“You are a child of humanity and every day is your precious birthday.”

This early in spring is the only time I regret living near the ocean. The cold water keeps spring at bay. Look at today: Boston will be in the high 70’s and may even reach 80˚ to break the record temperature for the day. We are in the 60’s with a chilling breeze. All records are safe.

I’m sitting on the couch with an afghan wrapped around me just because it feels good. I had a 9 o’clock meeting this morning, and I wasn’t happy when Alexa woke me up. I’m thinking a nap later.

I’ve been sitting here trying to come up with a bit of history for today, a story of growing up or of growing older. I have tons of stories. I remember my 16th birthday. We were in Maine, in Ogunquit. My aunt and uncle were there as well. My birthday was their anniversary. They got married and I got born. I was a bit put out by their being in Maine with us. I wouldn’t have minded sharing any other birthday, but I minded sharing my 16th. I didn’t show up for the joint cake. I think it was one of those cut off your nose to spite your face sort of decisions.

My 21st birthday was memorable. I got to drink legally for the first time. One of my friends sent me a magnum of champagne. Other friends took me out to dinner. It was a fun meal until the bill. I expected my dinner to be paid for. It wasn’t. My friends had split the bill among the four of us, but they forgot the tip. I paid that. My friends found out when trying to reimburse one another for my dinner and drinks. They were horrified, and a bit embarrassed.

I feel as if I am emerging from hibernation. The sun and the warm temperatures are drawing me outside. It is too soon for an open window, but I can hardly wait for the closed air of winter to disappear and be replaced by the clean fresh air.

The other morning, for the first time, I heard the birds greet the new day. That smacks of spring.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““You are a child of humanity and every day is your precious birthday.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Birgit

    News is zooming all over my screen that there was an explosive device near the Borussia Dortmund team bus heading to the stadium for the match with Monaco. I am grabbing for news, hoping that all are safe.

    Thinking of our friend in Bochum

    • Birgit Says:

      Hedley, yes, 3 explosions at the team bus, it looks like fortunately just one player is slightly hurt, waiting for further news safe at home…
      Thanks!

      • Hedley Says:

        Birgit – and match off for tonight. Thank goodness everyone stayed safe. Have a couple of beers, watch Juventus and Barca, and tomorrow it will be BD and Monaco

      • Birgit Says:

        Hedley, all in all luck for us, – soccer and beer tomorrow!
        Which idiot ever is responsible, no one can take away our enthusiasm for soccer. I just fear that this incident will be misused again for current election campaigns, our regional election takes place next month and the national one in autumn.

      • Hedley Says:

        Birgit – Cheering for BD today.

      • Birgit Says:

        Hedley, me too 🙂
        It’s not on TV, I’m just listening to the radio stream. 0:1 so far, who cares, it’s more important that they are playing at all. Cheers!

  2. Birgit Says:

    It looks like we can celebrate some birth-days today. I haven’t seen the new blackbird fledglings yet but our blackbird pair Annie and Ross is busy feeding.

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      My family has clustered months of birthdays with many in July and August and again in December. Nobody is today.

      I don’t think I’ve seen blackbirds around here. We seem to overload with chickadees.

  3. splendidone Says:

    Thanks for the great music today and always Kat! We’ve had quite a warm spell here this past week. Thunderstorms especially:)

    • katry Says:

      You are always welcome, splendid.

      We didn’t get as high a temperature as Boston did yesterday as they broke a record. The water is keeping us a few weeks behind the rest of the state.

  4. William Sandford Says:

    Speaking of birthdays, I was 70 on April 1. We had a blizzard that day, so everyone came on Sunday. Yesterday I sent birthday greetings to a kindergarten friend in Illinois. We have kept in touch all these years. Most of our high school friends are turning 70 this year.
    Who knows where the time goes.
    I have been sitting here at NEBH for four hours waiting for Peg to complete her pre-op appt. Her surgery will be May 2.
    Sunday is Livvy’s birthday, so we’re having pizza for Easter, with chocolate eggs for dessert.

    • katry Says:

      Happy Belated Birthday, Bill.

      My high school friends too are all turning 70. How strange that sounds. Jack Benny had 29. We can have 69 because no one else wants it.

      Time goes by so darn fast!!

      I’m so glad Peg has chosen to have the surgery. If I had to, I’d go again though three times of nothing seem enough.

      That sounds like a perfect birthday and a wonderful Easter!!


Comments are closed.


