“I’m helplessly and permanently a Red Sox fan. It was like first love…You never forget. It’s special. It’s the first time I saw a ballpark. I’d thought nothing would ever replace cricket. Wow! Fenway Park at 7 o’clock in the evening. Oh, just, magic beyond magic: never got over that”

Right now on TV is the Red Sox pre-game. It is opening day at Fenway. The game starts at two and Rick Porcello is pitching. I’d love nothing better than to be there on an opening day, but I’ll do the next best thing and watch it on NESN. Being home does have an advantage: the bathroom and the kitchen are close.

Today is warm, seasonable at 49˚. The sky is blue where it isn’t cloudy. The sun is here then gone then back again.

I have no plans for the day other than watching the game. Yesterday I got some inside chores finished. I swept and washed the kitchen floor, watered the plants, and cleaned the little bathroom. My maid could have done all of these if I only had a maid.

Most of the ballplayers are young, as expected. The oldest member of the Red Sox staff looked to be the bat boy. I guess the traditional name sticks regardless of age.

Tom Brady threw out the first pitch. The crowd yelled Brady over and over as TB tossed the baseball. Even though the throw was high, it flew all the way to the plate with not a single bounce. Pedroia was waiting.

I am easily distracted today. I was in the bathroom when I noticed a couple of stained floor tiles. I cleaned them then went and cleaned a wall section by the bathroom door. I returned the cleaner to the kitchen then noticed the dog dish. It needed to be scrubbed. I did that then came back to the den to watch the game. Considering I had gone to the kitchen just to get a Coke, I got a lot done, but I forgot the Coke. I’m a bit afraid to go again. Who knows what I’ll find?

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

10 Comments on ““I’m helplessly and permanently a Red Sox fan. It was like first love…You never forget. It’s special. It’s the first time I saw a ballpark. I’d thought nothing would ever replace cricket. Wow! Fenway Park at 7 o’clock in the evening. Oh, just, magic beyond magic: never got over that””

  1. Hedley Says:

    I was a big fan of Rick Porcello. His salary started to elevate and then we sent him your way for Cespedes and ultimately traded through to Fllmer, Maybin and the Wilsons. My Tigers have been very public about unloading big salaries but no takers ahead of the game kicking off in Chicago tonight behind Verlander. Its raining so I am not really expecting them to play.

    I liked cricket a lot as well. As a young MDH I was a member of Surrey Cricket Club and would happily take myself off to the Oval for the day to see Surrey play or perhaps the Test match. John Edrich was a boyhood hero and I was not adverse to standing in front of him and asking for an autograph.

    Baseball and cricket are the signs that summer is almost upon us The trees in my neighborhood are full of bud and it wont take much for them to bloom.

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Porcello is the best opening day pitcher. The Sox don’t often have a Cy Young winner on the mound to open, not since Pablo and Roger.

      The Sox don’t open the season at home much. Usually their first games are on the road, and they don’t show up at Fenway until after 4 or 5 games.

      Sandoval looks amazing. He has lost a lot of weight and can actually bend down to field a ground ball.

      I don’t think I have ever seen a cricket match except maybe a bit of one on TV. I know it shares a sort of bat and a ball with baseball.

      We are far behind you. The trees are still winter dead, but I do have crocus and daffodils a bloom in my front garden.

      Come on Summer!

  2. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    I’m not much of a baseball fan but I knew it was game time today because the Air National Guard jets flew over my house. Several times. Loudly. I did look for the game on TV but couldn’t find it. Probably because I don’t have NESN. I think I don’t anyway.

    Distraction seems to be the mode of the day. Especially when on the way to the bathroom. I noticed the woodwork around the door was dirty so I cleaned it. Then I noticed the rug cleaning machine needed to be emptied and cleaned so I did that. And the stove top needed to be wiped down so I did that, too. On the way back from the bathroom, I decided to vacuum the rugs. Now you have reminded me that the dogs’ dishes need washing. Thanks. 🙂 And while I was typing this I remembered that the vacuum cleaner needs to be emptied and put away which will probably distract me from cleaning the dogs’ dishes.

    Up here it is hazy sunshine and 55ºF. I’m going to put the snowblower back in the cellar. Unless I get distracted. 🙂

    Enjoy the ballgame and the rest of the day

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      That’s funny: I was talking to my sister in Stoneham when she said the jets had just gone over her house and seemed to be flying around. They were early so they had to waste some time.

      Sometimes I never even make it to the kitchen; in fact, I just got my coke. Lots of stuff was in between.

      It will be colder down here than up there. When I drive up there, I always notice how far your trees have gotten compared to ours. You have leaves before we even have buds.

      It has gotten hazy down here as well. The sunshine looks blurred.

      Have a great afternoon!

  3. Bob Says:

    Today every major league team has an equal shot at the World Series. Baseball is like no other sport. It’s the only sport where the defense has the ball when a play starts. There is no timing and no ties. You don’t need sudden death periods nor shootouts. Unfortunately, the business part of the game is winning over tradition. Although I am a Texas Ramger fan I hate the designated hitter rule. I don’t like the limited instant replay review. This year the intentional walk will be awarded without the pitcher having to throw four balls. After I’m gone they can bring in things like unlimited substitution or have both a defensive and offensive team made up of different players. The leagues rate their umpires success rate by looking at video images of pitches computer enhanced to determine if their balls and strikes are accurate. Soon home plate umpires will not be calling balls and strikes a computer will call the pitches.

    It’s a beautiful sunny day with temperatures in the 70s by game time at 6:30 tonight for the first pitch at Arlington.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      The George Carlin was great.

      I think teams with deep pockets, like the Sox, can skew the odds by adding players or pitchers like Sale. The Yankees did that for years.

      Having reaped the benefit of a great DH, David Ortiz, I am just fine with the rule. With having to throw 4 intentional balls, the hopeful could wish for something weird to happen like a dropped ball. There is no hope with simply awarding it.

      It was 50˚ for the Sox game, seasonable weather for early baseball, but I am hoping sun and warmth aren’t far away.

      • Bob Says:

        I’m a baseball traditionalist. The DH killed a lot of strategy that still exists in the Senior Circuit. Including the double switch, pitching around the hitters to get to the pitcher and smarter usage of the bullpen. Both football and basketball have tinkered with the rules to speed up the play and make more money. Both the NFL and the NBA are new sports by comparison and didn’t have much tradition. Baseball in some form was played by soldiers in the Civil war. That’s tradition!

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        Over time even baseball with all its traditions has changed. Originally there were no strikes, but they were introduced to speed up the game. Sound familiar? The called strike was among the new rules passed at the First Baseball Convention in 1858. There are more changes just as dramatic, and people adapted.

      • Bob Says:

        That’s a very long time ago, 1858. Except for the DH which I think came into existence in 1974 the game had remained the same since the American League was founded at the turn of the 20th century. Back then the World Series was a best of nine games.

      • katry Says:

        Bob,
        You’d be quite surprised at the changes in the game since 1900.

        Here:
        http://www.baseball-almanac.com/rulechng.shtml


Comments are closed.


