“Time is the longest distance between two places.”

Cloudy and damp today but it is warm at 43˚. Alexa tells me the high will be 49˚, and it will rain yet again. The ground is muddy. When I step on the grass, my shoe gets soaked. The dog’s paw prints go from the back door down the hall to the rug where they disappear.

Yesterday Gracie and I got a lot done. We were out and about for about three hours. We made even it down cape to Orleans where I did a bit of shopping.

I have made an appointment for Gracie at the vets. Her legs are worse.

I am ending this early today as I have to go to Hyannis for an MRI. It seems my dog and I are falling aprt. Getting old does that!

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

8 Comments on ““Time is the longest distance between two places.””

  1. Hedley Says:

    Maggie the Westie was down the doggie doctor this moning for one of her many shots. It would appear that the doggie Alzheimer’s pills have not worked and we are left with a dog that cries all the time. Her back legs work but not really for stairs. We muddle along. changing her diet and trying to help her digestive system

    That team from North London went to Wales yesterday and were losing 1-0 until the 88 minute (of 90) when Dele popped up with the equalizer. Tottenham had attacked the entire game but were confronted by a Swansea team packing 9 behind the ball. Before MDH could calm down they stuck two more in injury time to run out 3-1 winners. There are 8 games left, they sit second and its all too much for me.

    Rain, heavy winds and snow are on the agenda for the next 12 hours or so. I am glad that I have no plans to go to opening day at Comerica Park tomorrow, it will be that horrible combination of drunks and cold.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Gracie too can’t do down the stairs and can’t jump to high places. I have rubber treads on the inside downstairs and these seem to help her fears. I think she may have had a slight stroke because of her head movement. The vet is seeing her tomorrow morning. She is eating and her tail wags when I talk to her-good signs.

      I am totally into baseball though I keep up to date with Tottenham through you. I see why it can be all too much!!

      Last night at Fenway you could see breath as it was that cold. The game went into xtr innings, and I can only imagine how cold it must have been then. Many of the seats were empty by then. I was glad fo rmy warm house.

      Still cozy and warm at home!!

  2. olof1 Says:

    I hope they can figure out why Gracie has problems with her legs, You know what I think it is because it sounds exactly like what happened to all my old big dogs.

    I haven’t had the best of weeks either, the rheumatism has shown its ugly face. I do hope we all get better soon!

    Have a great day anyway 🙂

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      I am so worried about my baby puppy. She is perplexed as to why her legs don’t work right. She is afraid to jump because she slides on the floor upon landing, but she’ll jump if I hold on to her halter. The stairs are another story, but the rubber mats are helping.

      I’m sorry. I know how painful rheumatism can be.

      I’m hoping the same!

      Have a great evening!

  3. Birgit Says:

    Good luck to both of you!

  4. Bob Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that Gracie’s legs are giving out. My Greyhound, Rolex, was 13 when his legs began to fail. He had trouble getting up and wouldn’t go out to poop. When we found him lying on the floor next to his poop we knew it was time for him to die. They say that one year of a dog’s life is about seven years of our life. That made my Rolex 91 in people years and he had a good life. Don Rickles passed away today at 90. His abrasive form of comedy cracked me up every time he appeared on TV. He was the king of insults. RIP

    Today was sunny again with a high in the mid seventies.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      She has trouble with stairs and slippery floors. I’ve put rubber mats on the steps, and that is helping. She is fine when she gets to the yard. We have an appointment at 9:20.

      Don Rickles was ruthless. I remember those roasts on TV. He was always funny.


Comments are closed.


