“Dogs do speak, but only to those who know how to listen.”

You’re probably wondering where I am this late in the day. I spent the morning following Gracie as she had balance problems. That happens most mornings, but then she figures it out and adjusts her gait, but she didn’t today.  I walked her down to the yard a couple of times and sat waiting outside for her. I was glad she was quick as that famous Cape breeze is making it chilly despite the sun.

Captain Frosty’s opened today, and we made our annual pilgrimage. I had the shrimp plate with a couple of clam cakes and onion rings instead of fries. The plate was so filled it should have had an annex just for the onion rings. Captain Frosty’s is always the first of our haunts to open for the summer. The ice cream shop is usually next. I’m always excited as shops open for the season. Each opening brings us closer to summer.

Yesterday I was able to cross off all but the one errand which has graced every list I’ve made since the first of the year: getting my hair cut. It is now on the top of tomorrow’s list. Every day I am bound and determined to get it cut but I don’t and have no reasons why not.

Gracie is standing beside me on the couch. Her muzzle is about 6 inches from my face, and she is staring at me. I know all the signals. She wants out. That means slowly walking her down the stairs, staying out with her then calling her up the back stairs, an easier climb for her. The whole stair thing is strange. She won’t go down the easy stairs. No, I have to take her down one step at a time on the scary stairs, the ones she is afraid of as she slides, but Gracie, being a rather intelligent dog, figured out on her own that the other stairs are easy to climb. I’m glad as she doesn’t need my help.

I’m going to take Miss Gracie out now. She has barked once right at me in impatience. That drives me crazy, and she knows it. Smart dog!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

7 Comments on ““Dogs do speak, but only to those who know how to listen.””

  1. William Sandford Says:

    How about some exterior non-disclosure treads?

    • katry Says:

      Bill,
      I’ve already bought non-skid treads for the inside stairs. Gracie won’t go near those steps because of the slipping. These treads just lie on the stair, but I’m having Skip staple the side of the tread to the step back so they won’t move. I have been sleeping downstairs on the couch. Skip is coming tomorrow.

      If all this works, I’ll order more treads for outside.

  2. William Sandford Says:

    Not non disclosure. Non skid.

  3. Bob Says:

    Everyone of us ages including our pets. The ravages of time slow all of us down as well as cause pain in places where we didn’t even know we had places.

    Today was partly sunny with temperatures in the upper seventies.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      I know she is old, for a Boxer anyway, but I’ll still do my best for her as her spirit is the same: feisty and loving.

      60’s yesterday and today.

  4. bob fearnley Says:

    Animals bring us joy so much that the small amount of heartache hurts just that much more. We ventured to the Cape yesterday on a day trip from Connecticut so our dog could get her pre-summer walk on the Chatham lighthouse beach. She and we totally enjoy the walks and the changing beachfront views.

    • katry Says:

      bob,
      It’s true about animals. Gracie is always happy to see me. She gets the first morning greeting every day.

      The cape was chilly yesterday and is chilly today. It’s the ocean’s fault.

      I’m complaining now, but I’ll be happy for the warmth of October.


Comments are closed.


