. Today is a good day. I am taking her into the yard through the yard gate so we can avoid the steps going down, the scary steps. Gracie loves being in the yard.

Skip, my factotum, is here doing a few jobs. New lights are on the deck rail and in the yard and both are connected to timers. Skip is now working on the stairs and putting the new treads down. I’m just hoping Gracie will go upstairs so I can start sleeping in my bed.

I made another list. I discovered I get more done if the list is concrete. It forces me to get up and out of the house. Today there are four errands. I have plotted the route. None of the stores are close to each other. I figure to start in South Yarmouth at the vets to pick up medicine for Gracie, then on to 6A in Dennis to Nancy’s Candy, then back to South Dennis to Agway for litter and puppy pads. My final stop is Dennisport. I need Easter gifts for the two dogs, Gracie and Darci, my friends’ dog. I’ll hit the bakery for them, the dog bakery. I’m hoping they have whoopie pies. My last stop is for me, Buckies for a sandwich, for number 14: a panini with cheddar, bacon, avocado, tomatoes and a horseradish sauce. I’m salivating at the mere mention of that sandwich.

The list is right in front of me, mocking me. I have to hurry.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Comments on ““I love the ritual of drawing up lists, and there’s something wonderfully satisfying about ticking tasks off.””

  1. Birgit Says:

    You would be out of luck with your ambitious list here, nearly everything is closed on Good Friday, it’s a public holiday and even a so-called silent holiday which some ridiculous bans.
    Patiently waiting for the Easter hare…

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      Schools are closed here for Good Friday, but it is a regular day for everyone else. I was able to cross off every errand.

      I hope the Hare is good to you!!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    Now I want that sandwich. Do they deliver? 🙂 It would be longish drive.

    I planned no errands today but I ended up doing laundry anyway. The dogs got brushed again, too, because it’s shedding season. The sparrows are happy to pick up all the bundles of fur that come off in the shedding comb.

    It was cool up here as well. The sun shone all day so the front porch was warm enough to keep the inside door open. The house is cold, though.

    Enjoy the day.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      I asked for a panini machine for Christmas a few years ago just so I can make this sandwich.

      My errands were finished in the late afternoon as I hung around the house a bit before leaving. I was starving by the time I got my sandwich. It tasted even better than I had hoped.

      I just put the heat up a notch for a little while. I can’t seem to get warm. It is a cold, cold night.

      Enjoy your evening!!

  3. olof1 Says:

    I know I wrote a comment in Your previous post but it’s gone. It wasn’t much but I really don’t like it when the net decides it should vanish 🙂

    Yesterday was pretty cold and windy here. We did see the sun for a few short moments and that is more than we’ll see today.The wind makes it worse than it really is and it won’t calm down until tomorrow.

    I think I’ll do the laundry today but that’s it. I had a cup of coffee after 4pm yesterday and that kept me awake a big part of the night 🙂 I don’t have any energy at all this morning. I’ll try to have a small nap before going out on a walk but I think Albin won’t have that and he’s not quiet about it either 🙂

    I do hope those new treads will help Gracie!

    Have a Good Easter!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Christer,
      A couple of times everything I wrote disappeared. I cursed for a while. Now I keep saving it.

      We also had sun both days, but as the day got older, the sun disappeared. The late afternoons and evenings got quite chilly.

      I’ve been sleeping on the couch with Gracie. The treads are now on the stairs, but I won’t try to get her up there tonight. I’ll work with her on a bright sunny day.

      I got all my errands done today. I was glad. It was too late for a Sunday nap so I wasn’t glad for that.

      Have a great evening!


Comments are closed.


