“Feet that run on willing errands!”

The day is dark and cloudy, as usual. It rained earlier, after my paper was delivered because underneath it was dry. It will rain again according to the weatherman. I have a to-do list with three or four stops, including Gracie’s favorite, the dump. I also have a chore list with mostly outside, get done before the rain stuff.

When I was a kid, I hated rainy days in the winter. The walk home was pure misery. My shoes, my jacket, and my bare head would get soaked, and I’d freeze from the combination of wet and cold. Usually about half-way home, at the train tracks, I’d be so soaked I was akin to an ice cube.

Rainy afternoons have always been favorites of mine. I like the darkness clouds bring. The lights are off except for the window lights in the front rooms. Theirs is a cozy glow.

The weekend will be quiet. I haven’t anything scheduled. I could tackle a couple of cabinets which do need cleaning, but, if history repeats itself, I won’t though I do want the cabinet formerly the home of the obese, now departed, mouse, cleaned. Yup, the wee beastie didn’t make it. I knew it wouldn’t.

Boston may get a couple of inches of snow from today’s storm. Groundskeepers may have to shovel Fenway for opening day on Monday. I saw a Red Sox game in Cleveland once, and the temperature was in the high 30’s with a wind. That is football weather. I froze though I did last the whole game with frequent trips to the ladies room to sit on its giant radiator to get warm. The Sox won in the top of the ninth with a three-runย homer by Manny.

Well, there’s not much going on in my part of the world so I’ll get dressed and go out to finish the errand list.

Explore posts in the same categories: Musings

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Both comments and pings are currently closed.

12 Comments on ““Feet that run on willing errands!””

  1. Hedley Says:

    yesterday the KTCC site wasn’t playing nice. All sorts of warnings were jumping up about expired certificates and close now and it all leads to the notion that Putin had taken control. I am sure im6 wants immunity to testify

    • katry Says:

      My Dear Hedley,
      Didn’t you know only the guilty ask for immunity?

      I haven’t ever had that problem, and I come to KTCC often to answer comments.

      Putin is too busy enjoying Trump secret recordings to care about mine.

  2. Birgit Says:

    Snow? Oh dear! It’s official now, this was the warmest March we ever had since our weather recordings started in 1881. Plants are weeks earlier than just a few decades ago. So while ranting about bad climate politics of our government(s) I enjoyed another lovely mid-70s spring day.
    I had to laugh when I read your last sentence. Just before reading KTCC I read a about the incident at your Pilgrim power plant so it’s really good news that not much is going on in your part of the world.
    Enjoy the dump, especially Gracie!

    • katry Says:

      Birgit,
      We have rain but up north has snow. Boston is about the rain/snow line.

      It started raining during our errands. One of my friends works at Pilgrim. He is a supervisor. There have been many problems in the last few years. It is due to be closed in 2020. I hope nothing happens in between then and now. The cape is the only area in the country where residents have to go into the lethal nuclear area to evacuate.

  3. Bob Says:

    A sunny day with temperatures in the mid 80s. Rain is predicted for the weekend. Hopefully, the rain will hold off until or allow the Rangers to get their home opener in on Monday night.

    Did you see the Red Sox play the Indians in the old Municipal Stadium? That place had the largest outfield because it was designed as a dual use Football and Baseball stadium. When it opened in the early 1950s the Indian’s owner installed a chain link fence across the outfield grass so that the teams could hit some home runs. When he installed the fence he had the grounds keeper put in concrete fence anchors ten feet closer and ten feet further out from home plate. When the left hitting Yankees came to town he and the grounds keeper would move the fence in right field to the outer anchors and not change the distance signs. His name was Bill Veeck who sent the midget to bat when he owned the St. Louis Browns. The commissioner sent Veeck a telegram after the midget gimmick. The telegram accused him of making a mockery of the game. Veeck replied, “what do you call Phil Rizzuto, a short man or a tall midget”. Veeck was a baseball promotional genius.

    • katry Says:

      Bob,
      it was on and off heavy rain all day. Right now, though, it is a misty rain. The Sox are also opening on Monday. It will probably be cold.

      I saw the game at the stadium they are in now. Being a Fenway fan, I was amazed at how far away the action was in that stadium.

      I guess any advantage for the home team is just fine!

      I knew about the little person ploy. It gave me a chuckle when I first heard.

  4. Caryn Says:

    Hi Kat,
    It’s been snaining most of the day. The stuff began sticking to the unpaved areas just after noon. Now it’s making crunchy ice on the paved areas. It was a little slippery when I took the dogs out for their evening walk. We didn’t go far.
    I did errands in the snain anyway. Post office first because I haven’t been there in a couple of weeks and I figured my box would be stuffed. It was. Catalogues. You’d think it was Christmas. The dog boutique was next for dog food. Then the vet for copies of their rabies certificates because it’s License Renewal Time. And finally, the dreaded grocery store. The lot was pretty full but inside was relatively calm. I accomplished all the things in a bit over an hour. Not bad.

    Enjoy the evening.

    • katry Says:

      Hi Caryn,
      We have had rain all day though I do think I saw a couple of minutes of tiny hailstones at stop number 2. The dump was cold so only a few cars were there. I was quickly in and out. One stop was to the school district central office. I needed a form notarized, one to prove I am still alive for the retirement board. I wanted to send in a picture of me holding today’s paper, but I suspected they might not find it humorous.

  5. olof1 Says:

    It looks like today will be mostly cloudy but it also looks as if we’ll either get fog or just thick haze ๐Ÿ™‚ It is still early so it can turn either way I guess.

    Rainy winters were the rule where I grew up by the ocean, so a rainy christmas is actually what make me feel that it is christmas ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know how many times I came to my sister as Santa for her children dripping with rain ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

    I do hope we won’t get any more snow here now, it will stay around 50F the coming week and sometimes we’ll even get a chance to see the sun they say. I’ll bring out the plants I have in my cool cellar this weekend and the goldfish will also be returning to the water barrels, I think they’ll like that a lot.

    Have a great day!

    Christer.

    • katry Says:

      Christer,
      It is an ugly day following an ugly night. At least it isn’t snow!!

      I don’t remember the last time it snowed or rained on Christmas. Usually it is a cold day. If it snowed, I’d want the snow to fall before Christmas so that people could get out and visit on plowed roads.

      We will have this sort of weather for a bit, 40’s in the day and 30’s at night. Far too early for plants. I’ll have to find some new ones this year. I do enjoy buying plants for the garden.

      Have a great day!


Comments are closed.


